We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Albergo Cesari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo Cesari
Ranked #110 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here in May, 3 couples, 3 rooms. I wanted to stay near the pantheon but on that square very expensive. This hotel was just around the corner on a lovely quite street. The decor Is dated, worn but v clean. All 3 rooms spacious, high ceilings, large windows, comfortable beds. The rooftop bar/restaurant was an added bonus! We sat out most mornings looking out on Rome eating a very pleasant breakfast. Staff nice especially Thomas (as was noted in reviews) he recommend 2 places to eat and even suggested what to eat!! First restaurant very Italian, had to wait in bar next door to be called to table. Worth it food and atmosphere fantastic.
We walked everywhere as the location of hotel is sooo good!! If you are looking for a good priced, Italian hotel with character in the heart of old Rome this is it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pkmoloney14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Pkmoloney14,
If someone write a review an year after their stay it means they appreciate it! And we thank you very much for your kind review.
The 3 stars Albergo Cesàri is the good hotel for people who love discover Rome step by step, without using public transports, as it is located just in the centre of the town. 5 minutes walking you reach the Pantheon, as you wrote, and in the opposite site you reach the Trevi fountain.
The hotel is hosted in an historical building just in the heart of Rome and has 48 rooms - standard or classic - all with private bathroom with bathtube or shower, courtesy kit and hairdryer. Different renovations have been made during many years and probably you appreciated that we are going to start again with a new renovation in few months. Our housekeeping manager and her staff do their best to keep the rooms cleand and warm, as you wrote.
La terrazza del Cesàri, our rooftop, is certainly a place that breaks the heart, with its sunny terrace and beautiful view on Roman roof tops, the “timpano” of Saint Ignazio Church, the Statue of Saint Paul on the top of Column in Piazza Colonna and the little pink tower where Galileo verified his thesis… Here, in the morning, you have the lucky to taste a good buffet breakfast and in the evening to sip a drink, cocktail or a glass of wine admiring the view.
Our English speaking Staff aim to satisfy all Guests’ desires, as Tommaso did, suggesting restaurants, trattorie, cafés and places where you can taste what you want.
The Staff and I waiting for your next stay with us: booking directly on our official website, you have the possibility to book more than 3rooms and find a great special offer.
Cordially,
Mrs Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri – Rome, Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    592
    104
    23
    6
See reviews for
347
662
101
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A wonderful Hotel in a great central location. The room was fairly basic, but was comfortable enough and very clean. the bathroom was again basic but done the job and again was v. clean. The Staff at this Hotel are amazing and enhanced our stay in Rome. They were always helpful and pleasant and I felt they had a real interest in. A special thank you to Alexxis (sp) who served up wonderful cocktails on the amazing rooftop terrace in the evening. The buffet breakfast was also very good. The Hotel is in a central location, a short walk to the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and Piazza Novana. With plenty of restaurants and bars to chose from.
If I ever return to Rome I wouldnt want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Kerry169,
We thank you very much for your kind review about our 3 stars hotel.
The Albergo Cesàri has two type of rooms classic and standard. First ones have “old style furniture” and special amenities in the bathroom. Both type offer to all our Guests comfortable bed, tea/coffe making facilities replenished every day, one bottle of mineral water in room on arrival, a minibar, a safe box and air conditioning.
Cleanliness is one of our gap, within good service and courtesy, and we are pleased that all our Staff give you good services. For any information, get in touch with our English speaking Receptionists, who will be very pleased to help you in any query, such as reccomendation for restaurants, monuments and so on.
Alessia welcome you for your kindness in her behalf: she is a very nice person and always pleased to satisfy Guests’ with her wonderful cocktails!
La Terrazza del Cesàri, our trendy rooftop, has a magical atmosphere in the evening, not less in the morning, so beautiful with its flowers. It a very pleasure to have the rich buffet breakfast in this place…
Our hotel is located just in the historical centre of Rome, between the Pantheon and Trevi fountain, not far away from the Spanish Steps, the Forum and the Colosseum, and a lot of other spots. All around us there are many cafes, bistros, pizzerias, etc.
Hoping to welcome you very soon, we suggest to book your next stay with us, directly on our official website where you can find special offer.
Cordially,
Mrs. Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

No hot water for the showers; even after changing rooms. Faulty plumbing in both rooms. Narrow and uncomfortable bed. Dilapidated furniture. Poor lighting. Intermittent internet reception. Service good - tried to help, but could not solve these problems. The whole thing made for a very unpleasant stay in Rome, a city I generally enjoy visiting. Location is good, but on a noisy, narrow street. Finally, they did not give me the promised wake-up call, so I almost missed my flight.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Don B,
Reading your review we were really astonished ….and as what you wrote is shared with travellers all around the world, we have to describe the truth and our point of view.
In fact we assigned you a very good and nice standard double as single occupancy room (upgrade from single that you booked, at no charge ), but at the check in you asked for a no-smoking one, and when our Receptionist suggested you to see it, you firmly refused. Well, fortunately at that day the Hotel was completely fully booked and the only one possibility was for a standard single – no smoking.
The day after, when you informed that there were a problem with the hot water, our Receptionist told you to leave all your belongings in the room as in the meantime you were out, we moved you in another room. And we gave you a classic single room, so a superior category as upgrade. This room is a little junior suite will all comforts, superior amenities and without problems. So it’s not true that you had “faulty problems” in both rooms.
Besides, you are the only one Client that complaint for the beds, that are all new because were changed few month ago and are very comfortable as all our Guests say.
As far as the Wi-fi connection is concerned, during your stay there weren’t problems connection and no other Clients have complained. However it maybe, sometimes it happens everywhere.
The wake-up call worked regularly and was given to many other Clients. Is it possible you lowered the ringer?
Also, our Hotel is located in the heart of the historic center were people meet and walk, as happens in all the metropolis. But all our rooms have sound-proofed windows to avoid any problem.
Why you didn’t mention all the positives? You don’t mention the “special” treatment you had, that our 3 stars Hotel gives services as 4 stars, that our location is enviable (5 minutes walking from the Pantheon on the left and 5 minutes walking from Fontana di Trevi on the right and this is one of the reasons for which it’s choiced), La Terrazza del Cesàri, our wonderful roof top, a pleasant place where every morning our Clients enjoy the rich buffet breakfast and the evening can relax enjoying our tasty cocktails, that rooms are really very clean ….
Who knows why the Albergo Cesàri has been awarded with “ Italian Hospitality Mark” during 2013 ?
We think that probably you are wont at 5 stars Hotels and not in the city center.
In any case we thank you for your review that gave us an opportunity to mention the high quality of the hotel and some of our positives.
Best regards.
Mrs. Cinzia Farias
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great location. Walking distance to everything. I was travelling alone, and everyone that worked there was extremely helpful and pleasant. Can't say enough about the staff.

I rented a single room, which was a good size. Shower was literally the size of a phone booth and the water didn't drain that well. Up to my ankles by the end. I really hate that. Got a great price on the room through a travel site, but when I saw that my room was actually going for over $300, I would have had a heart attack if i paid anywhere near that. i only saw a single room, so not sure how the others are, but would never ever pay $300 for this room. not even half. I was very pleased with the stay and location based on what I paid for the room.

The street below is very loud. I can sleep through anything, but if you have trouble sleeping, this particular room might not be for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty5783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear kitty5783,
Thanks for your review and thank you very much for your kindness on our professional and friendly staff.
All our 48 comfortable rooms, standard or classic (visit our official website), have all with private bathroom with hairdryer, bath and/or shower (single rooms have shower, not bath), courtesy kit and all with soundproof windows, air conditioning, minibar, safe, satellite TV, direct dial phone and Wi-Fi free. The Albergo Cesàri is pleased to offer a complimentary bottle of mineral water in room on arrival and coffee/tea making facilities. Every morning, the chambermaids clean the rooms and all the hotel.
For any problem with room, get in touch with our Reception, who is pleased to solve all your problem, like yours with the water/shower. However, we kindly inform you that the shower has a standard-size.
As far as the rate is concerning, it encreases depending on our sell. So, you paid a lower price ‘cause surely booked a way back.
The hotel is located in a little street just in the middle way between the Pantheon and the Trevi fountain, so that in the heart of historical centre of Rome, the well frequented area also in the night. Don’t forget that you are in a town and even if the hotel has soundproof windows, it is possible to hear noise.
Cordially,
Mrs Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri, Rome - Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

As usual, people who pay the basic price get a basic room and then have the nerve to complain..We booked this typically Italian hotel through hotels.com and had a spacious corner room number 43. The bathroom was modern and large with an opening window and good shower over the bath. We also had a bidet and very sweet his and hers goodies bags including a loofa for the shower. The bedroom was large with a very comfortable queen bed, two chairs, a desk, tea and coffee and water as well as a mini bar that we didn't use. Plenty of room for two people.
Being on the main tourist track between the Trevi (5 Mins) and the Pantheon (5 mins), you can hear people in the pedestrian street below at busy times, but you should be out sightseeing yourselves at that time. When we arrived, an old man was there playing an accordion to add to the very Italian atmosphere.
There are many good bars, cafés and restaurants along this strip, Enjoy an Aprerol spritz at the bar on the corner as the sun goes down and gaze at the incredible columns of the Temple of Adriano (Hadrian). It's only ten steps to the hotel door,
Jan and Bernardo on reception were incredibly helpful when we were checking in online for our flight to Athens, and always gave us a cheery smile when we went out and came 'home'.
The rooftop bar and breakfast area are a fantastic surprise.. Two floors of tables and open air sofas surrounded by flowers and shrubs. You can breakfast outside or inside if it's too chilly. We stayed in April and it was sunny but not hot, although some people braved it outside.
We've stayed in some tiny rooms in Rome, so this hotel is an absolute gem and we can't wait to return,

Room Tip: Room 43 is on the corner with two lots of windows. Could be noisy but good air flow,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SongbirdAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear SongbirdAust,
We wish to thank you very much for your beautiful review, describing very well our hotel and its philosophy.
We agree with you about people who complain about a room paid a very low price or the ones who expect a suite instead of a room. We know that in Italy and explecially in Rome the size of the rooms are smaller than in the USA or Australia, but travellers know this mark.
You room is a classic double, so in “old style furniture” with special amenities in the bathroom. All our rooms offer to all our Guests – as you wrote - comfortable bed, tea/coffe making facilities replenished every day, one bottle of mineral water in room on arrival, a minibar, a safe box and air conditioning.
The hotel is located in the historical centre of Rome, where a lot of pepole come and go looking for one of the beautiful places in the Caput Mundi. But it’s happen in every town very famous all over the world!
Just around us, cafés, restaurants, trattorie and all you are looking for to have a little snack or a delicious lunch/dinner.
We noticed that our Receptionist Jan and Berardo satisfied your expectation, with their professionalism and helpful. And reading your review we suppose that the same is for our buffet breakfast on the rooftop: service and cleanliness are the most important things for us.
Ends a good and rich day at the roof top of the Albergo Cesàri, drinking a cocktail, it is a privilege. The same you have every morning, during your delicious breakfast always at the rooftop, facing to ancient Roman tops.
We hope to welcome you very soon and within all the Staff, I suggest to book for your next stay with us, one of our special offer directly on our official website.
Sincerely,
Mrs Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri, Rome - Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Spent a week in this wonderful hotel. What made it so wonderful was the caring staff; rooftop terrace; central location; delicious breakfast; and comfortable room (though we did not spend much time in the room!). Every member of the staff, from the people at the desk to the staff on the rooftop terrace, made you feel comfortable and special. We would go up to the terrace every night before dinner and have a drink. From the martinis to the prosecco, absolutely delicious. My new favorite drink is a Parisian Manhattan. The recommendations for restaurants were superb. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms have soundproof shutters, but when the windows are open, the street below is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vida m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear vida m,
What a kind review: we thank you very much!
You find a lovely way to describe our hotel and its qualities, such as the professional and friendly Staff – from the Receptionists to the housekeepers, the porters and the barman - , our rooftop a very special place where have a rich and delicious buffet breakfast, our fantastic location just in the centre of Caput Mundi and the comfortable rooms.
You “feel comfortable and special” at our hotel, as you ARE special like all the Guests who book a stay at the Albergo Cesàri – book directly at our official website and surely you find a good offer for your stay - , people who loves to discover Rome by walking and loves to verify our suggestions about restaurants and places to visit.
Our roof terrace is a peaceful island with view on typical Roman tops, where have the buffet breakfast in the morning and sip a cocktail in the evening (you are right: Parisian Manhattan is great!).
All the Staff and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel
Cordially,
Mrs Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri – Rome, Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This would have been a great stay and a fantastic location in the heart of Rome but unfortunately the first five nights of our stay were a nightmare because of the hotel managements absolutely crazy policy on when the air conditioning could go on.

Despite being 21 degrees outside, being put in a room with zero airflow (room 48) and the temperature in the room hitting 25+ degrees the room's air conditioning was set to HEATING ONLY and we couldn't even turn the fan on to at least get some airflow.

Thinking it was a fault we asked reception on two separate occasions to inspect the fans and turn the cool air on and we were told twice by different receptionists that it wasn't a fault. The rooms were on heating only because it wasn't the season to be able to turn the cool air on.

Surely this should be the guest who decides the comfort level in their room - NOT the hotel.

Presumably the "let our guests turn on the aircon" season must start around 8 April because that's when it was finally turned on, but too late for our stay. We were left dreading going back to our hotel every night knowing we wouldn't be able to get a sleep due to the heat and lack of air in our room.

Another gripe is the shower - as many other reviews have said the bathrooms need upgrading or at least the showers. I'm a pretty slim 6 footer and I struggled to squeeze into the tiny shower unit that looks like it was fitted in the 1960's and had some poor quality repair work undertaken around the shower screen and tiles. The hairdryer in our room was also pathetic and was held together with sellotape.

This hotel has so many positives going for it including the staff, location, cleanliness, roof terrace, room size and a decent breakfast. If the management just took time to consider the comfort of their guests, especially those coming from cooler climates, and renew the bathroom fittings then I would have given this hotel a full 5 stars - but until they sort these out then we'll be staying at a different hotel on our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Avoid room 48 - the windows just look into a small central area that carries all the pipe and ductin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wibblemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farias C, Direttore at Albergo Cesari, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
I thanks for your review and for let me know your experience at the Albergo Cesàri.
Well, as you wrote the hotel has a “central heating/air conditioning” that Guest should turn off and it is not possible to have air conditioning instead heating. Open the window it’s enough to have a good temperature in the room.
Well done to go to the Reception saying your problem but probably there was a misunderstanding with our Recptionist otherwise they changed the room.
I regret if the bathroom was not satisfactory and I took good notice of your reporting. I kindly inform you that the hotel is recently renovated, but the high frequency of people caused some problem. In the next months it is our intention to start a new renovation works, to update our rooms and bathroom.
The important things in a hotel are the cleanliness, good service, rich breakfast, location and, as you wrote, it is possible to find all these qualities in the Albergo Cesàri.
Staff: our multilingual speaking is selected to ensure our Guests’ a quiet stay, cleanness and give good assistance.
Location: the Albergo Cesàri is located in a little street that joints the Pantheon to Trevi fountain, and 10 minutes walking you easily reach Piazza Navona, Via Frattina, Spanish Steps, Via Veneto. In the opposite side, you find the Forum, Colosseum, the Ghetto and the Lungotevere that leaves you at the Vatican City.
Cleanliness: every day our chambermaids clean/tidy the rooms and change the towels.
Roof terrace: all our Guests love our rooftop, so quiet and sunny, where drink cappuccino or tea or what you want in little sips, while arrange your holiday in Rome. Or you can have a cocktail in the evening starting from 6.00pm until midnight and after.
Room size: two type of rooms – standard and classic – that are different each other in size. All our rooms have air-conditioning, a complimentary coffee/tea maker, one bottle of mineral water on arrival and the private bathroom may have the shower and/or bathtub. The second floor is the only one for smoker while the other 3 floors are all non-smoking.
Breakfast: for a good starting of a new day it is very important to have a rich breakfast and we do all our best to give to our special Guest fresh foodstuffs and biological products. In fact our hotel is one of the winner of “Green Hotel 2012”. On request, you can have celiac products.
After all, I invite you to come back so you can try a different. Visit the official website where you surely find a very good “special offer”.
Cordially,
Mrs. Cinzia Farias
Manager
Albergo Cesàri - Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#160 of 1,261 in Rome
1,684 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#111 of 1,261 in Rome
764 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#51 of 1,261 in Rome
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,549 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,261 in Rome
718 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#45 of 1,261 in Rome
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cesari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cesari

Property: Albergo Cesari
Address: Via Di Pietra 89 A | Via di Pietra 89/A, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Rome
#71 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#102 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Cesari 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Fontana di Trevi and the Pantheon. The 48rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a complete range of amenities and facilities. No smoking hotel. Buffet breakfast and trendy bar on the roof garden. Private garage nearby at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Cesari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cesari Hotel Rome
Albergo Cesari Rome
Hotel Cesari Rome
Cesari Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing