We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Wi-Fi Prices”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #87 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is certainly a grand hotel , beautifully renovated, quiet and luxurious rooms, and a real feel of history. Feels five star. The staff are very helpful, the concierge was able to assist with guides for daytime tours and restaurant bookings without fuss. The evening bar staff were particularly friendly and even gave us complimentary lemoncello at the end of the evening (perhaps they have trouble selling the stuff, tastes like alcoholic palmolive dish washing detergent). The three main things I found tiring after a week there were: 1) very expensive wi-fi access, 15 Eur / day is highway robbery. 2) the walk to town is longer than you think, partly because the hotel is on a hill. 3) most guests seem to be from the US, friendly people but VERY loud talkers at breakfast. After a week my ears were aching. If you want to be in the heart of Rome it might not be the hotel for you but otherwise a Grand Experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FussyButFair01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the St. Regis Hotel. We are grateful for your positive comments about the hotel structure and staff and for your feedback about internet charges; it will be reviewed to individuate possible improvements. We are also very sorry the Limoncello was not to your liking.This is a liquor produced in the Penisola Sorrentina with local lemons and it considered an excellent digestive, but we understand that the taste may not be appreciated by everyone.
We apologize for the bad choice and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion; it will be our pleasure to offer you a more traditional glass of good quality wine!
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

We were here on a family trip, and did not research the place properly.
Positive:
1) Nice lobbay
2) Clean rooms (although smoke was prevelant.)
3) Nearby a hop on/ off bus service
4) Decent in room dining
Negatives
1) Location, right by the train station...nowhere near the main attractions
2) Check was okay, but not that friendly.
3) In room videos were way over priced.


Overall, the hotel was a disappointment

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank leinsterfan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Dear Guest,
We greatly respect your comments about your stay at the St. Regis and we are very sorry to have somehow disappointed your expectations. Please know that we especially value your criticism s it represents a vital instrument in our daily effort to improve our level of service and create memorable experiences for our guests. Allow us just to mention that the hotel location is equidistant to the most famous historical sites, but it is also walking distance to the Quirinale Palace and nearby Scuderie (with famous exhibitions), to a variety of ancient churches, featuring important pieces of art and worth to be visited (S. Maria della Vittoria, Church of S. Susanna, Church of S. Andrea al Quirinale, Basilica di S. Maria degli Angeli), not to mention the Mosè monumental fountain, recently restored, just stepping out the hotel.
We sincerely hope we will have another opportunity to welcoming you back to the St. Regis so that we may improve your impression of us.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The St Regis Rome was beautifully restored a few years back and is a great place to stay in Rome. Our roome was huge and completely updated and the bathrooms were all marble and again spacious. The concierge was extremely helpful planning tours and giving restaurant recommendations.

The location is not the best, as it's sorrounded by busy streets which are difficult to cross with traffic. But I wouldn't not stay here because of that.

We ate at the cafe in the lobby for lunch and breakfast and had good meals.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njgalinbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Luxurious, old school hotel in the Piazza della Repubblica area of Rome. Impeccable service, opulent lobby and well appointed rooms. We were upgraded to a lovely court yard room with a beautiful mural and fabulous marble bath with a large tub and separate shower. The robes were actually soft and thick! Turn down twice daily with our slippers on a towel/mat next to the bed. While not area to wander late at night, even though the fountains and general area are lovely, you’re close to the train station and a bit of a walk to the more touristy sights. During the day however the area is brimming with locals and tourists alike. There’s a variety of shops within walking distance (try Via Nazionale) with nice leather hand bags, shoes, etc… at reasonable prices compared to the more “fashionable” areas of Rome. The Coliseum is about a 10 minute train ride and other areas are easily accessible by train or foot depending on where you start from We took cabs at the front end of our stay before we realized how easy it was to hop on and off the busses or trains during the day. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fellowtraveler025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and the service was excellent. The room was gorgeous and very well maintained. It was definitely a five star room. The front desk staff, concierge, bellman were all very helpful and polite. I did not eat at any of their restaurants but did enjoy the bar and the piano music. The free snacks in the bar were definitely worth the price of a drink. My only complaint would probably be that my glass was empty for about 30 minutes and I decided to ask for my check rather than have another cocktail as planned. Beautiful place and within walking distance for many attractions. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The trip from the airport was very pleasant, had a good conversation with the taxi driver, as I made a point of studying Lazio before arriving. We stopped there for four days, and have to say it was a wonderful experience, nothing was too much trouble. From the daily breakfast where the staff were so savvy about who their customers were, and what they breakfasted on the previous day, to the exceptional room service.
We also found the hotel ideally situated for the toour bus termnus which was an easy walk of about 150 metres. Most other restuarants were very local, from Chinese to traditional italian in the old quarter by the river, Trastevere, which is close to the Colleseum and Vatican City.
I have read other reviews, and assume that the reviewer had a bad flight, and their impressions are clouded by that. We also went to Vatican City on Sunday for the Blessing, and even thouh I'm not particulaly religious, it is made a special moment by The Pope speaking in each individual language to address every group of people, golden moment.

Room Tip: Rome is not cheap, but it is superb
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank george2sooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had never been to Italy, we wanted to be in a central location so as to see everything yet be able to walk to almost everything.This was absolutely the BEST location, BEST SERVICE, and we had the most wonderful time.
The concierge was amazing, he did everything. We had our room upgraded as soon as we arrived, they then saw we had our 6 year old and while we were out walking they came in and re-did the entire room so she had her own little suite. They took care of her as if she were thier own daughter even at night when we came in and the pianist would play beauty and the beast as soon as he saw here enter the lobby1
We walked to everything from the st. Regis, we were at Trevis fountain at least twice a day , Borghese park , Spanish steps...
I could go on and on...but if you want the best location and the best service...stay at the st. regis Rome!

Room Tip: get a room that indicates butler service...you cag
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olderdadblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#50 of 1,270 in Rome
1,403 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#28 of 1,270 in Rome
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,270 in Rome
458 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#12 Spa Hotel in Rome
#35 Family Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £354 - £829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing