We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most polite hotel staff in Rome!”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #72 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most polite hotel staff in Rome!”
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I was absolutely delighted with the level of service - at the front desk checking in, my porter, the breakfast staff, the waiter, the conciege's desk, and the bartender. Not to mention the hotel manager personally greeted all of us at the Friday night cocktail party (gratuitous). Often in Rome, I find the desk staff "too busy" to help and often seem to have an attitude about what I am never sure, but at the Napoleon eveyone was polite and professional. No one lied about the quality, no one condescended - they were lovely and very helpful! All of the rooms are on an interior courtyard - a good sized one -so the view wasn't spectacular (no drying laudry though) but that also meant no street noise. My bed was saggy and that is my only negative comment. Breakfast was hands down (10 trips to Europe) the largest and widest selection ever! The decorations in the hotel were very "Napoleon" very pretty. Also, only one computer for internet access. Plus it was close to the termini (one metro stop) and acrss from a lovely little park where they sell flowers and have a children's playground!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdipaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,464
    876
    192
    43
    22
See reviews for
680
1,150
170
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allevard, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

When in Rome - where do you chose to stay .... well if you have been before you might have such delightful memories that you would go no-where else. But for us it was not so and we decided to stay at The Hotel Napoleon. What a delight. Amongst the hustle and bustle of one of the most interesting cities of the world is a family run hotel that prides itself on integrity. From the minute you arrive you are guided and assisted by Franco. If there is to be a Concierge award it would surly go to this man. wow to get around, where best to eat etc.Thank you Franco.

This of course would not be possible if it was not for the foundation members of this hotel. The Cloce family own this hotel and their representative is Roberto. We have never met a team so genuine and devoted. Thank you Roberto, your dedication to your patrons and staff is an inspiration.

It goes without saying that the position of this hotel is excellent as it is opposite the metro. The price is without competition. The area is subjected to a bit of graffiti which was unsettling for me but we never felt compromised and found it perfectly situated. Of course you can stay closer to the centre but you will need to allow for treble the price!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australiansenroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I stayed at Napoleon for five nights two weeks ago, with my nephew (his high school graduation gift--a trip to Italy). We loved the hotel! Clean, neat, great rooms, comfortable beds, cool a/c, free wifi, excellent breakfast, and marvelous service. The concierge desk was tremendously helpful with directions, hailing taxis, restaurant recommendations, Roma passes, and so on (thanks Franco, from the Kuruvillas!). Restaurants and grocery stores close by. And one cannot beat the proximity of the Metro station, literally at the doorstep of the hotel--very convenient (and this Metro station is only one stop from the Termini).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Being a solo female traveller arriving in Rome I was immediately put at ease by the warm welcome by Francesco and his assistance with everything. It meant a lot to me .This hotel has a happy friendly atmosphere and old fashioned service . Mary in the breakfast room is a delight as are all the staff who will talk with and help you .There is also a computer free to use, relaxed comfortable lounge area and newspapers to read Thank you Hotel Napoleon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacjosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

This was my first trip to Rome, so I cannot speak comparatively. On the plus side the room was clean, comfortable, quiet and fairly large and the bed with an excellent mattress. The free wi-fi worked perfectly, was fast and easy to access. The bathroom was also clean, large and modern with the exception of the shower which had plastic doors that did not contain the water to the interior of the shower. This would not be an issue, but the tile floors proved very slick when wet, so one needed to either lay out towels prior to showering or be prepared to wipe up quite a bit immediately after showering to prevent slipping. On the negative side, the room was a bit dark, dated and old. We were located in a poor spot along a back alley with a view of the fire escape and staff area. Since we did not spend much time in our room, this was not a big issue.
Frank at the front desk was very helpful and friendly and treated us like old friends. Our host, Roberto was a real gem! He gave us an invaluable stop over tip (Orvieto) that proved one of our trip highlights! The Friday night wine and cheese tasting was lovely and encouraged guests to interact.
The lounge areas are expansive and comfortable with a warm, inviting feel. The entire hotel is kept up well and is clean through out.
The breakfast buffet provided expansive choices and the food was good quality as well. The one thing that could be done much better is the coffee – especially in Italy! We ended up going to the café next door for our morning cup as that served at breakfast was not passable.
The location was very good with the Metro at the front door, Termini one stop away and the high points for sight seeing within 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage TN
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Napoleon in May. I booked directly with the hotel and we stayed for 8 days. Included in our package was free Airport pick up and a dinner in there restaurant. The room was not large but we never felt cramped. There is a spiral staircase from the reception area to the main lobby that made me feel special every time I used it. There is a metro entrance just a step from the front door. It was a 5 minute walk to the area where our tours departed which is close to the Termini train station. . The free breakfast buffet had cheeses, meats, eggs and pastries, very nice.

The real appeal for me was the people. Concierge was extremely helpful. They made and checked on reservations, made restaurant reservations, gave directions, even arranged for take out breakfast bags when we had an early departure. Every staff member we encountered was smiling and friendly. They hosted a wine and cheese tasting one night that was very nice. The Hotel Napoleon is a small family run hotel that may not have the opulence of the larger hotels but the customer care we were given is not only as good as anywhere but I say sets the standard. I can truly say it was the best lodging experience I have ever had. When we return to Rome the Hotel Napoleon is where we are going to stay

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinhermitage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I was overwhelmed when choosing a hotel for our stay in Rome. The Hotel Napoleon was a great find. It is a short walk away from the Colisseum and has a Metro stop right out front.

The restaurant served excellent food and breakfast had a wide selection. The staff was fantastic.

Our room was clean and comfortable and even had a small balcony. It was nice to be in an area amongst the locals, not in an area full of other hotels and tourists (and over-priced restaurants).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houseofno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,256 in Rome
2,436 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,217 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,256 in Rome
2,310 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,256 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, Metro stop outside the hotel, direct connection with the Vatican. Family run, free high speed WI-FI throughout the hotel, 2 internet access, Concierge and Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro / Breakfast buffet, Gym. Very quiet rooms, all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Superior service, with professional and qualified staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing