We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #81 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I stayed six night at the St. Regis in Rome and were 100% impressed by all aspects. The service and the overall atmosphere of "anything is possible" really were second to none.

The rooms were perfect, the location was perfect, and the food was delicious.

Want to share a story that stands out to this day amongst all of the travel I've done in my life. It was a Wednesday, and my wife and I noticed that their old wine cellar that sits across from the restaurant. I went to the concierge and asked if we could check out the wine cellar just to see it as an experience. The concierge called the restaurant manager and he joined in on the conversation. He asked us what time we would want to see the wine cellar and we set a time for 7:00 PM. At 7:00 when we arrived, there were candles all lit up leading down the winding staircase, and at the bottom was a table for two with snacks like cheese and meats, and the restaurant manager was waiting. He spent 2+ hours telling us about the history (which was amazing in itself) and pouring various glasses of wine for us (and sharing their stories as well). He would even pull unopened bottles off the shelves for all to drink.

After the two hour wine tasting we went up to the restaurant where there was a table waiting for us and dined for another two hours on some amazing dishes that were once again paired with the wines.

I was just astounded that they would go this far for an ananymous young couple (late 20's) really on a whim. I would love to do this again but I fear it couldn't be recreated.

Please check this property out. If you are on the fence, this is the right choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your six night stay the St. Regis, Rome. We are so delighted that Michele, our talented and brilliant Restaurant Manager, was able to create a truly indigenous experience for you and for your wife at the Di Vino wine cellar. Please know that any Guest walking through our door is important to us, either young or not, and our constant aim is to make him feel welcomed and special.
We all look forward to your return visit to the Eternal City, for a different, yet memorable stay.
Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    361
    169
    61
    19
See reviews for
403
978
66
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We arrived in the mid of morning and was directed to sit in the lobby waiting for room. Waited for 30 mins w/o any word, my husband decided to go to front desk and asked and was told the room was not ready until early afternoon ( but why no one notified us and just let us sitting in the lobby for 30 mins!).
The room is big and comfortable. You can get free wifi in the lobby if you don't want to pay for internet access at your room.
Location is good, close to subway and "Termini".

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hccsyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guests,
We are so sorry for your disappointing check-in experience; it certainly does not reflect our usual level of service. We always try to limit the waiting time of our Guests, even if they arrive early in the morning and to assist them by either arranging tours, if they are not too tired or by offering a comfortable sitting area with drinks and/or snacks accompanied by general information about the city. We are relieved that, at least, you enjoyed the comfort of your accommodation and the free of charge internet connection in the public areas.
We look forward to welcoming you back in order to take good care of you from the very first moment you walk through the entrance doors.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

My stay at ST Regis was with a opera tour. Walking into the lobby was an experience!! Elegance, beautiful Surroundings. One can just sit in the lobby and Visually enjoy it all.
The rooms are beautiful. Bathrooms large , with marble surroundings.
Their breakfast buffet was as elegant as the area you were seated at. Anything one could want was there for you. The table linens and tableware was also beautiful. As you sat you could look over the balcony or find a quiet area to dine.
I so recommend this hotel while in Rome.
Patty

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yayablades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Ms.Patty,
Thank you for highlighting the ambience and décor of the St. Regis hotel; a unique palace, designed by the creative flair of César Ritz and inaugurated in 1894. Its austere façade conceals sumptuous interiors and a perfect mix of antiques and contemporary pieces of art. The design of its original grand hall, is admired by guests and visitors and starting a new day with a breakfast on its balcony cannot but be a memorable experience for the quality and variety of the buffet, for the dedicated service, for the discreet and elegant atmosphere.
Your recommendation is truly appreciated and we hope to have soon the pleasure of your return visit.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Nothing less than what you expect from four seasons. Great junior suite ( free upgrade thanks to Amex ). Service with a smile. Expensive but worth it.

Breakfast was decent. Butler service very good. They have Bang and Olufson TV but was not working.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srinala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appreciation not only of the unique heritage of the St. Regis hotel, but for the true concern for customer service. We are especially pleased that we were able to upgrade your accommodation to a junior suite and so you could take advantage of the exclusive service of our Butler team, attending every need, small or big, of our discerning Guests.
We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new, precious moments of high level service.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

The St Regis hotel was an oasis of peace and our refuge from the hustle and bustle of Rome. We spent 7 nights at the hotel. Our room was a delightful, cozy and comfortable with all modcons and with great service from friendly and attentive staff. The other major plus was that the hotel was at a reasonable walking distance from both the Pantheon and the Colosseum and two hundred yards from the Piazza della Republicca metro station. My wife and I strongly recommend this hotel if visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the hotel's inner courtyard. We were given such a room without askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Guest,
What else could we add to such rewarding comments? It has been a privilege to welcome you and your husband to the St. Regis, Rome during your visit and we are so grateful for your eloquent recognition. Nothing is more important for us and we thank you for electing our iconic hotel as your private residence for any future visit to the Eternal City.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at the St Regis for 3 nights from 15th May.

Service
The service was exceptional; from those working on reception and concierge to the Porters, bar staff and cleaners.

Room
We were upgraded to the Imperial Guest room on arrival which was a welcome start to our visit. The room was spacious, elegant and everything that we could have hoped for.

Breakfast
Breakfast was one of our highlights; there was a huge range to choose from including, pancakes, cooked breakfast, croissants and cereal.

Location
Situated 15-20 mins walk from Spanish steps this hotel is superbly situated.

Summary
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone; it was a really relaxing 3 nights and the service from staff was second to none. I tried to pick some 'improvers' and the best I could come up with was the candlesticks in the lobby were wonky! Top stay St Regis. X

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fleisch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We are truly honored by your comments and by your recognition. The St. Regis Hotel, today, as in the past, represents the most prestigious address in Rome, where distinguished Guests enjoy the luxury and style of a true roman palace and the discreet service of a dedicated and professional team of people, well aware of the privilege to work in such a unique environment.
Thank you for sharing your experience and Arrivederci,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the St. Regis in Rome.
We had a one bedroom suite which was very charming and classic. The butler service was excellent. The breakfast was delicious. overall, we had a great time. would definitely go back again.

the location is a bit far from they key attractions in rome (it is 10 minutes walking from the train station) but we found that to be a plus because it got us to walk more around the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basmaberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appreciation not only of the unique heritage of the St. Regis hotel, but for the true concern for customer service and comfort.
We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention to details of our Butlers. Their discreet presence, their little, but meaningful touches aim to create memorable experiences.
We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new precious moments of delight and, once again, thank you for your time and support.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#57 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#30 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing