We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with a good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #70 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the central train station (which has a nice airporter train), and it has a metro stop less than 50 feet away. The room was decent, the main staff friendly, and the breakfast and the breakfast staff were great. We could walk to the Coliseum from the hotel, and grabbed the metro to get to the Vatican.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalamatJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,441
    857
    190
    42
    22
See reviews for
670
1,131
166
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I took our anniversary trip to Italy on a relatively strict budget. Most of the hotels I checked out while we would be in Rome were either way too expensive, or did not look very inviting. But the Napoleon Hotel was different. A great rate, with nice reviews and images of the hotel. But there have been instances where I was duped by doctored pictures and false hopes. I was thankfully surprised by just how nice this hotel was. Beautiful decor, a helpful staff, very generous and friendly concierge. The room was good sized for the price, and we enjoyed complimentary champagne when we arrived at our room for our anniversary. Great options for restaurants within walking distance (try the Trattoria Da Danilo), and an entrance to the subway system within 100 feet of exiting the hotel. Also about a 20 minute walk to the Colosseum, depending on your speed. The area around the hotel is not the most glamorous part of Rome, but this jewel is a definite find for those on a budget and looking for a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights after coming-off a cruise ship. The Hotel is extremely well located, less than a 15 min walk from the train station and many tourist sites, such as Coliseum. Metro stop is right outside front door which makes inner city travel easy. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful on arrival and throughout our stay plus there were some welcomed personal touches such as an e-mail from them 2 days before our arrival telling us that our reservation was in order and that they were expecting us, plus there was also a nice bottle of Spumante wine awaiting us in the room on our arrival as it was our wedding anniversary. (VERY NICE OF THEM) Great complimentary breakfast with a large variety of items in the morning. Room was clean, of a decent size and well appointed with all required amenities. Bathroom was also of a decent size although the corner shower was a little too small. WIFI was very strong and AC worked well. TV has 2 English and 1 French channelm remainder are Italian, We had room 310 overlooking courtyard and it was very quiet although there wasn`t much of a view - but we didn`t mind because after spending the day in the city, the peacefulness was welcomed. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room on courtyard very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a well priced, friendly,family run hotel in a great position. Morning walks to the Collosseum for morning exercise past typical roman coffee shops for a doppio. Vittorio Emmanuel metro station outside the door. Onsite restaurant if you don't feel like going out. Connected rooms good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. We got connected rooms for us and our kids so it was very convenient. Rooms were neat and clean and quiet. Hotel reception was very friendly. We had taken complementary breakfast and the spread was descent and food tasty. Staff at breakfast restaurant was friendly and jovial.

The hotel is just a stone's throw away from metro stop....though right now the metro is not running fully so its only useful for going to Termini (which is walkable from hotel).
Colosseum is also just 15 mins walking distance from the hotel. There are several nice small eateries, cafes and shops very close to hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at hotel Napolean.


Helpful?
Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed 6 nights with family. Comfortable hotel with clean and quiet room. Staffs were friendly and professional. Concierge treated us like real friends do: we asked for a direction to Colosseo on the first day. He gave us the direction, came out the front door with us and stood there watching us till we made a turn at a right corner. Colosseo, Termini, Santa Maria Maggiore (must see this), St. John Lateran are within 1km radius. You can find nice restaurants, cafe, supermarkets and bank ATMs within a couple of blocks. A bit off from the center of the city so the price is reasonable. Metro station is right in front of the hotel. You see diverse ethnicity around the hotel, which adds more food choices in the neighborhood (Pizza and pasta are always great, but you may want something else after 3rd day...)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

All the staff are helpful and very friendly, from the front desk, to the cleaners and the waiters and waitresses. Nothing is too much trouble. An awkward access arrangement, where one lift (up some stairs) takes you one floor up; across a lounge area to a second lift that takes you to the bedroom floors (again stairs involved between areas, so no good for wheelchair users). Room was compact but adequate. The real bonus is that the hotel is walkable, 10-15 mins from Termini station (train or bus from airport); and literally next to a metro station. giving access to the limited (2 lines only) underground system. However, we walked to the Colosseum/Forum/Palatine Hill area in about 15-20 minutes, through the Esquiline hill area. Lovely. Local neighbourhood a touch run down and I wouldn't want to walk around on my own late at night.
Breakfast was wide-ranging and very good. The big bonus for me was kettle and tea/coffee (nescafe!) in the room, after 7 nights of neither in other hotels on our trip - and I find italian coffee far too strong generally.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor, room 412, no view (side street) - no noise problem. It was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dumbging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#83 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#94 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, Metro stop outside the hotel, direct connection with the Vatican. Family run, free high speed WI-FI throughout the hotel, 2 internet access, Concierge and Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro / Breakfast buffet, Gym. Very quiet rooms, all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Superior service, with professional and qualified staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing