We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Universo is the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Ranked #228 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have been at this hotel for five days. The room is beautiful, spacious! The staff is incredible! From the front desk to the dining experience (full breakfast and extraordinary suppers) I would come back here in a New York minute! The beds are heavenly and the bathroom is out of a better homes and gardens magazine! The entire staff is professional and lovely.

Room Tip: We had a king size bed with a twin along side of it. Plenty of room to spare! A very quiet place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jetone25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Jetone25,
Thank you for having taken some time to write a comment about your recent stay at our hotel.
I was very pleased to meet you and I do hope to see you again very soon!
My best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

From my arrival this hotel was very much to my liking,its staff proffesional,attentive and helpful and its location excellent..The room was large and extreemy comfortable with its television offering two much appreciated English news channels..The bar is very reasonable priced and much less costly than most Roman bars.(Heineken 3 Euro)..The breakfast is very well considered and extensive,many items gluten free,all of lovely quality and freshness..and as a bonus,decent Twinnings tea...All in all dear Isabella, you and your staff are an excellent example of Roman Hospitality..Thank You..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Michael S,
Thank you very much for your kind comment.
On behalf of Isabella and all our staff I'd like to thank you also for the compliments.
We are happy you have enjoyed your stay and the typical roman hospitality.
Hoping to see you again soon, arrivederci!
Warm regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent a week here with a family of three. We liked the location, because it's walking distance from all the major shopping areas and there's lots of restaurants nearby.
Our room was junior suite and it was very clean and spacious enough for us. There's a separate sleeping area upstairs and a small sitting area + newly renovated bathroom downstairs. Not much to see from the window and a small sofa table could've been nice to have. But overall we liked the price-quality-ratio of the room.
Gym was big and very well equipped. Breakfast was ok with selection of mostly pastries and sweet stuff...could've been more healthier choices too.
Staff was attentive and we got all the help we needed, no complains at all.

Overall experience was very good and I can recommend this hotel to family travelers, too.

Room Tip: Junior suite is an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ag78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear ag78,
Thank you very much for you lovely comment.
I've loved to read you enjoyed our hotel and the location.
I hope there will be soon another occasione to serve you.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in May, hotel was great, as we were barely in our room. Only problem!!! Very intimating taxi drivers waiting outside the hotel, made a mistake using him at the beginning of our trip! The driving was extremely erratic and charged double the price, didn't have a meter on..... So beware!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Leigh A,
Thank you for the comment.
I am glad to know the accommodation at our hotel met your expectations.
I am sorry to read you had a bad experience with a taxi driver.
When visiting a city and in need of a taxi ride, it is always recommendable to apply to the reception staff who will call a regular taxi belonging to one of the local companies hence provided with a regular meter.
Hoping to see you again soon,
Best regards.

Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel, and this is probably in the top 5 of worst hotel stays I've had in 25 years of travel. It certainly doesn't meet the Best Western standards I've normally enjoyed in the USA or Europe.

I feel very bad for the staff of this hotel -- because they work hard -- but the hotel is not properly managed.

There are too many things to mention, but here is some of the stuff:

The front desk is chaotic. When I arrived, my room reservation was under someone else's name (which took a lot of hoopla to figure out). Then I was put into a smoking room (when I requested non-smoking -- but after the tiresome front desk experience, I just relented to stay in the room I got...).

No safe in the room -- if you want to lock-up your valuables -- you have to bring them to the front desk. What modern hotel does this now?

The TV is a joke. While I'm not here to watch TV, all modern hotels have reasonable satellite TV access to catch-up on news. I got two stations... CNN and BBC. But they would go away after about 10 minutes of watching, unless you shut off the TV, waited 10 minutes for the satellite connection to re-boot, and then go back on.

"Free breakfast" is also a joke. I came in on time to find dirty tables from yesterday.... and no food (except for stale breads wrapped in plastic wrap from the day before). 20 minutes later they finally roll out fresh food...

STAY AWAY from this hotel is all I can say.

How this hotel retains a "Best Western" label on it, I don't know.

Again, I feel very sorry for the staff. They are clearly working hard -- but the place is mismanaged from top to bottom.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SW t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear SW T,
Thank you for the review.
I've read carefully your comment and I apologize sincerely for having failed in meeting your expectations.
However, please let me reply to your statements in order to clarify and to inform either you and the readers of this blog.
For what concerns the safes in the rooms we are planning to provide each room with its own.
Also regarding the television channels, I understand your discomfort, however I think that particolar tv must have had issues as waiting 10 minutes for the satellite connection to re-boot is not a normal procedure of our television sets.
I wonder if you reported it to the reception staff to let our maintainance team take care of the problem.
Please let me also underline a very important thing such as the fact that we do not absolutely leave dirty tables from the day before in our breakfast room.
That is something that would never be accepted at our hotel.
I can only assume you had breakfast just after a group did, hence that could be the reason why some of the tables were not immediately ready to be accommodated at.
Also that is probably the reason why it took a little time to our employees to supply the buffet to with fresh food.
In any case it takes only few minutes either to clean the tables and to replenish the buffet.
Being a Best Western International hotel requires many mandatory qualifications that must endure in time. Infact Best Western carries on scheduled checks to our property.
Again I apologize for haven't provided the expected experience.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near the train\bus station, but is full of issues. The shower wands are univero-ly leaking, the A/C is non-functional, and only the bartender appears to be interested in the guests. Since this is part of a tour, I did not pick it, but would NOT do so again. The final nail in the sarcophagus is that when our tour left early, they could not be bothered to provide breakfast early.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sablansr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear sablansr8,
Thank you for the review.
I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations, however I have taken notice of your comments, as I always do, in order to improve our services.
Hoping you will like to evaluate the idea to come to stay at our hotel again so to show you our improvements,
I remain yours faithfully.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Hotel rooms kinda small. Bathroom is nice and big. The only positive note about this hotel is that it is situated near termini station wherein hop on hop off bus, public buses, and metro are a few minutes walk. But it's far from all others. Location is very quiet and sometimes scary. Not much choices to eat. Breakfast not bad too. They have free wifi which is a big plus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cute_kaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear cute_kail,
Many thanks for your comment.
Hoping to have soon the occasion to see you,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#167 of 1,269 in Rome
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#97 of 1,269 in Rome
3,111 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Universo

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 5/B, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#200 Business Hotel in Rome
#265 Family Hotel in Rome
#310 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £83 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Universo 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo is a 4 star hotel just a few steps from Termini Railway Station In a very convenient location offers the possibility of a walk in the heart of ancient Rome: The Colosseum and Imperial Forums, Piazza Venezia e Trevi Fountain. Nearby there are landmarks such as the Teatro dell'Opera, National Roman Museum - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme, Baths of Diocletian and one of the 4th Basilicas of Rome: The Patriarchal Basilica of St. Mary Major. Also just a few minutes walk you can walk along the main shopping streets: Via Nazionale, Via del Corso and Spanish steps. Locarted near Termini Railway Station, easily accessible from Fiumicino and Ciampino airports, and well-located also for those who arrive by car thanks to the Hotel agreements with the nearby car parks. Its strategic position is ideal for organizing both national and international meetings in Rome. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo has 198 rooms in the center of Rome, characterized by a high level of quality and comfort: satellite tv, mini-bar and free Wi-Fi connection and air-conditioning system. Universo Hotel offers you a well equipped Fitness Centre, with sauna, Turkish bath and a space entirely dedicated to relax. Also available a conference centre with 9 rooms capable to host a total of 600 people, all provided with every equipment necessary to organize your perfect meeting in Rome. The restaurant has many personalized menus, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Wi-Fi internet connection is available and totally free of charge in all the areas of the hotel. Rooms and services for disabled guests are available. Close to the Hotel there are also several paying car parks. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo: four Star welcome in the center of Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Universo
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western
Hotel Universo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing