We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service--Not good breakfast--OK rooms‎” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #71 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service--Not good breakfast--OK rooms‎”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

The rooms were old and so its furniture. Maybe that was part of the theme(?), but I didn't expect it given the fours stars. The room itself (classic double) is really big, like a suit. The breakfast (which was included on the price) was not good at all, learning that the second day, I stick to jam and butter only.
We also got free dinner for two, which was a great treat, the food was great, specially the spaghetti with meat sauce. Yum!

The service was excellent. People were always smiling everywhere and very attentive and welcoming.

BTW, the metro system in Rome are virtually useless, don't count much on the metro in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    849
    188
    42
    22
See reviews for
662
1,125
160
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South of Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

My wife and stayed at the Napoleon from 6/14/10-6/17/10.
We worried and worried wheer the ehck we would stay in Rome (we woory too much)
The hotel is fine. The rooms are small but all European rooms are small unless youfork over you life savings for a 5 star place, and even then they can be small. Its an easy walk to Termini train station and Piazza Santa Maria Maggiore. where you can get any of the open top tour busses. Also the Metro stop is 20 feet from thye front door (its easy to use don't be intimidated) The open top busses are an easy way to orient yourself to the city. Overall hotel was fine. We made our choice based 100% on trip advisor and since it helped us I figured I have to contribute something back. On a food note 2 great littel restaurants reasonably priced right near by. The Romantica and the Vecchio Roma. Food was great at both and reasonably priced. PS: I want to throw one rant in about all the crap you hear about pick pockets and the gypsys...its crap. Unless you are oblivious you should be fine. i worried myself crazy about it. Keep your wallet in your front pockets and if you have zippers on hiking pant pockets even better. If you've ever been to a big US city and you handled it you will be fine. Just be alert. I saw maybe 5 begging gypsies tops. Just use your head.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony5023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Booked for three nights based on the trip advisor reviews and the thought that the hotel would overlook the piazza. Whilst the hotel is convenient for the metro the area is run down and the hotel has no rooms that overlook the square. I booked a single room at an average cost of 117 euros per night. The room was amoungst the tiniest I have ever stayed in (room 407). To give an idea of size the bathroom had only enough space for a corner cloakroom basin and the room was more like a (small) study. The TV reception was also extremly poor with no channels available to show the football World Cup (how could this be in Italy of all places). I immediately asked the assistant manager if I could change rooms only to be told that they would gladly put me in a double but unfortunatley they were fully booked. The following day I checked on the internet and found double rooms available! Breakfast is far from special. I havent seen tined fruit cocktail since the late 80's and no choice in type of yogurt with only three types of cereal. Fresh fuit juice(s) are now the norm in most 4star hotels, if you want fresh juice at the Napolean you are charged an extra three euros! On the plus side the rooms are very clean and the bed was comfy. The staff are friendly and the owner does appear to take pride in his hotel (if not the tined fruit cocktail). If you are a single traveller don't except a second rate room at this hotel there must be better elsewhere for the same money or less.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDaveBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napoleonRoma, Manager at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Dear Guest,
I am sorry because you did not enjoy your stay, but I do not understand how you could expect to have a room overlooking the square.
In our website, in the page “rooms” just on the beginning we clearly say that -the 75 rooms of the Hotel Napoleon are all facing bright and quiet inner courtyards and ensure you unique silence for a hotel in the centre of Rome-
Further than this, hundreds of reviews describe very well this aspect of the hotel.

Regarding the TV channels, we outline very well in our website that the Full Satellite Platform including the 64 matches of the World Cup, is available in the main lounge.
-
In addition to the Digital Terrestrial Television (DTT) and other satellite channels, you can watch for free in your room 6 channels of this famous platform

Regarding the fresh fruit juice, we aim to offer the best comfort at the lower possible price. Including the fresh fruit juice in the buffet could mean an additional cost (and consequently higher prices) of some tens thousands euros for year. Therefore, we think that a little extra is the most convenient solution for this service, and until now we never receive a complain .
Thank you anyway for your positive comment about the cleanness of the room and our Staff.
Regarding me, I am actually pride of the hotel Napoleon and I would like to take this opportunity for thanking once again all the Trip Advisor users for their lovely reviews. I think that only reading carefully reviews and information in the web, you may find the right hotel with the services and facilities you are looking for.

Best regards
Roberto Cioce
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barhamsville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

While the location is good, the friendliness of the staff, especially with the Friday night wine tasting, was exceptional. I especially enjoyed chatting with Mario. The overall service was excellent. When I go back to Rome I will stay at the Napoleon again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firepig62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Napoleon. It was recommended to us and we'd recommend it to others. The concierge was especially helpful, and the breakfast (which is included) was terrific. It featured hard-boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, pastries, cereal, and wonderful coffee. The room was nice, but our shower was particularly tiny, even by European standards. The hotel is not right next to many of the typical tourist attractions, but we were able to walk to many places nonetheless. There's a metro right next to the hotel and a beautiful park across from it. We also appreciated the free access to the Internet on the computer in an atrium.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveItaly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We had several rooms for family who had travelled from Australia for our wedding. Both family and friends all loved the hotel and enjoyed meeting in the lovely lounge area where we could have a drink while we all got together. It is a very relaxed hotel and the staff are all smiles and very helpful. We walked from here to the coloseum which included grandparents and 3 prams, so it is a great location to access the sites. Lovely restaurants and sight seeing buses are a small walk away. If we return to Rome then we will definately book in again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whyte_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

As noted, this hotel is an amazing find given its location. Quiet and dark are my most important features after clean. This hotel had all 3. We stayed on the 5th floor and the room size (unlike the teensy elevators) was ample. The shower is meager, but acceptable. The bed was great. The room was quiet and dark. When you arrive by metro be sure to follow the signs to Pzza Dante, or just keep making left turns in the underground walkway. This will save you backtracking or searching. When you climb the steps, which can be very difficult if you have much luggage, the hotel will be just on your left. If you exit other places, you will need to search.

(Make sure to reserve at Trattoria Vecchia Roma. You need a reservation. The food is very good and quite reasonable and staff friendly. It is one block away).

Breakfast is excellent and the staff very helpful and they have a full supply of electrical converters. We paid $169 for room for 1 night. Great price. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, Metro stop outside the hotel, direct connection with the Vatican. Family run, free high speed WI-FI throughout the hotel, 2 internet access, Concierge and Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro / Breakfast buffet, Gym. Very quiet rooms, all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Superior service, with professional and qualified staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing