We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel, Inconsistent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #80 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel, Inconsistent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with an impressive lobby and very friendly front-of-house staff. The hotel picked us up from the airport after a long flight from Charlotte, NC. We waited nearly two hours before our rooms were ready, though the hotel provided us coffee and cookies in the lobby while we waited. Both our room and our daughter's room were very nice, though the daily service in those rooms varied a great deal. The union covering the maid service went on strike for 24 hours, so we went one day with no room cleanup or towels/linen service. Our daughter's room, however, had no new towels for nearly four days. My complaint was not responded to, though finally she did receive new towels Bottled water was sometimes replaced, sometimes not. A couple of bathroom lightbulbs, burned out since our arrival, were not replaced.

The rooms, however, were big and nicely furnished, and also very quiet. The breakfast buffet was very good and the nightly piano playing in the lobby is a nice touch. Overall, I'm happy with our stay but I do wish the consistency of the service was more in keeping with the rest of the hotel and its pricing.

Room Tip: Courtyard-facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing the details of your visit at The St. Regis Rome on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you appreciated your accommodations, the caring attitude of our front-of-house staff as well as the breakfast buffet and the live nightly piano.
On the other hand, we apologize for the issues you have noticed about the housekeeping service, since they are not representative of our usual standards of cleaning and supervision, but even more so we are sorry because a prompt problem solving could have left you with a different impression.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to The St. Regis Rome to show you the results of our strong commitment to excellence.
Sincerely yours,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,315
    362
    169
    61
    19
See reviews for
406
980
66
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We are very frequent guests at Starwood properties around the world, and generally enjoy the experiences we've had. But our latest 2-night stay in Rome was the worst we've had - at arguably Starwood's best property there. In the interest of a little diversity although we'd stayed at the St. Regis before, we decided to try this hotel despite our many wonderful prior stays at its sister hotel, the Excelsior, not too far away. We were booked into a "superior" room, which because of the name, we assumed meant that presumably it had to be at least superior to something else. Imagine our surprise when we were shown into a room so small that my wife and I literally had to sidle along either side of the bed to get in and out of bed - the gap between bed and wall measured about 12". On the plus side, the accoutrements - bathroom, furnishings, lovely breakfast, etc. - were of St. Regis calibre. But the minus of such a tiny room far outweighed those. So, beware the "superior" room at this property; and while we're in the domain of the "-iors," our suggestion would be to stick with The Excelsior when in Rome. A decidedly superior experience, in our mind.

Room Tip: Avoid "superior"; wait until you can get an assured upgrade so you know what you are getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnD21C3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We are deeply sorry that your room assignment did not meet with your expectations and that you and your wife did not feel comfortable during your stay. Superior rooms are just one of the three available rooms' category (together with deluxe and imperial accommodations, featuring complimentary 24 hour butler service). Being the St. Regis an historical building, most of the rooms have different features and layouts and we trust that you will give us another opportunity to show you the many available options on your next visit to Rome. Please notify your priorities upon reservation and we will do our utmost to recover your faith towards the St. Regis brand.
Thank you for your positive comments on the service level and breakfast quality.
With kind regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
297 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is unique in structure and some services like SPA and breakfast in the lobby is special experience but with 5 stars service. Each hotel room has a name not only room number. I suggest any one if not able to stay in the hotel at least enjoy the coffee shop or restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALBADEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure learning that you appreciated the in-room decorations and original artworks, featuring monuments and historical sites of the Eternal City. We are also very grateful that you recognized our efforts in matching the unique heritage of this landmark with the highest level of service. Your suggestion to experience Le Grand Bar and enjoy one moment of relax with one of our Rituals (the afternoon tea, the Bloody Mary or the evening Champagne sabering) is very motivating and rewarding.
We look forward to another opportunity to make you feel special.
Kind regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would give this five stars, but it is just a bit old...but that is also it's charm. Excellent staff. Excellent and slightly dated rooms...but that means high ceilings and big rooms! We had butler services which was instant and effective. We ate at the breakfast buffet which was good, but only good. Also, there are great small restaurants nearby. It is a fifteen minute walk to the Spanish steps. Ten minute walk to the train station (from which you can get to the heart of Florence in 90 minutes). Ten minute walk to Borghese Gardens. Great location. Far from the Vatican, however. I would go back to this place in a minute. Ecstacy of St. Theresa by Bernini is right across the street. One of Bernini's absolute best sculptures. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: The first few floors have butler services 24 hours a day. Nice touch, but you pay a bit extra for i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelgeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed and effective feedback. We are pleased that you highlighted the strategic location of the St. Regis hotel and even more so that you shared your admiration for the Bernini Ecstasy of S. Theresa sculpture, just stepping out of the Hotel.
We are also grateful that you mentioned the discreet but meaningful assistance of our Butler service, aiming to create just the most comfortable stay.
We all look forward to your next visit & our Concierge team will prepare a new walking itinerary with more artistic treasures.
Sincerely yours,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you enjoy antiques and old Italian architecture this hotel will be nice. Rooms are nice but bathrooms are in need of major updating. Service throughout is excellent and local decent. We enjoy St Regis worldwide and if you are Starwood member the value is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for highlighting the uniqueness of the St. Regis Hotel, created by the genius of Cesar Ritz in 1894 and today we are proud to celebrate 120 years of timeless tradition and bespoke service with generations of distingueshed, international travelers. Your recognition is very much appreciated and a great encouragement for continuous improvement and innovation.
We look forward to your next visit.
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived into Rome early, room was ready. Everything we wanted we did not have the chance to ask for as it was already taken care of. Vincenzo Falcone and his staff made our stay one that we will never forget. They answered questions before we asked them, the room was immaculate and everybody we encountered at the St. Regis could not have been nicer. This is how every hotel in the world should be run.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any rooms, it is a first class experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
This is our mission: taking the extra step and anticipating our Guests’ needs, requirements or even dreams; we are so glad that you appreciated it and you took the time to share your feelings with all the TripAdvisor community.
We count on your continued support and loyalty.
From all the St. Regis team: Arrivederci!
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A great stay at a classic hotel. If you are looking for modern decor, a swimming pool and a large, loud bar, this is not the place. If you seek turn of the 20th century ambience, complete with a bar in which normal conversation levels are possible and afternoon tea is available, it is. The location is perfect for walking around the city and the staff are completly professional. We asked for quiet location and were provided with a large, well appointed room on the inner courtyard.The only fault we found in the room was a cracked glass in one of the many pictures. It deserves the Luxery Collection rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad that you appreciated the ambience and the décor of the St. Regis Hotel, since our philosophy is to combine the not easy aspiration to embrace change and modernization and to preserve the splendor originality of a hotel with 120 years of glorious history, by mixing touches of the past with contemporary pieces of art by young roman artists.
Thank you for mentioning the afternoon tea, one of our exclusive Rituals together with the Champagne evening sabering and Bloody Mary cockail; all aiming to create a leisurely experience in a discreet environment.
Warm regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#54 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing