We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #82 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Opulent lobby, beautiful roomy suite with glass chandeliers, high thread count sheets and a large walk-in closet...the St. Regis had everything my friends and I needed to to make our stay fabulous. We stayed on my Starwood points on the final three days of our Italy trip and we all felt spoiled in this beautiful hotel. Several people have noted that its out of the way, but we found it to be an easy walk to all the major attractions. The concierge suggested a fabulous cooking class called Trust Ever Tastes that was the highlight of our trip and he also found us a wonderful private guide for a vatican tour.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We truly value every feedback and we are pleased that yours shows our passion for bespoke service and our daily commitment to provide our valuable Guests with unique experiences.
It is a privilege for us having made your stay fabulous and we are delighted that the Trust Ever Tastes cooking class was the highlight of your trip.
We sincerely hope to have the honor of welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    360
    169
    61
    19
See reviews for
403
977
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
204 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis last week. We booked on Priceline so we had a great rate. I'm always nervous when I use Priceline but we were treated perfectly fine. the hotel doesn't have the best location but it's not off the beaten path. we had lunch in the restaurant and service was good and the food was excellent. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful without being overbearing.n

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel_guy_218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments following your stay at the St. Regis Hotel. We are delighted that you appreciated the quality of our service and of our cuisine. The Executive Chef and his team select only the best ingredients and create dishes to delight every palate.
With regards to the hotel location, allow us to mention that the area around the St. Regis Hotel has so much to offer to visitors who would like to discover some hidden treasures, such as the Church of St. Maria della Vittoria (1640) featuring Gianlorenzo Bernini sculptures or the Quirinale Palace, residence of the Italian President of the Republic with the adjacent Scuderie del Quirinale hosting the most important international exhibitions or the Moses Fountain, just stepping out of the hotel.
It would be a privilege to welcoming you back and show you some of these unique cultural attractions.
Kindest regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel is like stepping back in time! The amazing chandelier hanging in the foyer the decor and furniture! We had a The Imperial Room with our personal butler experience! We arrive in the afternoon and have our butler escort us tonour room and complimentary pastries and afternoon tea was delivered ! Our choice of pillows and also Friazzante Water delivered at our request ! The room was very spacious and overlooked a courtyard so it was very quiet and peaceful!

Room Tip: Imperial Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julietse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appreciation not only of the unique heritage of the St. Regis hotel, but for the true concern for customer service. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention to details of our Butler team. Their discreet presence, their little, but meaningful touches aim to create memorable experiences.
We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new precious moments of delight and, once again, thank you for your warm support.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Husband and I stayed 3 nights. Location looked a bit far on map from city center, but it was a very easy walk around town to all attractions, or could take the metro to the outer reaching ones. Metro station was only a few steps from property. We are mid 40's and had no problem walking to all sites. We arrived very early and staff made us feel comfortable while waiting for our room. However, overall, staff did not seem to go out of their way to assist or make us feel welcome; not rude, just indifferent. Our room was lovely, small, but decorated warmly, exactly the decor I was wanting for our trip to Italy. Furniture was a bit older. Bathroom was small, but nicely updated. Our room had a view of the inner small courtyard which was green and peacefull. We did not have the breakfast included plan, so breakfast at the hotel was a bit pricey for the fare offered, recommend bypassing and having the traditional croissant and espresso standing at a local "bar". We had hoped to take in the champagne social and on site restaruant however time always slipped away. Unfortunately, our time at this lovely hotel was spent sleeping. We would recommend this hotel for couples, singles, but not families with small children.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ymr4sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your valuable and detailed feedback about your experience at the St. Regis Hotel last May. We are delighted that you overall enjoyed a peaceful stay in your inner view room and we are sorry that you could not take the time to participate to our signature champagne evening ritual. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and remain,
Truly yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Recent travels to Italy included 4 nights at the St. Regis Rome. I have stayed a numerous St. Regis properties in the past. The hotel is very nice, typical St. Regis opulence, with a feel of old Rome. We were upgraded from the Imperial Room to a Junior suite, as a result of my SPG Gold status, and the Vacation Planner I had used.
The room was a corner with large living room, bedroom and large bathroom. At check-in I was told it was a renovated room, indeed it was...a minimum 5 to 7 years ago. Things did not work, the shade on the large windows operated via a wall switch, except it was not working. The lovely dark wood floors were scratched terribly and the marble tile in the bathroom was chipped in many places, and stained as well. The shower door did not close due to a needed door adjustment, leaking water on the floor. The air conditioner was great EXCEPT when it was on it literally rattled the wall where the unit must be housed. I have NEVER stayed in a noisier room EVER, not in NYC or even next to a highway. The room was from all appearances beautiful, but once we were there overnight, the sadness that we paid so much money to stay at St. Regis Rome set-in. Literally in excess of $900 US dollars per night and there were so many things that did not function, hard to believe. On day one the bell staff was so eager to assist...AFTER my wife and I had already lugged everything through the front doors. Then the bellman followed me around waiting for a tip, this was not what I expected from the St. Regis. The rate included the breakfast in the morning, we went to the lobby and with the addition of lovely smoked fish and cheeses, it was otherwise a Hampton Inn or Embassy Suites breakfast. On the final night my wife and I had a drink at the bar in the lobby before heading out to dinner. One drink each, a scotch and a vodka martini, bill total was 45 euro, approx. $59 USD. Ouch.
Loved Rome, spent some of the time looking for options for our next visit...it is not about the money it is about the experience and this was the worst part of the Rome visit. Sad.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Firstly we would like to thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We share your disappointment for the inadequate maintenance status of your suite; it is clear that there has been a lack of attention and supervision which is certainly not representative of our usual level of hospitality. Moreover, it is a pity that we did not sense your discomfort and that you did not express your concern, so that we could intervene and correct the situation right away.
We have now individuated your suite and an immediate follow up at an operational level has been arranged. Once again, thank you for your constructive criticism; in spite of this experience, we all hope that, as a loyal St. Regis Guest, you will allow us another opportunity in the future to display the type of hospitality you expect and deserve.
We kindly invite you to contact the Executive Office of the St. Regis Hotel, Rome if we can further assist you in any way.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We are Starwood prefered guests which means that we general frequent Starwood hotels, but have never stayed at a St. Regis property. We were blown away! We had told our booking agent that we were on our honeymoon, and the St. Regis took that very seriously! Within 5 minutes of getting up to our room, there was a knock on the door, and champagne was whisked in! They left us a beautiful note with warm wishes and an incredible bowl of fruit. The room was AMAZING, clean and just spectaular. We loved it, and will try to stay at as many St. Regis properties as we can in future travels.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleylevittovadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This an expensive hotel, but their excellent service made it more than worthwhile. I was upgraded to a very spacious suite without asking (living room, king bedroom, walk in closet, and huge bathroom). The room rate included a 50 Euro daily hotel credit. This allowed me to enjoy room service breakfast and drinks at the bar. The bar is a strong point for the hotel. I stopped by for a quick cocktail on my first night and was provided complimentary hot and cold snacks without asking (olives, nuts, crisps, spring rolls, and croquets were delivered to the table attractively plated.) The bartender was very knowledgeable and allowed to me to taste several local liqueurs that I was not familiar with. My only complaint would be that my scrambled eggs at breakfast one morning were delivered without salt and pepper shakers. The hotel is one metro stop away from Termini Station and a 10 to 15 walk to Trevi Fountain, The Parthenon or The Spanish Steps. When in Rome again I will stay here.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FW_Traveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#58 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#49 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing