We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has it all.”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #88 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This is a gorgeous, old hotel with tastefully updated rooms and loads of charm. It is in a wonderful location and our room had a lovely view. The room we had offered a beautiful blend of old world charm with modern touches. The room was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was gorgeous and also roomy, with every extra imaginable. The lobby and reception area were elegant and comfortable. The dining area off the lobby was also beautiful and the breakfast, which was included with our room, was fabulous. The service was excellent and everyone most helpful. Would recommend it to anyone traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are delighted by your comments and very grateful that you took the time to share them with all of us.
We count on your continued support and we look forward to welcoming you back at any time in the future!

Warmest regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

Wonderful hotel, could not ask for more. Very expensive. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amapola24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Total Nights: 3 Room Type: Imperial

After wanting to stay at a St Regis hotel for sometime now, I finally got the chance to in Rome. I was very excited and had very high expectations from the jewel in the Starwood hotel chains crown (www.spg.com).

We arrived at the St Regis by taxi and had to lug our bags out of the taxi ourselves until the bell desk finally realized that we were checking in and then came running to our service. Maybe they there not used to a pair of Aussies turning up in shorts and a t-shirt?

We were welcomed by one of the front desk staff and were promptly checked in. Very efficient but not overly friendly as I would have expected. We were then escorted to our room by the front desk member and welcomed to the St Regis. So far so good.

After arriving to our room I wanted to iron a shirt for dinner. To my surprise there was no iron and then found out they were not permitted in the rooms. Apparently this is due to a fire regulation, but I'm not sure about this as the regulation was quickly followed by details of how the hotel can iron our clothes (for a fee of course). After spending €60 on pressing I was not impressed.

We called the front desk to advise them to collect the ironing. After and hour they had not appeared so we went out for dinner expecting someone to have collected them by the time we returned... 2 1/2 hours later we return to find our un ironed clothes!!! After a quick call to the front desk....all sorted. I would have expected flawless service when we were paying > €500 a night.

Breakfast was fantastic. You can have the buffet with freshly cooked eggs or you can order from the menu. One of the better hotel buffets I have seen but I'm glad the cost was included in our room.

The overall service at this hotel was not online with the €500+ a night we were spending and this left me feeling a little disappointed in the St Regis brand as I probably would have got better service at the Westin hotel.

The room and bathroom were extremely large and there was plenty of space. There was plenty of towels and band name amenities on hand. The hotel maids also ensured we had plenty of everything and refreshed our towels and amenities during nightly turndown service.

On our final nite the complimentary bottle of wine and cheese was a good gesture and one I've not seen many hotels offer.

Overall I rate this hotel 7/10 (and 7/10 as compared with other Starwood hotels).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crumycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

Dear Guest,

We thank your taking the time to post your comments about your recent experience at the St. Regis Grand Hotel. We greatly respect our Guests’ opinion and we take it very seriously in our continuous efforts to improve our level of hospitality.
We are very sorry that you left Rome somewhat disappointed and we can only apologize most sincerely if we failed to provide flawless and bespoke service.
Allow us to take this opportunity to clarify that we do not provide iron and board in the guestrooms in accordance to the Hotel Health & Safety regulation, not only for fire prevention but also for possible injuries and/or incorrect use; our Laundry & Pressing service is available on a daily basis, Saturdays and Sundays included.
Your report about the shirt pressing is certainly unacceptable for our standards of service and we thank you for having brought it to our attention.
We also thank you for your positive feedback about the breakfast experience, where we recently introduced, in addition to the express cooking station, the morning Champagne ritual and a selection of healthy products.
We know that we can do so much better and we look forward to another opportunity in the future to improving your impression of us!

Kind regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The Hotel is chic and sophisticate!
The Bottega Veneta Suite is beautiful!!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank AninhaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

When they say five star, they mean five star! What a beautiful hotel! The staff from the bell boys to the concierge to the house staff to the room service staff were top notch! Our room was unavailable when we arrived, so they offered to store our luggage while we went to sightsee. (If I could rate this service higher than five, I would.)

Our room was huge with an equally large bathroom filled with amenities (shampoo, conditioner, soaps, robes, slippers, etc.)

It is perfectly located within a very short walk to the train station and a short distance from the Spanish Steps in one direction and the Forum & Colisseum in the other direction.

If you can afford this five star hotel, I highly recommend it. Wonderful!!! Would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback; it shows our passion for bespoke service and our daily commitment to provide our valuable Guests with unique experiences in one of the most prestigious hotels of the Eternal City.

We sincerely hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back soon,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This is a beautiful hotel in a landmark building conveniently located within walking distance to the rail station. Skip the continental breakfast, it is overpriced and there are many cafes in the area. The concierge was incredibly helpful and accommodating. My only complaint is that when we returned to our room late one the afternoon, the door was not pulled shut and housekeeping never finished their cleaning. The bedding was all over the place. I made a call to housekeeping and no one arrived promptly. I walked down to the concierge who accompanied me back to the room to see the appalling condition. I was most concerned about security being the door was left open and I had valuables in the room. The concierge was very accommodating and bought us drinks in the beautiful lobby bar while our room was tidied. She then sent up a nice bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojostarbux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

Dear Guest,
Your report certainly does not reflect our usual housekeeping standards of service and we are very sorry for the discomfort and sense of unease you may have experienced. We just would like to assure you that we have immediately reviewed our operational S&S procedures with all the floor attendants since we take the Safety and Security of our guests, associates and visitors most seriously as well as provide exemplary customer service.
We are genuinely grateful to you for bringing this issue to our attention so that corrective action could be taken.
We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back and we send you our best regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This was the worst Starwood hotel that I have stayed in;

Rooms are over the top, tiles chipped and in room entertainment very expensive.
We had no impression of feeling like a valued guest, and we examined as to our type of booking.
View from the rooms were very poor.
In room dining ok, a bit sluggish.
The location is not where you want to be - handy for tour bus but that's it.

I will stay somewhere else next time - it is the first time that I didn't get great advice from TA:(

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to say thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We value every feedback from our Guests both, positive and negative, as this is the only way to ensure we continue to grow and evolve as a property and as a brand.
We always seek to maintain the very highest standards of quality and service and we share your concern for having disappointed your expectations at such a large extent in occasion of your visit. Although of little consequence to you now, we have shared your comments with the Reception, the Housekeeping and the In Room dining Head of Departments to analyze and correct the critical issues in the hotel operations that you have highlighted.
We cannot turn back time, but if your plans take you back to the Eternal City, we would be honored to welcome you back and show you that your experience has been an exception to a rule of bespoke and refined service.

Kindest regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#55 of 1,269 in Rome
1,383 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,269 in Rome
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#109 of 1,269 in Rome
875 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#102 of 1,269 in Rome
1,128 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £331 - £821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing