We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The St Regis in Rome was great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #81 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Port d'Andratx, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The St Regis in Rome was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We absolutely loved the Hotel, due to being SPG members we got a really good offer and decided to go for the St Regis. When we arrived ive got to say the hotel is stunning but the entrance area is fairly small and we didnt even recognise it when we got there. Once we where inside it was stunning, the hotel deocr is just fabolous, unfortunately the staff should be a little bit friendlier.
Our trip also fell on our anniversary so we asked the concierge service to recommend us a restaurant that is not overfilled with tourist and he did a fantastic job, the concierges were always friendly and helpful, they just need to smile a little more.The location is very good, next to a metro station and everything is really in walking distance(if your good on your feet). Our rooms faced the inner courtyard which wasnt a problem, it was very quite and ever so clean, shampoo and everything else was filled up everyday and everything else was just spotless!! On our way back the hotel also offered us the hotel car transfer which is 10 euros cheaper to the airport than a usual taxi and probably safer (knowing the italian taxi drivers). All in all, the hotel was great just a shame the lobby isnt bigger and doesnt have a nice seating area, but i would def go there again, anytime!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanjaParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    360
    169
    61
    19
See reviews for
403
976
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

The hotel is in a tremendously convenient location and is extremely well decorated and appointed. The staff were courteous and very obliging as well. The lobby areas are stunning and one could spend hours admiring the decor.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahomedix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

As the first hotel of a 2 week trip to Italy (Rome, Florence, Venice, Cinque Terre, and Amalfi Coast), we were very excited to be staying at a St. Regis. As Gold Starwood Preferred Guests, we were staying here on points. Upon arrival, our room was not ready (although we were there before check in) and the ONE wonderful person who checked us in, scurried to have our room ready and upgraded us without us even asking. Our room was lovely, spacious, and beautifully decorated. The marble bathroom was just as spacious and beautiful. Our room had a courtyard view, which was nothing to write home about, but the room itself more than made up for it. For some odd reason, housekeeping seems to want to get into your room during the day. We were napping (as we traveled during the night) and more than once did housekeeping try to get into our room. We still have no idea what they needed to get into our room for??? When I called downstairs for a hair dryer, they seemed annoyed. At the concierge, they also seemed to be inconvenienced when asked for advice. Overall, the hotel was lovely, clean, good location, and beautifullly decorated although the staff left something to be desired and should really take customer service lessons. That type of service is not acceptable in the US. I don't know if because it is a St. Regis staff is supposed to act "proper". but you can be proper and be friendly and helpful at the same time. As long as you do not need the staff's assistance, all will be good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetraveling0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

This was the first (and last) time I had stayed at a St Regis hotel and unfortunately, I had built up so many expectations in my head before arriving at the hotel, none of which were met. I had imagined that the hotel would be in some lovely square surrounded by beautiful buildings - boy was this not the case! The front of the hotel is so unassuming, I think that we would have just walked by it. The buildings around it are not pleasant but it is quite close to the main train station, right near a tube stop, la repubblica, which is a good location for accessing the train station etc. but the area felt incredibly unsafe. There were so many beggars in the area and at night we felt like we had to take a taxi everywhere. I appreciate that this is outside the control of the hotel but I feel it is worth mentioning, especially for single ladies travelling to this area. Furthermore, the hotel is really far from the main sights. You will certainly end up either using public transport or taking a taxi. The hotel is not worth the money that I spent. Check-in was a nightmare - unlike in most hotels, where you sign a sheet of paper etc., the St Regis has chosen to go high-tech and have an electronic pad that you complete check-in on. Sadly, it just didn't seem to work and the front desk agent admitted that they were having problems with this system. Get rid of it then! Anyways, what felt like hours later, check-in was completed and we were walked to our room. The room was a complete disappointment. Scuff marks all over the walls, a tiny room and the view was of an office block - charming! The minibar had not been replenished and when we called the front desk, we were told that the issue would be remedied. This never happened throughout our stay. The laundry form had already been filled out and when we asked for a new one, this request was also ignored. On the plus side, the room was very quiet and the amenities in the bathroom were lovely and of a very high quality. In one of the common areas of the hotel, we spotted a half eaten apple left on a table. Hours later when we walked by this area again, it was still there. The concierge was friendly but totally useless. We asked where we should go for an aperitif and he and his colleague couldn't recommend anywhere! Unbelievable! Also, we asked for help with the public transport system and were told that we should just take a taxi. The lobby area of the hotel is beautiful and we did eat there and were very impressed. Overall, the hotel is not good value and if you are staying here, I would not make the mistake of having high expectations as it really will not live up to them!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank UKonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your first experience at a St. Regis Hotel.
Your report certainly does not reflect the usual St. Regis level of service and we are very sorry for having disappointed your expectations. Please know that we greatly value your opinion and we will treasure both the positive comments, for which we thank you, and the negative ones. There is never a valid excuse for lack of attention towards our guests’ requirements and we just would like to assure you that we have already taken action at an operational level to correct the situation you have outlined, from the temporary problem at the check-in electronic pad - that has been promptly solved - to the concierge ability to provide a wide range of correct and useful information.
We sincerely hope that you will reconsider your decision not to stay at a St. Regis hotel and give us another opportunity to improve your impression of us in the future.

Kindest regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

The Grand Hotel Rome is a wonderful affair with all the voluptuous charm of an old-world Grand hotel. We occupied Deluxe Room 222 to the inner courtyard. The room is not very big but the décor is exceptionally rich and beautiful, spotless clean and with a fantastically comfortable bed. Carved wall panels, leaf golden details, Murano chandeliers and individual (a little naïve) wall paintings with Roman monuments create a really palatial ambience. Public areas are gorgeous, opulent and extremely well maintained. Staff could not be more friendly, helpful and efficient.

There are few back-drops:
- The uninspiring view to the inner courtyard. The maintenance and care of the inner courtyard is just a shame and our window view was very uninspiring. Such a contrast to the rest of the hotel!
- The diversity of lounges and public spaces – which are part of the ambience of traditional Grand hotels - is limited as they are closed for conference business; which gives a little strange feeling of conference hotel.
- There are no a fresco spaces and the wonderful lobby is a little too dark to be inviting during the day.
- The location is a little off the points of interest - an disadvantage which Grand Hotel shares with the properties in Via Veneto / Ludevico area.
- Fitness room is a little dull and options are limited.

Altogether St. Regis Grand Hotel Rome is a gorgeous and extremely pleasant– but also quite expensive – affair in one of the most beautiful cities of the world. Looking forward to come back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank set_designer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Our honeymoon ended with a stay at the St Regis Grand in Rome. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, which was awesome! We even had our own Butler, on call. The room was large and comfortable, with a TV in both the parlor and bedroom. The bathroom was large. We were on a corner, so it was a bit noisy, but who could complain with the surroundings? We were close to a metro stop, which made it convenient to get to other tourist sites (but watch your pockets on the crowded metro - my husband had his picked!). The staff was awesome, and Le Grand Bar in the lobby was nice for a drink and to listen to piano music. Very soothing...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbailey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Incredibly decorated rooms. Service above any we've had before. I doubt I'll spell this correctly but the concierge, Gioncarlo, was amazing. Help with our tours, restaurant recommendations, and he even got me a refill of my prescription med even though the prescription was from the US. Wish we had got to try the restaurant as well. The hotel surprised us with a fruit basket upon check in and a bottle of chianti and cheese on our last night.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gflash11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#57 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#28 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#109 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing