We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and room fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Ranked #246 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location and room fantastic”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in June. Room was a great size for Rome. We even had a balcony on the 2nd floor overlooking the street - wonderful for relaxing and people watching. Room and hotel were very clean and had modern amenities. Location was within 20-30 minutes walking distance of major sites like the Pantheon and Coliseum.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyUDEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear sunnyUDEL,
Many thanks for your lovely comment.

We are looking forward to another occasion to welcome you.

Best regards.

Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group – Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    786
    256
    83
    57
See reviews for
304
610
82
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Close and easy to find to the train station and central of everything else, good comfy bed, great range buffet breakfast included in price, (we saved on one meal a day by having lots), fitness room great with good range of clean interchangeable free weights, ace very clean and staff extremely helpful, reasonable value for money

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lind1tob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear lind1tob,
Many thanks for your lovely comment.

We are looking forward to another occasion to welcome you.

Best regards.

Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group – Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
103 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is 5 minutes away from the central Roma termini railway station and that is good.

It is renovated and very clean.
Rooms with a view to the street are very noisy and avoid them. The window can be opened but not fully. You can't enjoy any view.

Bed is really king size and very comfortable. The room is very clean and big and I don't have any complain about it.

The only negative is the reception staff. During nights are lazy and don't bother to stand up from their seat in order to service you. I don't know maybe they have additional tasks too. Also early the morning they don't even say bonjorno. Anyway my stay was pleasant in this hotel.

The breakfast is below average. If it isn't included in the price avoid it.
The hotel is working with tourist groups so you may won't find a seat for breakfast. Enjoy your coffee standing up like Italians do.

Around the hotel are several restaurants just for tourists. If you are not in a hurry and you can walk for half an hour you will find decent ones a little further.

The area around Roma termini the nights after the closure of shops is not the safest in Rome. General precautions are more than necessary.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Veros G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Gagaros,
Many thanks for your lovely comment.

We are looking forward to another occasion to welcome you.

Best regards.

Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group – Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel prior to embarking on a cruise. Our room was clean and modern, and the lovely buffet breakfast each morning was a nice bonus. The staff were very pleasant and helpful in giving us information on local restaurants and getting around. There are many good restaurants in the neighbourhood. As others have mentioned, this hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Termini station, and we were able to easily board a train to take us to Civitavecchia, the cruise ship terminal. I would happily choose this hotel again for another visit to Rome.

Room Tip: We asked for a room in the back of hotel, based on other reviews and were given a quiet room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Lynleigh,
Many thanks for your lovely comment.

We are looking forward to another occasion to welcome you.

Best regards.

Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group – Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great room , with a sort of mezzanine so went up some stairs to the bedroom, with a big sofa downstairs , big bathroom with 2sinks and separate toilet area. . Free WiFi , easy to access plus free PCs in reception. Good location very near Termini station but down a quiet street. Lots of nice restaurants nearby. Only quibble was , in a hotel this size , the lifts were totally inadequate for the number of people. Luckily we were on the 2 nd floor so walked up and down most of the time. Breakfast was okay but not as good as it could have been in a hotel at this price. Also would have liked the big TV to have been near the sofa, as personally we don't like watching TV in bed , and perhaps a smaller one with Internet access near the bed?

Room Tip: Book a superior double room , as not much difference in price and rooms much bigger. Plus ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Susanna V,
Many thanks for your lovely comment.

We are looking forward to another occasion to welcome you.

Best regards.

Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group – Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our room in this hotel was clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is great, a minute walk from the Termini and about 10 minutes walk from attractions like the colosseum. The staff were helpful and the breakfast included had a fair amount to offer. Considering all this and the fact it wasn't overly expensive for two nights, I'd choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToniMin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear ToniMin,
Many thanks for your lovely comment.

We are looking forward to another occasion to welcome you.

Best regards.

Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group – Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well, we were back to Rome after a 7 day cruise, and it was 11:00 am. When I walked into the lobby, I was joking with my DW that the hotel lobby had not been renovated in the last 50 years. The front desk girl told us that we couldn't check in until 2 pm. Too bad, we had reserved a tour to Vatican at 1:30 pm, I told her. Then she replied that room "may be" available at 1:00 pm. OK. I was too exhausted and just seated in the lobby. Fortunately, after 10 minutes, the girl came to me, and told me that a room was available immediately. Very good! We got into the room and took a refreshing shower. Contruary to the lobby, the room appeared to be modern, well equipped and friendly. The hotel's WIFI was reasonably fast. Overall, the experience with this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudson066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear hudson066,
Many thanks for your lovely comment.

We are looking forward to another occasion to welcome you.

Best regards.

Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group – Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#168 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#105 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,970 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#178 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Universo

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 5/B, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#200 Business Hotel in Rome
#265 Family Hotel in Rome
#311 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Universo 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo is a 4 star hotel just a few steps from Termini Railway Station In a very convenient location offers the possibility of a walk in the heart of ancient Rome: The Colosseum and Imperial Forums, Piazza Venezia e Trevi Fountain. Nearby there are landmarks such as the Teatro dell'Opera, National Roman Museum - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme, Baths of Diocletian and one of the 4th Basilicas of Rome: The Patriarchal Basilica of St. Mary Major. Also just a few minutes walk you can walk along the main shopping streets: Via Nazionale, Via del Corso and Spanish steps. Locarted near Termini Railway Station, easily accessible from Fiumicino and Ciampino airports, and well-located also for those who arrive by car thanks to the Hotel agreements with the nearby car parks. Its strategic position is ideal for organizing both national and international meetings in Rome. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo has 198 rooms in the center of Rome, characterized by a high level of quality and comfort: satellite tv, mini-bar and free Wi-Fi connection and air-conditioning system. Universo Hotel offers you a well equipped Fitness Centre, with sauna, Turkish bath and a space entirely dedicated to relax. Also available a conference centre with 9 rooms capable to host a total of 600 people, all provided with every equipment necessary to organize your perfect meeting in Rome. The restaurant has many personalized menus, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Wi-Fi internet connection is available and totally free of charge in all the areas of the hotel. Rooms and services for disabled guests are available. Close to the Hotel there are also several paying car parks. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo: four Star welcome in the center of Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Universo
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western
Hotel Universo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing