We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Ranked #244 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Herning, Danmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Rooms were really nice and big and so was the bathroom. The room was cleaned every day and they did a fabulous job. It was spotless at all times

The breakfast room was a little cramped however the selection was good and tasty. There was plenty of staff to clear the tables so the turnaround was good. The staff could allthough maybe have done a better job making sure that cutlery was available in the trays at all times and that any spilt items were cleared a bit quicker.

The reason for only 4 and not 5 stars were mainly that the wifi only worked the first day we were there. The remaining days it was not working and we could not get an explanation as to why and when it might be working again.

I would however recommend this hotel anytime. It was very very central , only a few minutes walk from Termini and within walking distance of all attractions and loads of restaurants

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andersostergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Andersostergaard,
Many thanks for your comment.
I am really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to see you again,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    774
    253
    80
    56
See reviews for
298
588
82
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days... I found the hotel staff to be helpful and polite.. Breakfast had a good choice even catering for vegetarians and gluten free... The room was spacious,modern and above all clean! One of the best things about this hotel is the road opposite leads to the bus station ( a few minute walk if that) and here you can buy a hop on hop off bus ticket.... These buses stand out because of their colours so you can spot them easily and they run every 15 minutes to all the major attractions...amphitheatre,fountain,Vatican City, Spanish steps etc.... If your a keen walker most of these are all within walkin distance... Esp for the price, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I went back too rome! Keep up the good work!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Kathrooney,
Thank you for the nice comment regarding your stay at our hotel.
I and all the staff have highly appreciated the compliments and the nice words you've spent.
We'd like to assure you that we are going to keep up the good work!
Looking forward to another occasion to welcome you,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandhinagar, India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

5 mins from the main train station and 10-15 mins walk to the major attractions of the city! If you get down at the Fiumicino terminal, you can easily walk with a trolley or wheeled suitcase. Directions are clear and crisp. It has fine dining and cheap eateries very close to the hotel. You can also explore some value for money restaurants near the train terminal.

It is a lovely hotel which keeps hygiene and cleanliness on its priority. Very courteous and helpful staff. All the rooms are equipped with basic modern amenities which are all functional!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShineInfinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear S_Ruchi,
Many thanks for your lovely review.
I am really satisfied to read you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to have soon the pleasure to see you!
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The rooms were nice and location was very good. They had segregated waste bins which show their concern for the environment. Though the hotel itself was nice, the staff were the complete opposite. We noticed that people at the front desk (mostly men during the 3 days we stayed there) were not friendly & accommodating.They didn't really greet or smile at guests. We also noticed that during breakfast, none of the waiters knew how to smile.The only ones who actually greeted and smiled were the room service guys.
The day we had our guided tour, our guide had to leave my brother's bag & tripod at the front desk. When we got back in the evening, my brother asked the receptionist nicely to hand over his bag & tripod which were behind the table. The receptionist gave the bag without any expression on his face but since he forgot to give the tripod, my brother had to ask again. The receptionist made a loud sigh and made a face. I guess it was so hard for him to do. To top that, we called the concierge one afternoon to ask about something and the guy on the phone was so impolite. We've never experienced that kind of rudeness from any of the hotels we've been to.Never. To the point that we had to tell him not to speak to guests that way.
I guess we were not the only ones they were being rude to because while waiting at the lobby, I saw 1 receptionist get irritated while being asked for directions by 2 guests.

We were able to stay in different hotels during our trip to Europe and this was the ONLY hotel that really failed in customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingpisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Kristine R,
Thanks for your review.
I am sorry to read you've experienced rudeness from our staff.
Please accept my personal deep apologies.
I believe politness toward our customers is mandatory and it would help if you contact me directly to provide more details.
Looking forward to hearing from you,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our teenaged boys. Friends warned us of staying near the main train station but we took our chances and it was just fine. It was actually convenient as a central place to catch the buses and train. The room was large enough for us (I double and two singles) and the bathroom was a good size. The only two downers was 1) the internet seemed to be unstable and when I inquired I was brushed aside from the woman at the front desk as if I was a bother and 2) the shower (perhaps it was a room designed for a wheelchair user) was simply a curtain in a corner of the bathroom with no way to contain the water so water went everywhere. With four people showering, it caused quite a mess. The breakfast was ok and designed for the masses, which is what I expected. It is nice to have something for breakfast included in the price of the hotel to at least start the day. We drove and needed to park our car which I thought was pricey at about 50 euro per day at a garage recommended by the hotel. I would have hoped for a better deal on parking. Overall, not knowing what to expect, I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. I can tell it gets a lot of use, but we really just needed a clean place to sleep! Upon arrival and departure the staff was very pleasant and happy to store our luggage for us for a few hours before we retrieved our car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyPleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear SimplyPleased,
Many thanks for having spent some of your time to write a review about your recent stay here.
I am content you overall have enjoyed your holiday.
We are looking forward to another occasion to see you.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights together with my elderly parents, while on holiday.

Location is excellent, just a short walk from the Termini. I took the Leonardo Express from Fiumicino and walked to the hotel with my luggage in tow with nothing but google maps helping me out. Pretty easy.

Overall, the hotel is clean and as expected of a Best Western hotel. Amenities are basic but sufficient. Rooms could be a little bigger but being in Europe, I think this is the average hotel room size. Breakfast can get quite busy but we didn't have a problem getting a table for 4 each morning. The spread of food is the same every day but has everything you need for a hearty breakfast before a full day of walking around historical Rome.

Roberta and Luigi at the front desk are real friendly and we had a few laughs with them. They were very helpful and informative to the questions I had for them. Thank you so much to the both of you for all the transport arrangements and advice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TezzMezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear TezzMezz,
Thanks for your review.
It's been a pleasure having you here and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We are all waiting for the next occasion to see you,
Arrivederci!
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had an enjoyable stay here during the summer.
Hotel is a very short walk to the train station, which is very convenient, and relatively close to the Colosseum. Reception staff were lovely and helpful when we asked for advice, which was quite a lot! We were given a beautiful corner room which was clean, fresh and modern... we were also lucky enough to get our own private balcony too! Breakfast was very enjoyable with plenty of variety and options.
Would definitely love to visit Rome again and would have no issues staying once again at the Best Western Hotel Universo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Rosey191,
Many thanks for your comment and for the compliments.
Hoping to see you soon,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#165 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#103 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,937 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#182 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 5B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#200 Business Hotel in Rome
#265 Family Hotel in Rome
#311 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo is a 4 star hotel just a few steps from Termini Railway Station In a very convenient location offers the possibility of a walk in the heart of ancient Rome: The Colosseum and Imperial Forums, Piazza Venezia e Trevi Fountain. Nearby there are landmarks such as the Teatro dell'Opera, National Roman Museum - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme, Baths of Diocletian and one of the 4th Basilicas of Rome: The Patriarchal Basilica of St. Mary Major. Also just a few minutes walk you can walk along the main shopping streets: Via Nazionale, Via del Corso and Spanish steps. Locarted near Termini Railway Station, easily accessible from Fiumicino and Ciampino airports, and well-located also for those who arrive by car thanks to the Hotel agreements with the nearby car parks. Its strategic position is ideal for organizing both national and international meetings in Rome. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo has 198 rooms in the center of Rome, characterized by a high level of quality and comfort: satellite tv, mini-bar and free Wi-Fi connection and air-conditioning system. Universo Hotel offers you a well equipped Fitness Centre, with sauna, Turkish bath and a space entirely dedicated to relax. Also available a conference centre with 9 rooms capable to host a total of 600 people, all provided with every equipment necessary to organize your perfect meeting in Rome. The restaurant has many personalized menus, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Wi-Fi internet connection is available and totally free of charge in all the areas of the hotel. Rooms and services for disabled guests are available. Close to the Hotel there are also several paying car parks. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo: four Star welcome in the center of Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Universo
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western
Hotel Universo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing