We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #98 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Stayed 5 nights on cash+points during Iceland volcano chaos; it's a relative bargain if you use points.

Location is very good, with easy access via subway, train, bus, taxi and walking. Train from airport is about 14 euros + 1/2 mile walk. Cab ride from airport is about 35 euros.

The hotel was gorgeous and provided an excellent experience. We were very pleased with our room and the hotel's service.

We arrived 1-day late due to the volcano; the hotel refunded that night no questions asked. The hotel also allowed us to add 2-nights to the reservation on cash+points.

I am SPG Gold. We checked in a couple hours early. Marcos at the front desk said they wanted to prepare a deluxe room for us, and then bought us cappuccinos. Monica, the lobby manager, then approached us and spent 20 minutes drawing walking routes for us on map she provided.

The lobby isn't huge, but it's very nice. The staircases are also very classy. The rooms are each unique, with classic furniture and artwork.

Our deluxe room was fantastic. It had a large room and bathroom with a great shower, tub, and heated bidet. The courtyard view was fine, albeit unimpressive.

They gave us 1-4 free bottles of water per day.
They gave us 2 small boxes of chocolates.

Like most really fancy hotels, room service and mini-bar are very expensive. There is no free Internet in the hotel. They offer Internet for about 15 euro per day or 4 euro per hour. The hourly option is palatable, whereas the daily option is too expensive.

The turn down service was nice.

Things that were less than perfect:
1) No free Interent in lobby or business ctr.
2) Our keycards locked out on us twice during our stay
3) The shower leaked slightly.
4) DVD Player doesn't play Region 1 DVDs. And a Region 2 DVD we have didn't play correctly.
5) A couple other slight inconveniences.
6) No pool.

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTravels503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,508 - 1,514 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2010

and it is eye candy. However, underneath all the puffy cloud & angel ceilings it's an old hotel with issues. They were nice enough to upgrade our Starwood Point stay to the top floor facing the courtyard. Unmentioned was the fact that our room was directly under the fitness center so we did our treadmill and weights vicariously. The shower was plugged completely, the TV remote was missing, there was no bottle opener for the comp. water that required a bottle opener, the "gourment bar" drawer was completely empty. These things just shouldn't happen in a 5 star hotel. On the plus side, the location is fine & the breakfast buffet is quite nice. If required to pay for a hotel, there are certainly others in the same category which would provide better value, in my opinion. Proceed with caution on this one.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowornever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The St. Regis Grand is a world class hotel with gorgeous rooms and extraordinary service. It is centrally located, with easy access to most tourist areas. The guest rooms are exceptionally comfortable and unusually spacious, with luxurious furnishings and large marble bathrooms. The public areas are impressive. The entire staff is professional, friendly and attentive. The restaurant is first class. In short, everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdaminDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Stayed here 5 times now...always a great place to reside. Beautiful interiors with antiques to equal any of the european palce hotels. Fantastic front desk very accommadating. Concierge on top of things...retrieved for us a ring left in Florence on bedside table in a matter of minutes. Rooms are usually classic style...but now changing some to more contemporary feel...so request which one you desire. We had the Bottega Venetta Imperial room...sleek design overlooking Piazza Republica top floor....stunning design and feel.....all leather items were BV. Knocked out marble bathrooms very generous size. Butler service is exceptional...complimentary coffee tea service in room, pressing,shoe shine , ect. Try to get B and B package...otherwise Breakfast for 2 is 84 euros...but beautiful room service. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone that wants opulent settings for a Roman experience. Easy walk to any of major sites...except Vatican.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coltarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

After reviewing all of the top hotels in Rome we chose St. Regis and were definately not disappointed. The interior of the hotel is amazing and the bar and the staff are always available to meet your needs. With the flight disruption we had to extend our stay and the hotel were very supportive with this. The room was magnificant and the bathroom extremely spacious and the bed is the most comforatble we have ever slept in. While it is an expensive hotel (around 10 euros for a coke) we did not eat or drink there instead venturing to cheaper nearby cafe's and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fruitystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriends when we traveled all over Italy a while back. When I checked in, I was upgraded to the suite (maybe because I had a status with starwood hotels?). Room was gourgeous and loved the bathroom! Amenity was all by Hermes (back then)!

Good thing was that I didn't see any children running around so overall, it was quiet!!

I would recommend to book the one with breakfast included. It's definately worth it! If you want to have it in the room, you can just switched over to room service instead.

I was very impressed with the service and how fantastic my stay was, I emailed hotel's GM after I came back home. I got response right away!

It is a bit expensive, but every penny is deginately worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsjdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

This hotel was more than we could have expected and well worth the price. My husband and I spent the first leg of our honeymoon here. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff were courteous and helpful. They even upgraded our room. The bed was SUPER comfortable - a sweet sleeper bed, no doubt. The room was very large with a separate sitting area with a walk-in closet that even had a vanity. The bathroom was much larger than what you'd find in any hotel in Europe and the decor was elegant. We felt like royalty. We accessed the internet (charge) through the television screen. Sometimes the connection was slow, so I'd recommend going down to the business center or an internet cafe. The hotel was walking distance (at most 30 min walk) to trevi fountain, pantheon, spanish steps. But you can visit these sites all at once since they're so close to each other. We also walked to the forum and Colosseum ... although the walk was further to get out there. The hotel was also walking distance to the central train station.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljunkie709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#55 of 1,273 in Rome
1,415 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#24 of 1,273 in Rome
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,273 in Rome
460 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#14 Spa Hotel in Rome
#35 Family Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#64 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £361 - £631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing