We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel!!”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #82 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved staying at this hotel while in Rome! The rooms are very large and well appointed. Service was outstanding. We arrived in Rome early before the check in time and they led us straight to our room no waiting! The breakfast is excellent too! Good location for walking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennismum916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,
GRAZIE MILLE for your rewarding message.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a great experience at The St. Regis Rome and that its location made your stay even more exciting.
We are eager to welcome you back in the future!
Warmest regards,

Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    365
    171
    65
    19
See reviews for
415
1,003
66
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed our two nights at the St. Regis in Rome, however the rooms were very small. We booked two rooms, one for ourselves and one for our children and they were both small with little storage space and tiny bathrooms. We had requested an upgrade using our suite points, but they were not able to accommodate us, as all the suites were booked. Next time I think I would pay for a suite in advance rather than taking the chance for an upgrade. The location was great and everyone was very accommodating and helpful. The concierge set up a wonderful private early morning tour of the Vatican, which was the highlight of our stay in Rome. Our favorite part of the hotel was coming back from a busy day of sightseeing and sitting in the beautiful bar area with a bottle of wine. A great way to relax at the end of a tiring day. I would recommend a stay at the St. Regis Rome, however next time we will book a suite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments, since they represent a precious input for all of us.
We are glad that you and your family had a memorable stay at The St. Regis Rome, found rest and relaxation in the discreet atmosphere of Le Grand Bar and that our staff assisted you according to your requirements.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future and we hope to have an opportunity to upgrade your accommodations based on your priorities to make your stay even more enjoyable.
Kindest regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have now stayed at st Regis roma 3 times. Last time was in 2012 and it was great. Our rooms had been redone a la four seasons hotel style, butler was great, service great.

After this visit we feel the hotel has seen better days and will not return. Upon arrival the reception staff was definitely not super friendly. Our rooms were horribly musty/moldy smelling. We complained (which we never do) and were allowed to move into new rooms next day and new rooms were smelly but not as bad. The concierge quoted us price for coloseum/forum tickets Monday night and quoted price 5 euro higher the following morning.

On a good note, the tortellini was great, breakfast buffet great and private tour of Vatican great and worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vjdco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at The St. Regis Rome on TripAdvisor.
From your report, we clearly fell below our usual standards of serviceand we are sorry since we always remind our staff to be courteous and proactive on one hand and we proud ourselves to offer unrivaled rooms to our Guests to make them feel at home on the other. We certainly share your concern for having disappointed your expectations at such a large extent in occasion of your return visit and we have shared your comments with the Reception, the Housekeeping and the Concierge to analyze and correct the critical issues you have highlighted.
We hope you will reconsider your decision and allow us to welcome you back for the fourth time in the next future to show you the result of our improvements.
Sincerely yours,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to stay at the St. Regis for a few days the end of a wonderful Italian vacation. We found the hotel to be magnificent in terms of the decor. However the service left a little bit to be desired. We constantly felt like we were bothering the concierge when asking simple questions like dinner recommendations and we had to make several requests for housekeeping items that were never delivered to our room. I expected more from the St. Regis to be honest. In addition the prices in the hotel are astronomical and almost embarrassing how much they choose to charge.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian1234
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We are grateful for your positive comments about the hotel décor, concrete sign of the long and glorious history of The St. Regis Rome.
On the other hand, we are sorry that our concierge as well as our housekeeping staff disappointed you. Since your report does not reflect our usual level of hospitality, customer care and attention to cleaning details, please know that your comments will not go unheard and we will direct our efforts on both areas to ensure that each one of our Guests receive the flawless and dedicated service for which the St. Regis brand is renowned worldwide.
We would be honored to welcome you back on your next visit to the Eternal City and to show you that your experience has been an exception to a rule of bespoke and warm service.
Sincerely yours,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I am not a fan of hotels that do not have your room ready on arrival and we had a delayed flight! So when you have to wait beyond 6pm to check in I find that appalling, no apology or complimentary drinks or discount. Finally the room we received was supposed to be an upgrade. I did not look like an upgrade considering we had booked adjoining rooms and that is we we got. The shower would have been the smallest shower I have ever used god help me if I was a large person they would have had to shower in the bath. The price for the accommodation was not worth the money. If you like old dated rooms and the bathroom grout was done by a blind man well this is your hotel.
As a Starwood member it was a total disappointment!
I would not recommend this hotel. Way too expensive not value for money.

Room Tip: You can hear the flushing of the toilets and the hair dryers don't work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxury_Butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,
It is most regrettable that your stay at The St. Regis Rome did not live up to your expectations and that you did not receive the bespoke service you would so rightly have expected.
We always strive to create a comfortable check- in experience and we apologize if we have not been able to to do so in occasion of your visit.
We are also sorry that, after a long wait, the dimension and the style of your rooms and your showever did not respond to your requirements, preventing you to experience a comfortable stay.
We cannot turn back time, but we hope you will give us another opportunity to improve your impression of us.
Best regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel itself is really beautiful. Old architecture with a ton of classic features. The location is great if you are coming in from the train (Termini) - was a 5-10min walk. We also walked to the colosseum but needed a taxi for the Vatican. DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT turning up to either of those sites without a tour guide. Yes it costs about 150 euro for 2 people, but unless you like 4-6 hour lines (no joke!!) then do it and keep your sanity.

Some points: -
We booked a month a head and go a great deal on a large room - maybe 500sq ft? Washroom was huge and very nice.

Gym is small but okay for a work out.

Internet speed was good and they gave us codes for many devices.

Breakfast.....seems to be the only reason we removed a star. I didn't want the 43 euro buffet, so I would order off the menu. The staff are very nice but the english is very poor and they got my order wrong 3 days in a row. For a 5 star that got frustrating, they just don't have it together.

I could also add that the bed was very nice but firm - if you like a soft bed, this maybe a small issue

The concierge was excellent and VERY helpful. The can definitely help to land some great places to eat.

You will love this hotel - hard not to.

Room Tip: DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT turning up to the Vatican or Colosseum without a tour guide. Yes it costs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad to learn that you fully enjoyed your stay and that The St. Regis team could contribute to this experience in different ways. We are so grateful for your praises about your room as well as the fitness centre, internet facility, the hotel décor, its location and the helpful attitude of the concierge staff.
On the other hand, we do apologize for the repeated inaccurancy of your breakfast order and please be assured that we will work on it. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The St. Regis deserves its five star rating. The rooms are old school luxury, with high ceilings, large bath rooms and lots of space. Very comfortable. The staff were very accommodating and eager to handle luggage, open doors, hold umbrellas and call taxis. Breakfast had everything I would want, eggs cooked to order while you wait and even things I would never associate with breakfast, like green salad. And the Rolling Stones were staying there at the same time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
It is great to learn that we were able to create a memorable experience for you and for your family during your stay at The St. Regis Rome. We are particularly glad that you enjoyed our rich and tempting breakfast buffet, no better way to start a new day!
Please let us know when you will be return to Rome, as we would love to welcome you back as our Guest.
Sincerely,
Vincenzo Falcone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,258 in Rome
1,338 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,258 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,258 in Rome
851 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#110 of 1,258 in Rome
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing