We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff is excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #82 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“The Staff is excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The staff at the St. Regis Rome was excellent. I received a sincere welcome from the moment the taxi pulled up to the entrance. I would like to give special attention to Pasquale - Concierge Andrea - Front Desk and Michele in the Vivendo Restaurant. The service and care provided by these hoteliers was superb and really made my stay in Rome exceptional. The hotel also offers a fully stocked breakfast buffet and the cook to order omelette station was great as well as the Chef completing the orders. The old world air of days gone by with the original elevator from 1904 was very charming.

Room Tip: try to reserve a Deluxe or Imperial room for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Pasquale, Andrea, Michele and Cristiano are touched by your truly rewarding comments. The St. Regis Hotel, born by the genius of Cesar Ritz in 1894, represents one of the most prestigious addresses in Rome. Distinguished Guests - today, as in the past - enjoy the luxury and style of a true roman palace and appreciate the discreet and flawless service of a dedicated team of people, well aware of the privilege of working in such a unique environment.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope that you will treasure the good memories until the next visit.
Most sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    360
    169
    61
    19
See reviews for
403
977
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have stayed at many of the 'luxury' properties in Italy, and this one has to be the best of the group. we booked a normal room using Starwood points, and were given a slight upgrade to a room overlooking the inner courtyard. This was great because noise became a non-factor. The room was quite large, in fact my wife had her own dressing room complete with desk and makeup mirrors. The staff was great, some work can be done with the outside front staff, but everyone else was incredible. Will stay here again in a heartbeat my next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billburz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for electing the St. Regis hotel as your unique address when traveling to Rome. We are very pleased that your accommodation was comfortable and quiet and you could enjoy a peaceful rest. We are also grateful about your comments about the staff, they will not go unheard.
So, all we can add is … Arrivederci!
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

this review is long overview but i thought it is still good to write a review. I planned to take the economic way by taking the train from FCO to Termini so I wrote emails to the concierge of the hotel to make inquiries to gauge cost and distance. I was very pleased of how quick i get a response. However, did not get accurate information, what was supposedly a 10-minute walk from Termini took way longer than that. We pulled in nightime so it was twice harder finding location/streets. The next day and other days following when we were better associated of the way to/from the hotel to the metro, it was more like a quick stroll.
About the hotel experience. The room and bathroom was clean and well kept. The room is, I suppose big for European standards. I love the comfy bed. The bathroom has with a separate tub and shower. There is nice LCD TV but not much to watch but news or MTV as most channels available were only available in Italian.
The hospitality staff were great and courteous with their guest.I reserved this hotel months and months ahead. I'm an SPG Gold member and had booked my hotel stay for free. No complaint since I didn't have to pay using my points but I was expecting a better room being a program member. Typically, SPG hotels offer a preferred member room. I was not offerred one. I was stuck in a room almost at the very end of the hall. Room has a big window but we had closed the whoele time. There was no view but walls of other buildings. There is wi-fi available but with a fee which I find ricidulous for hotel such as this one with a pricey rate. I had ordered a dinner ont time because I came back from a day trip late and did not want to walk around look around for open restaurants so decided to eat it. Ordere a steak which I thought was okay, but not that great. I was just happy with the server who walked in and was very enthusiastic to chat with. I was glad too that I checked my receipt upon checkout. I was charge breakfast which was the morning following the night I order room service. I disputed it and it was quickly taken care of. Overall, this hotel get its credits from its wonderful staff and location. If I had to pay the published rate - I do not think that the price justify the luxury hotel category. I would recommend this hotel to those who have no issue paying a lot of money, but for someone with a budget concern, there are other options.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jello_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
You are right, overviews are always helpful, although a few months have passed from your stay.
It gives us the opportunity to say that
- free internet is now available in all public areas, including the Business center and that Starwood Preferred Guest members, as you are, are entitled to a dedicated service in the privacy of their accommodations;
- we appreciate not only your comments, that are being reviewed at an operational level, but also your frankness. Above all, we hope that, as a loyal SPG Guest, you will reconsider your decision, so that we may create a more memorable experience on your next visit to Rome.
Kindest regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

What a PERFECT place to spend a week in Rome. This property has first class service. The staff was attentive and friendly. They couldn't do enough for us. From the moment of check in at 0930 our rooms were ready. The rooms were large and immaculate. The bathrooms are marble with wonderful showers and marble tubs. Fresh towels were in our room 3 times a day.
The food at The St. Regis was wonderful. There aren't enough words to thank the staff for a GREAT time. GRATZI!!!!
Sandy and Mike

Room Tip: Look no further. Book a room at the St. Regis Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondenavymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

What more can I say, loved the hotel and my stay was pleasant. I traveled to Italy to attend my friend's wedding and it turned out to be such a mission to decide on which 5 star hotel I'd stay. But when finally, with the help of my driver in Rome I decided on St Regis and didn't regret! Will definitely stay there again when in Rome. The service and my room was amazing. Keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shux4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This trip was a surprise for my mother's birthday. Once I booked the hotel, I sent a mail to hotel service asking to ensure several things.But as you probably know, we always stay a little suspesious..To make a long story short: I was really surprised by the beauty of the place once arrived, the service was just great, and the first thing I was asked if I prefer to take suite instead of regular room for the same price. This was a great choice of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I spent five nights at the St. Regis Rome during a two-week trip to Germany and Italy. Before I write my review, I want to mention that I used points for this stay.

I have nothing really negative to say about the hotel or my stay. However, when thinking of a St. Regis property, I expect to be wowed. I was wowed in the sense that the hotel has its majestic, elegant and upscale feel with columns, marble busts and chandeliers all over the property. I don't know if I was wowed otherwise.

I am surprised that other reviews claim that the hotel is not in a good location. I actually feel that the hotel is in an extremely convenient location with a short walk to the Termini and Repubblica metro stops. In addition, the hotel is a 10 to 15-minute walk from the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and other landmarks. It is true that there are no restaurants in the near vicinity, but there are a lot of restaurants on Via Nazionale and Via XX Settembre.

The guest rooms are spacious and luxuriously furnished. I really enjoyed the comfort from the rooms. I was on the fourth floor facing the garden, which is away from the busy street noise. My only complaint: I know the fitness center was on the fifth floor, but the fitness center may have been right above my room. I was woken up two mornings (around 7 am) by what appeared to be the sound of a bouncing medicine ball, which was a little bit annoying especially when trying to get some rest while on vacation.

Service was alright. Nothing to truly boast about. I do appreciate the butler service option (you can email them with your request) but they failed to meet or even understand certain requests to the point that I ended up taking care of certain reservations on my own. I also got this feeling of pride from the staff. I understand that they work for the St. Regis Grand, which is a highly-regarded hotel, but that does not mean they need to have this superiority complex that they showed.

Room service was reasonable and it actually exceeded expectations. I got my order (a pizza and a sandwich) in less than 20 minutes, and the food was fresh and savory. Although I just criticized the service at the hotel, the two ladies that brought my food were the most friendly and accommodating people that I interacted with during my stay.

I have seen the room rates for this property (€400+), and am not sure if I would pay that much to stay here. I got lucky that I was able to use points for this stay because otherwise, I would have stayed somewhere else. This is very difficult review to write as I didn't have any major issues with my stay besides the service and the noise from the fitness center (would have rated it a 5) but I was perhaps left wanting more (hence, my rating of 4).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter - away from the busy streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanyDinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#58 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#49 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing