We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a delight”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #84 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Loudoun County, Virginia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Truly a delight”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were fortunate to be able to use our Starwood points and spend 3 nights at the St. Regis. When we entered we were greeted very graciously and respectfully. The concierge was helpful in recommending sights to see and restaurants to go to. We are particular about food and the restaurants recommended were great. All in all, a class act and the Negronis at the bar were fantastic. Highly recommend. Around the corner is Santa Maria della Vittoria where the Ecstacy of Saint Teresa by Bernini is. The nearest metro stop is Repubblica metro stop and Via National. Coffee across the street is cheaper and local atmosphere. Lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winelvr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your very positive review. It is a true pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the discrete efficiency of our Concierges and their knowledge of the Eternal City. Thank you as well for highlighting the quality of our Bar’s cocktails. Next time, we suggest you to also try the Bloody Mary, one of our St. Regis rituals. We are also pleased that you that you emphasized the many artistic treasures that can be visited just stepping out of the hotel from the Mosè monumental fountain, recently restored, to the Basilica of St. Mary of the Angels and the Martyrs. Not everybody knows that the St. Regis Hotel itself was built on the ancient remains of the Diocletian Roman Thermal Baths. A fragment of an original wall of the Tiepidarium can be visited today in the hotel Di Vino cellar located on the lower lobby level, surrounded by a restored fresco motifs. We look forward to welcoming you back and, once again, thank you for your report.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    363
    170
    62
    19
See reviews for
409
984
66
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the St. Regis in Rome. The quality of service was remarkable. It began with a note from Monica Zanghirato, The Lobby Butler, prior to our arrival, offering assistance and asking for estimated arrival time. We corresponding prior to arrival. She met us when we got to the hotel; and, at all times, was very helpful and a delight to work with. We had a great room and all our requests for assistance throughout the stay were promptly answered and thoroughly handled. This is the way it ought to be in a great hotel. We were delighted. Oh, and terrific location, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your rewarding comments. I will certainly share your comments with Monica, it is a pleasure to hear that she did an extra step in providing you with the bespoke service upon which we pride ourselves. It is a delight reading that your stay was a true relaxing and luxury experience from the beginning to the end.
We hope you and your wife keep all these memorable treasures with you until the next time we welcome you to your roman residence at the St. Regis Rome.
Warmest regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hi all,

Our 5 day trip to Rome started off with the highest expectations as the city has so much history and sites.

It was a special trip for my wife and I, as such we wanted to make the trip extra special. I have been lucky enough to visit many nice hotels around the world but it is not often the case that the Hotel Reservations Manager truly goes out of their way to ensure that the trip is amazing in every aspect.

I just want to say many thanks to the reservation manager at St Regis for truly helping making our Rome visit being amongst the most memorable vacations we have ever been on. The reservation manager actually sat down with us and paid a genuine interest in making our vacation truly amazing, from guiding us to the restaurants where we had the most amazing pastas / pizzas to granting us a suite room upgrade where it was possible / available. Furthermore, she guided us to places that only a local would know about and was nowhere to be seen in any of the guide books that we purchased.

A true masterclass Reservation Manager - Customer Service was efficient, effective and sincere. Many other hotels around the globe can learn from you, your approach and presence, thank you.

The hotel itself was everything you would expect from the prestigious St Regis brand, from the delightful room including furnishings through to the friendliness of all the staff we had the pleasure of meeting.

Many thanks to all of you,

Kan & Anu

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Kan and Anu,
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It was a true pleasure having you here. Your recognition of the true passion on our profession and daily commitment represent the best possible encouragement for all of us. Thank you from the Reservation Manager and the rest of the team who assisted you in selecting the right places to visit and secrets of Rome to discover. We hope you will soon honor us with a returning visit, as there are so many more things to see in the Eternal City and wish you both all the best for your future.
Truly yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A lot less modern than the other St. Regis' we stayed at. The room was a bit tight, which was expected for European standards, but it was clean and somewhat comfortable. The service was excruciatingly slow. We called room service the night before to press/steam a couple shirts, and it was not returned at the time promised. Had to call the front desk and room service a couple times the next day to check the status on the shirts before it was dropped off to us. We also checked out the Le Grand Bar for a drink and a quick snack, and again, service was very slow and not very friendly. The breakfast buffet had a good variety, but seating is a little cramped and not much service there either. Overall location is quite convenient. About five to ten minutes away from the Spanish Steps and shopping area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choubella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the St. Regis Rome on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the wide selection of breakfast choices and variety of Italian and international delights as well as the comfort you experienced in your Guestroom. At the same time, we apologize if the laundry and bar service was not up to our usual standards; we sincerely hope that it did not affect your overall enjoyment. A prompt and dedicated service is a crucial factor in our daily operation and we would like to assure you that your valuable comments have been brought to the attention of all involved to correct any inefficiency. It is our hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to show you that the little incidents occurred are only an exception to a rule of bespoke service.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights before heading off to the Amalfi Coast and enjoyed our stay. We were able to check in around noon which is great coming off a redeye. The staff was very pleasant and the room was lovely. Champagne breakfasts were also a treat. We used the concierge to book restaurants before we arrived and they were very helpful.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank London93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. It is a pleasure hearing that you had a lovely stay at the St. Regis Rome and that you enjoyed our champagne breakfast, a special treatment before starting a new sightseeing day!

Kindly,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Check-in and Concierge: Prompt and courteous;

Room: Spacious and clean; Good beds; Elevator is slow, but this hotel is old, that is part of the charm; Huge Bathroom with huge shower and separate tub; Huge closet and had a vanity for the ladies, which is great! WIFI was decent, not the best or worst.

Food: Breakfast is very good, one of the best in Italy. It has egg/omelette station with all american and continental foods available. Very efficient service; The bar service at night was good too.

Location: Once you get your orientation around Rome (all streets start looking the same), it is pretty good to walk around. 20 mins walk to most tourist spots. Taxi's not too pricey and very accessible. I made a mistake to walk from train station to this hotel with luggage...it took 20 mins being so it is very busy area and dodging people and traffic. Take the cab from station, costs 7 euros and save a lot of hassle.

Spa: Massage and facial was fantastic! WOW! The spa waiting room wasn't really spa-ish, but the Thai massage was so good, it made up for the ambience.

I would entertain another St.Regis hotel after this positive experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinTwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed and rewarding review. It is a pleasure learning that you had a wonderful stay at the St. Regis Rome. Concerning the elevator, we can proudly say that you most probably refer to the original 1894 lift, which was designed and built by Cesar Ritz and registered as the 13th modern elevator of the era in Rome. This unique heritage piece was motioned initially by a hydraulic pump system utilizing water from the adjacent 16th century Moses Fountain. Today the same shell - or “rising room” as the elevator was named at the time - equipped with the latest technology is still fully operating and we are glad that you mention it! Thank you as well for highlighting the good quality of our food, it is a pleasure that you fully enjoyed the wide selection of Italian and international Breakfast choices. It is a great honor that you would now chose to stay again at a St. Regis thanks to your so positive experience with us. We truly hope that your travel will bring you back to the Eternal City and that you will grant us the opportunity to welcoming you back for another experience beyond expectations.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A very convenient and nice hotel with great location, spacious very nicely decorated rooms, and great amenities. The service is excellent starting with the doormen, the bellmen, the receptionists, and the concierge service. The place is very clean with comfortable rooms for good night sleep. However, the biggest drawback is the cost whic is significant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam3550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your rewarding comments on your recent stay at the St. Regis Rome and especially for highlighting the genuine and caring attitude of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next travels to the Eternal City; please feel free to visit our website where you may find surprisingly convenient promotional offers dedicated to our distinguished international Guests.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#51 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#103 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#11 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing