We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel - Amazing Service”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #83 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel - Amazing Service”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The hotel hosted over 70 of us for a conference and I couldn't fault a thing. The service was completely discrete and yet they thought of everything, from airing the rooms, remembering the drinks we ordered and even serving us with drinks when we were working on computers in the business centre during the down times.
The food was good, although I think suffered somewhat from the mass cooking. The hors d'oeuvres in cocktail hour were stunning.
I will definitely return for a personal trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Gourand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely note. We are delighted that our daily attention to details and personal touches did not go unnoticed! Your recognition is most appreciated and we would be honored to welcome you back on your next trip to Rome to make you feel even more special.
Again, THANK YOU!
Kindest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    368
    170
    67
    19
See reviews for
419
1,009
68
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The St. Regis Grand Hotel in Rome is definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. From the moment we walked in the lobby, the service was amazing. Whatever part of the hotel we were in, we were greeted personally and by name. We were personally shown to our room by the front desk staff. The amazing concierge was able to book us into the Galleria Borghese with just a few hours notice. The butler staff is amazing, even by St. Regis standards. Wonderful fresh juices, espresso, tea, and fresh pastries arrived several times daily. We were sent champagne, a fruit plate, and wine courtesy of the management before we even unpacked. We were in a fantastic suite with special touches by a celebrated artist. Everything was lush and luxurious-- pillows, bedding, chairs and sofas, curtains, etc. etc. Can't get enough of the Remede products either. A must visit if you can afford it. Sandro on the management staff deserves special mention for his amazing service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zephyr221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Guest,
We greatly value such encouraging and complimentary feedback as it shows our passion for bespoke service and our daily commitment to create memorable experiences for our guests to enjoy.
We hope you will consider the St. Regis Hotel as your unique Address for any future visit to the Eternal City and, along with Sandro and all the team, we thank you most sincerely for your precious expressions of praise.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Our stay in Rome was superb, thanks in large part to the central location of the St. Regis, as well as the beautiful and comfortable accomodations. Our room was a tad small--but really, this is to be expected for Rome and we didn't spend all that much time in the room anyway. The bed and the entire room was very comfortable and absolutely beautiful. I happen to love old architecture and history and this hotel has been renovated with such perfection that all the charm and beauty of the original work shines through.

We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was outstanding! Plus, dining was SO comfortable! I have a bad back and require very good, comfortable chairs--these were teh best! The best part of the meal, though, was the wine tasting we had in the wine cellar right before we dined. The somalier was outstanding (wish I could remember his name so I could give him some kudos in this review). He gave us a lot of history about the wines we were tasting, as well as information about how the hotel was originally built (built as part of the old Roman baths!).

The staff at the hotel were very helpful to my husband and me. We were planning on taking 5 days in Florence and didn't want to drag all of our luggage there (we'd been in the warm climate of Egypt and had no need to bring those clothes to chilly Florence) so the hotel offered to keep our luggage until we returned five days later.

The only thing that kind of drove me nuts--although this is typical for 5 star properties--is that they don't have an ironing board in the room, nor even an ice bucket! Sometimes, you don't want to send something out to be pressed at the last minute--you just want to give it a quick touch up yourself. And having to order a bucket of ice from room service was annoying. Just give us a bucket already! It's not that we minded tipping--not at all--it just took a long time to get the ice a few times!

However, these are VERY minor complaints! This is a spectacular hotel and my husband and I WILL return -- and probably within a year. We were both very impressed with Italy, and in particular, the St. Regis.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melindaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your detailed and wonderful report. We are so pleased that we were able to create memorable moments for you to treasure and your recognition - not only of the extrardinary heritage of the hotel - but also of the continuous focus on dedicated service, makes us very happy.
Allow us to mention that our sister hotel in Florence, currently under renovation, will become a St. Regis next May, so we look forward to extending you and your husband the best of our hospitality in both destinations! A presto,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Arrived at the St. Regis Rome at about 9 in the morning. The front desk clerk knew that we were had just come off a long flight and offered us complimentary cappuccino's in the hotel lobby restaurant while he checked on getting a room ready for us. After about 30 minutes he gave us the good news that a room was ready and that we could check-in right away. That gesture really set the tone for our stay in Rome. Doors were always opened for us and a smile/salutation always greeted us. Some mention the hotels location being a bit out of the way, but we didn't find that to be the case. We did a lot of walking and walked to the all of the attractions (except the Vatican) from the St. Regis. Granted we were bushed at the end of the day, but we got to see a lot of the city. Our deluxe room was big by European standards and the bed was really comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 0puns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Guests,
We would like to express our sincere appreciation for your complimentary and rewarding comments. It is the attention to details, however small, that make a difference and your recognition of our continuous efforts to extend a personalized service to our guests and visitors is so much welcomed.
From all of us at the St. Regis, GRAZIE, for the time and trouble that you have taken to share your valuable feedback. It is our hope that we will have soon another opportunity to welcoming you back! Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I have stayed at this hotel every time i go to Roma in the last 10 years!
The service is the best and the location spectacular!
Yes there somtimes a problem but all you have to do is pick up the phone and call the front desk or any of the staff and the problem is taken care of in minutes.
I have at times traveled there with a group of people needing 5-10 rooms and other times just myself always treated like a vip!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchriscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Guest,
We are honored that you consider the St. Regis your Second Home and we would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to share such encouraging and complimentary comments with us. It will be a privilege to welcome you and your Guests back to the St. Regis Hotel, the most refined address in Rome!
Once again, thank you,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

One of the best hotels in Europe. Rich in history and decor. Great service, great location, rooms are large a beautifully decorated. Staff was very helpful. When we arrived are rooms were not ready ( we where there better check-in time) so we went to the bar for a drink to wait, when a staff member came to the bar to give us the room key, he promoed the drinks and apoligized for making us wait. First class.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrykaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The St. Regis Hotel is in a great location in Rome. It's near the Piazza della Repubblica and the Rome Central Station. It is even passed by the regular tourist buses. It is across a travel tour office that offers tours in Rome and other parts of Italy. The staff is friendly and accommodating and can help you find the best tours for you, train schedules, etc.
The breakfast is also good, offering American and Continental breakfast.

The room we stayed in though was a bit small. There's little space between the TV armoire and the king-size bed, considering that it is a suite. But the bathroom is nice with separate shower area and bathtub. The bed is nice to sleep in, fluffy pillows and all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#50 of 1,261 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,261 in Rome
420 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,261 in Rome
857 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#106 of 1,261 in Rome
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing