We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot for touring Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #69 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
1 review
“Perfect spot for touring Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We had several rooms for family who had travelled from Australia for our wedding. Both family and friends all loved the hotel and enjoyed meeting in the lovely lounge area where we could have a drink while we all got together. It is a very relaxed hotel and the staff are all smiles and very helpful. We walked from here to the coloseum which included grandparents and 3 prams, so it is a great location to access the sites. Lovely restaurants and sight seeing buses are a small walk away. If we return to Rome then we will definately book in again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whyte_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,441
    857
    190
    42
    22
See reviews for
670
1,131
166
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

As noted, this hotel is an amazing find given its location. Quiet and dark are my most important features after clean. This hotel had all 3. We stayed on the 5th floor and the room size (unlike the teensy elevators) was ample. The shower is meager, but acceptable. The bed was great. The room was quiet and dark. When you arrive by metro be sure to follow the signs to Pzza Dante, or just keep making left turns in the underground walkway. This will save you backtracking or searching. When you climb the steps, which can be very difficult if you have much luggage, the hotel will be just on your left. If you exit other places, you will need to search.

(Make sure to reserve at Trattoria Vecchia Roma. You need a reservation. The food is very good and quite reasonable and staff friendly. It is one block away).

Breakfast is excellent and the staff very helpful and they have a full supply of electrical converters. We paid $169 for room for 1 night. Great price. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

From the tme we arrived we were greeted in a most welcome manner. Staff extremley friendly and courteous. Great location. Most enjoyable and had a wonderful stay.

Can totally recommend

Mark & Kerry

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry's bay on
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

This hotel made our brief 3 day stay in Rome so relaxing.We enjoyed the accommodations, small but very well maintained. Lovely clean linens every day. The staff made us feel at home and were very warm and friendly. Good location for folks traveling by trains. The great breakfast was a treat each morning. Dinner was gourmet too. The entire staff takes hospitality seriously.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliso viejo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Loved how helpful and friendly the front desk was, makes all the difference to have someone help you out with local tips, directions, etc. Our room was clean and more importantly the bed was super comfortable-a must for me! The front desk made this trip just wonderful, he was sooooo helpful and friendly and made our plans each day a breeze to plan! The metro is ver close and breakfast at the hotel is awesome! I would go there again! The metro is right outside the front door and its only like three stops to Vatican and Trevi Fountain! Great location

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocgal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
297 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 751 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

You can tell when entering the Hotel Napoleon that in the 1950s or 60s this place was posh and top of the line. The grandeur has faded a bit...but only a bit. Overall it is a fantastic and lovely place. We had 5 rooms with 14 people and the convenience of having the metro right at the front door to the hotel is just priceless. We arrived via EasyJet from Rome and used their car service for transport from the hotel straight to the front door of the hotel. Their car service was much cheaper than the Leonardo Express train from the hotel. It was also cheaper than the airport shuttlebus service which was 8 Euro per person.

We had a Vatican Scavii Tour scheduled soon after landing and the Napoleon people had a little pizzeria around the corner waiting for our group for a quick lunch. The hotel even called ahead and had our pizzas ordered for us when we got there. The concierge even walked us to the front door of the pizzeria so we would not get lost or waste time. We bought all of our metro tickets from the front desk so we didn't have to waste time using the machines or ticket counters in the metro. They made several dinner reservations for us and gave us directions, they let us use their front desk computer/printer to checkin for our next flight and print 28 boarding passes.

The rooms were comfortable and clean...not fancy but definitely larger than normal. The Air Condition worked great. The in-room wifi was free. The breakfast buffet was really big, varied, nicely laid out in a big organized dining room. The people here just bend over backwards to do anything possible to make your stay better. I've been to Rome several times and usually stay in the Camp dei Fiori or Piazza Navona area, but not anymore. It's the Hotel Napoleon for me for the rest of my travels to Rome. They were absolutely amazing, and I would give them 10 stars if I could!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisboa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed in Napoleon Hotel in April, 2010, celebrating our wedding tenth anniversary . We were very wellcomed by all the staff, starting with the doormen, concierge, breakfast room staff and the manager, Mario, who hosted himself a wine proof.
It is very pleasant to stak in Napoleon because they make us feel that we are guests in a family hotel and the really care.
As soon as they discovered that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, they sent a bottle of champangne to our room. They were also always available to help us and the employees are fluent in English and also in our mother language, witch you do not fin often. Congratulation to all in the Napoleon Hotel for your daily performance and hope to get back soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afslisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#83 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,985 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#94 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, Metro stop outside the hotel, direct connection with the Vatican. Family run, free high speed WI-FI throughout the hotel, 2 internet access, Concierge and Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro / Breakfast buffet, Gym. Very quiet rooms, all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Superior service, with professional and qualified staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing