We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming grand hotel”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #89 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Rome St. Regis is a classical European grand hotel built in the late 19th century with marble floors, crystal chandeliers, period furniture, and works of art (the latter also modern ones). The lobby is magnificent, the adjacent bar very comfortable. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for seasonal re-decoration. There is a spa offering various treatments, and a gym. We were updated to a large and beautiful suite on the 2nd floor using our Starwood suite nights award. Judging from floor plans and a glance into one of the adjacent regular rooms I can confirm that these can be much smaller. Staff is very competent, helpful, and friendly. Included in our arrangement was the Butler service, and shortly after checking into our suite the butler arrived: an elegant, soft-spoken and impeccably dressed person in a cutaway coat explaining all assistances he would provide upon request (packing, unpacking, serving tea, etc.). Actually we demanded none of this, spending most of our time not in the hotel but sightseeing. For this the hotel is ideally located with Via Veneto, the Spanish stairs, and various museums only a short walk away. The hotel is very well maintained, however, since the last renovation is over 13 years ago, the furniture displays signs of normal wear and tear. A mild overhaul in some places might be in order. Although it cannot compete with the over-the-top extravagances provided by some other world-class hotels, e.g. in the Gulf region, the St. Regis Rome in my opinion is still a 5 star hotel, compensating what cannot provide by charm, authenticity, and an extremely competent staff.

Room Tip: If possible, upgrade to a suite.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionysios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to detail your experience on TripAdvisor. We are grateful for your kind words about our staff and for highlighting the signature Butler service. Indeed, accurate programs of maintenance and constant renewals take place at the St. Regis hotel, including the seasonal re-decoration of Vivendo Restaurant,which will be operative again in the next few days.
We hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future so that we may show you the result of our improvements and innovations.
Kind regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Good: great location; nice, large, comfortable rooms; good room service (if you enjoy room service); very grand and charming lobby/entrance; friendly, helpful staff

The Bad: we didn't encounter any issues, but we only stayed one night

Would we stay here again: most certainly

My wife and I stayed here in early March using starwood points. First, the hotel is quite grand on the inside, with older charm complimented by a newer feel. The staff that greeted us were very friendly and the check-in process was quick and painless. The room was wonderful - spacious, well furnished, large bathroom, etc. We ate lunch in the bar area and the food was very good, especially if you're looking for a quick bite to eat without leaving the hotel. Since we were in Rome to do touristy things, the concierge was very helpful in telling us how to get around to the different hot spots (Colosseum, Vatican, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, etc). The hotel is conveniently located very close to a Metro stop, and only a 6-7 minute walk from Termini. After a day of sightseeing, we returned and ordered room service for dinner since we had an early flight to catch the next morning. The food, again, was very good and we were pleased with the prompt service.

We had to check out at 4:45 am the next morning and we expected a skeleton crew; however, we were pleasantly surprised that there were several staff members available at that time. The hotel clearly takes customer service seriously, although I suppose I should expect nothing less from St. Regis hotels given past experiences. Overall, we were very pleased with our experience and would definitely recommend considering it if you're looking for luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amATX512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appreciation not only of the unique heritage of the St. Regis hotel, but also for its strategic location and for the true concern for customer service and comfort.
We are especially pleased that you were seduced by the flavors of just the best selection of the Italian cuisine both at Le Grand bar and during your in-room dining experience. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a longer stay: the many cultural and gastronomic attractions of Rome deserve more than one visit!
Kind regards,

Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We loved our stay at the St. Regis.
The rooms were large and accommodating!! Staff was friendly and helpful.
Beds were comfy. When booking our stay I made sure to get a king size bed, not two twins pushed together. When we arrived the first night in our room was two twins pushed together. When I went to the front desk they were quick to right their wrong. They quickly replaced the twin mattresses with a king and all was set while we were out to dinner.
Breakfast was a bit pricey, so if they offer the breakfast deal with your room I would suggest that. You will probably pay close to the same but I believe the breakfast came out around 90 Euros for two. Not positive though so don't quote me!! :-)
It was important to me to have a bigger room, since typical European hotels are much smaller. One of the main reasons we chose to stay here in the room size.
Bathroom included tub, separate shower (bonus I liked) and sink. Double sink would have been nice but overall the bathroom was clean and pretty.
Overall we truly enjoyed our stay at the St. Regis and would highly recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aAbArBiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,
We equally appreciate your positive comments and constructive criticism, as it is instrumental in our continuous effort to improve our level of service.
We are honored that you would recommend the St. Regis to your family and friends and we would be delighted to welcome you back. Please just take the time to notify your preferences for a king bedded, large accommodation and double sinks (all our bathrooms have separate bathtubs and showers) and we will register them in your profile. Also, we are pleased to inform you and all TripAdvisor community that many of our rates proposals include buffet breakfast, so we hope that you may take advantage of them whenever your traveling plans bring you back to Rome.
A presto,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the St Regis in February 2014. I did a lot of research before choosing a hotel and am so pleased we chose the St Regis. It was perfect from the start: we caught the train from Rome airport and walked from the train station to the St Regis, which was very easy. After a long flight, it was wonderful to be greeted upon arrival with smiles from everyone including the doorman, receptionist and manager, who introduced herself to us, noting that she had been expecting us (from our email replying to her welcome email). Check-in was very easy and we were kindly upgraded to an old-world room which was large and comfortable. The location is great - we walked everywhere with the exception of the Vatican which was about a E10 taxi ride. It really is a grand hotel, but without any pretentiousness.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australian_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the St. Regis hotel and for providing useful suggestions about local transportation. Rome is a big city and the St. Regis location is equidistant to the most famous historic sites; the subway is minutes away and the taxi station is available just stepping out of the hotel. Allow us also to mention the various hidden treasures that are walking distance, such as the Church of S. Maria della Vittoria (1640) featuring Gianlorenzo Bernini sculptures or the Quirinale Palace, residence of the Italian President with the adjoining Scuderie hosting international exhibitions.
We would be honored to welcome you and your husband back on your next visit to the Eternal city to discover how much more it has offer.
Kindest regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at the St Regis in Rome for 2 nights on Starwood points. It is a much higher quality hotel than we are used to and the service was amazing. From complimentary cappuccino's in the lobby while registering to fine music and wine in the bar, it was special to be treated like royalty. Blocks from the train station it is well centered to the subway and buses to traverse Rome. Truly a magical place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timbobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Starwood Preferred Guest,
We are honored that you have selected the St. Regis hotel for your stay in Rome using your starpoints. We value your patronage and thank you for your rewarding comments.
Indeed, royalties and international celebrities have visited the St. Regis hotel and we are delighted that you felt as special as they have been.
Best regards from all the team,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The St Regis epitomises what a great hotel should be like. In every aspect that you care to look at this hotel has the gold standard. While it is very grand and opulent, it is also serviced but very gracious and friendly staff from the doorman, front desk, concierge, household, waiters, barman.
The food and drinks were first class particularly the amazing breakfast!
It was a treat to return to the hotel at the end of a tiring day and relax in the lounge with a drink and be soothed by the sounds of the pianist on the grand piano.
The suite was very comfortable and well appointed. The little touches of having bed linen turned down, hotel slippers placed beside the bed and chocolates or a plate of fresh fruit provided as you returned to your room after dinner was a very warm and welcoming touch!
Congratulations to all who work at the St Regis for a first class experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Your recognition is truly meaningful.
GRAZIE from all the St. Regis team for highlighting the passion and commitment of each member of the staff, well aware to be part of the legacy of a unique hotel. Inaugurated in 1894, the St. Regis has always been the residence of generations of international and innovative travellers, such as you are.
Once again, grazie for sharing your experience.
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Amazing weekend in this historic city. The hotel is grand and splendid. The suite was sumptuous and spacious. Charming service with informative concierge. Fantastic breakfasts and great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollieArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guests,
your top scores and eloquent message represent our best reward.
From all the St. Regis team, THANK YOU for taking the time to share your positive experience. We are proud to have contributed to a memorableweek-end in the Eternal City and it is our hope that you will honor us with another visit soon.
Sincerely,

Vincenzo Falcone, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,267 in Rome
1,370 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#111 of 1,267 in Rome
867 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#106 of 1,267 in Rome
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £336 - £1,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing