We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #77 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Napoleon. It was recommended to us and we'd recommend it to others. The concierge was especially helpful, and the breakfast (which is included) was terrific. It featured hard-boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, pastries, cereal, and wonderful coffee. The room was nice, but our shower was particularly tiny, even by European standards. The hotel is not right next to many of the typical tourist attractions, but we were able to walk to many places nonetheless. There's a metro right next to the hotel and a beautiful park across from it. We also appreciated the free access to the Internet on the computer in an atrium.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IloveItaly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,614 - 1,620 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

We had several rooms for family who had travelled from Australia for our wedding. Both family and friends all loved the hotel and enjoyed meeting in the lovely lounge area where we could have a drink while we all got together. It is a very relaxed hotel and the staff are all smiles and very helpful. We walked from here to the coloseum which included grandparents and 3 prams, so it is a great location to access the sites. Lovely restaurants and sight seeing buses are a small walk away. If we return to Rome then we will definately book in again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whyte_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

As noted, this hotel is an amazing find given its location. Quiet and dark are my most important features after clean. This hotel had all 3. We stayed on the 5th floor and the room size (unlike the teensy elevators) was ample. The shower is meager, but acceptable. The bed was great. The room was quiet and dark. When you arrive by metro be sure to follow the signs to Pzza Dante, or just keep making left turns in the underground walkway. This will save you backtracking or searching. When you climb the steps, which can be very difficult if you have much luggage, the hotel will be just on your left. If you exit other places, you will need to search.

(Make sure to reserve at Trattoria Vecchia Roma. You need a reservation. The food is very good and quite reasonable and staff friendly. It is one block away).

Breakfast is excellent and the staff very helpful and they have a full supply of electrical converters. We paid $169 for room for 1 night. Great price. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

From the tme we arrived we were greeted in a most welcome manner. Staff extremley friendly and courteous. Great location. Most enjoyable and had a wonderful stay.

Can totally recommend

Mark & Kerry

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

This hotel made our brief 3 day stay in Rome so relaxing.We enjoyed the accommodations, small but very well maintained. Lovely clean linens every day. The staff made us feel at home and were very warm and friendly. Good location for folks traveling by trains. The great breakfast was a treat each morning. Dinner was gourmet too. The entire staff takes hospitality seriously.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Loved how helpful and friendly the front desk was, makes all the difference to have someone help you out with local tips, directions, etc. Our room was clean and more importantly the bed was super comfortable-a must for me! The front desk made this trip just wonderful, he was sooooo helpful and friendly and made our plans each day a breeze to plan! The metro is ver close and breakfast at the hotel is awesome! I would go there again! The metro is right outside the front door and its only like three stops to Vatican and Trevi Fountain! Great location

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocgal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

You can tell when entering the Hotel Napoleon that in the 1950s or 60s this place was posh and top of the line. The grandeur has faded a bit...but only a bit. Overall it is a fantastic and lovely place. We had 5 rooms with 14 people and the convenience of having the metro right at the front door to the hotel is just priceless. We arrived via EasyJet from Rome and used their car service for transport from the hotel straight to the front door of the hotel. Their car service was much cheaper than the Leonardo Express train from the hotel. It was also cheaper than the airport shuttlebus service which was 8 Euro per person.

We had a Vatican Scavii Tour scheduled soon after landing and the Napoleon people had a little pizzeria around the corner waiting for our group for a quick lunch. The hotel even called ahead and had our pizzas ordered for us when we got there. The concierge even walked us to the front door of the pizzeria so we would not get lost or waste time. We bought all of our metro tickets from the front desk so we didn't have to waste time using the machines or ticket counters in the metro. They made several dinner reservations for us and gave us directions, they let us use their front desk computer/printer to checkin for our next flight and print 28 boarding passes.

The rooms were comfortable and clean...not fancy but definitely larger than normal. The Air Condition worked great. The in-room wifi was free. The breakfast buffet was really big, varied, nicely laid out in a big organized dining room. The people here just bend over backwards to do anything possible to make your stay better. I've been to Rome several times and usually stay in the Camp dei Fiori or Piazza Navona area, but not anymore. It's the Hotel Napoleon for me for the rest of my travels to Rome. They were absolutely amazing, and I would give them 10 stars if I could!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#81 of 1,272 in Rome
2,585 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,272 in Rome
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,482 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,272 in Rome
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Rome
#49 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £94 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Family run Hotel, equipped with most modern technologies. The staff are like a part of the family, always pleased to do their best for the Guests. Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, all the major attractions at an easy walkable distance. Metro stop outside the hotel offers direct connection with the Vatican. Rooms with classic style furniture, recently renovated, as well as bathrooms. Rooms are also very quiet , all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Some of the rooms have a little terrace . Spacious Lounges, enriched with precious antiques. Free Optic Fiber WI-FI high speed connection throughout the hotel, 2 internet accesses in the lounges. Expert and reliable Concierge, at disposal of the Guest to make their time in Rome the most enjoyable. Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro open every day. Breakfast buffet, with hot dishes including meat and vegetables dishes. Terrace. Free Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing