We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #84 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The BEST”
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This hotel was like staying in a palace! The rooms were beautiful and even had artwork. The bathroom was slightly small but just as amazing as the room. The St. Regis is one of my favorite hotel chains and this was by far the best I have ever stayed at. The hotel is centrally located and very close to the train station. Absolutely worth the splurge!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLSteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    365
    171
    65
    19
See reviews for
415
1,002
66
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WorldTraveler
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

The food was inspired by the Bloody Mary and the ravioli deserved a second helping. The KamiSpa i think its called, massage was relaxing. The staff were very helpful especially at the door. Stefano was the best. Plan to go back next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SytlishTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

The hotel has been decorated in a beautiful Italian style, very comfortable and our room was a reasonable size. Concierge and checking very helpful. Although Rome is a small city it was just off the main tourist attractions and lacked the intimacy of other locations. However, it is possible to walk to all main destinations and it is next to the subway.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anglotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euless, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

The St. Regis Grand is a beautiful hotel which is well located one block from Piazza de la Repubblica and a Metro station. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are large and well decorated. The staff is very friendly and very helpful with questions, and recs for activities or restaurants. The hotel is expensive, but you are getting what you paid for. We used Starwood cash and points, and enjoyed every minute of our stay at the St. Regis Grand!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hookem2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We just spent 4 nights at the St. Regis Grand in Rome at the recommendation of a friend. As the dollar is still weak, this pricey hotel is very expensive. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was that my friend said it was the best service she had ever experience. Not so for me. The concierge and bellmen were very good. After two nights, and after my husband persistently requested, we were upgraded to a larger, quieter room with a better view. We were pleased. Although lovely, the hotel is done in a very baroque style which is not exactly our taste. The weak link for service was the wait staff in the breakfast room. Every time I ordered a tea with milk and honey, something was missing. I always had to ask twice for either the milk or the honey. This is a small thing, but at a hotel of this caliber, I don't expect that to happen 5 times in a row. Breakfast was also inconsistent. Also, the location near the Piazza de Repubblica, is not the best for sightseeing in central Rome, but there is a Metro stop right there. Next time, we'd like to be a little more central.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Hotel is somewhat well located depending on what you want to see in Rome. Rooms are a bit small and not very quiet, but clean and nicely decorated. Our biggest complains are about the service. Almost every time you had to wait to get to the front desk or concierge and especially front desk was not very helpful. Upon our arrival at about 1pm we still didn't have a room available. Front desk told us that housekeeping would just need to check our room to make sure everything was ok and told us to wait in the restaurant. After waiting for more than an hour I got back to the front desk who told me that the room was still not ready and I was again told that they would come and tell us when the room was ready. Eventually the room finally was ready at about 4pm and I still had to go and ask for it myself.

Overall we got the feeling this hotel is not quite up to five star standards. It's a good hotel, but overprised for a four star.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

This is one place I would never stay at again. I found the staff to be very uptight. Everyone has their hand out for a tip... Even the guy who came up to our room to show us how to use the remote expected a tip.

The one incident which infuriated me had to do with an ironing board. My wife and I had been invited to attend a Papal Mass at the Vatican and I phoned at 7:30 a.m. to ask for an ironing board and an iron to iron my own shirt and pants. I was informed this was impossible since this was against fire regulations (which seems bizarre because other hotels in Rome were able to accomodate us). I asked them to press the pants and shirt for me and have it ready by 8:30 a.m. They charged me 56 Euros (!) for this service because I had requested it in less than an hour. I tried explaining 8:30 - 7:30 = 1 hour and should get the "reduced" rate of 28 euros... but they wouldn't budge.

Personally, I think these European "Grand Hotels" are a crock...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sinner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,258 in Rome
1,335 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,258 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,258 in Rome
850 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#111 of 1,258 in Rome
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing