We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, standard service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Ranked #239 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, standard service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed a weekend in double room with my wife. Hotel is situated in wide city centre with good access to public transport, many restaurants around and near historic points of interest. Friendly and helpful staff but breakfast only on average level. I can recommend this hotel better for short stays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiriKotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear JiriKotik,
Many thanks for your review.
I have appreciated your comments about breakfast to be improved, however I'd like to know exactly what you'd change or introduce in our offer.
I would be pleased to hear directly your suggestions, hence, if you like, feel free to contact me anytime.
Looking forward to welcome you again,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    832
    267
    90
    59
See reviews for
339
648
87
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July and found the hotel to be a good 4*.

Pros: lovely modern room, with big bathrooms, we were lucky to have a massive balcony too! All the staff are nice and can speak really good english. The whole hotel was really nice and clean, the maids also always did a really good job. The location couldn't have been better; right near termini station so great transport to the whole city for a really fair price. Finally, an air con that actually works!!!!

The breakfast was OK, had there been a few more items suitable for vegetarians, but the coffee was really nice!

Cons: The lifts take absolutely ages, especially as we were on the 7th floor, sometimes it seemed as though they didn't work at all. This was annoying if you were in a rush to go out for whatever reason.

Overall a very good 4* hotel, definitely worth the price. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Some 7th floor rooms have huge balconies overlooking the city, amazing sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbey202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Abbey202,
Thank you for your kind comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I've enjoyed your opinions and suggestions that will be taken in consideration.
Your opinion is important to us!
For what regards breakfast, available is the vegetarian and gluten-free special menù composed by many items.
I believe that for some reason it wasn't placed on your table where it was supposed to be. I apologize for the inconvience.
Wishing to have the occasion to see you again soon,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Upon arrival in Rome, after a 14 hour flight, we were told there was no room for us. The hotel encountered a problem and would move us. In their dense,the staff person was very sweet and went out of her way to make the transition easy. She ordered us a taxi and the next hotel knew we were arriving, they even sent a taxi to bring us back the next morning as we had an early train to catch. The down side, the new hotel, while clean and comfortable, was on the outskirts of the downtown. Nowhere near where we wanted to be. It was frustrating and disappointing but they did their best. The hotel is located a short walk from the train station on a very busy crowded street.The lobby looked cramped, bustling, but clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameraOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear CameraOn,
Thanks for your kind comment.
I am sorry and I apologize once more for the discomfort you have suffered.
However, when these unpleasant and rare situations occure, we normally move our customers to one of our sister hotel which has the same rating and is located in the centre of Rome.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our employee at the reception was sweet and helpful.
We did our best, as you kindly stated in your review, and I'd like to thank you very much for the understanding that the problem was due to a situation going beyond our direct control.
I would like to assure you that we are going to put our best effort in order to avoid that such situations will occure again in the future.
It'd be a pleasure to see you again, upon that occasion we'll not miss to express you our gratitude and maximum attention.
Kindest regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked for 3 nights July 2014. Chose this hotel because of close proximity to Termini station and not far from major sites.
Universo is super easy to find, just 5 mins from the train station so not far to pull luggage. Lovely air conditioned building with a beautiful marbled lobby. The front desk staff are multi lingual and very welcoming and helpful. A member of staff took our luggage and showed us to our room.
We specifically asked for a double - it wasn't until we got into bed on the first night we realised it was 2 singles pushed together and made up as a double. A polite word at the desk the next morning and we were moved with an apology and without hesitation.
The rooms are nicely furnished and perfectly big enough with spacious bathrooms. (I'm sure it's just obese guests who moan about rooms being too small!!) You have a fridge you can take the drinks out of and put your own it which is useful. Ask at the bar and they'll give you a kettle and drink making facilities without extra charge if you require them.

The double glazing cuts outside noise and the air con works a treat in hot rooms. Our 1st room at the front of the hotel was noisier with street sounds, though not bad. Our 2nd room at the back of the hotel, while it had no view was super quiet. As with all hotels, other guests seem to have little sense of respect for others, talking at the top of their voices and walking like a herd of elephants when returning late at night. It tends to go quiet after midnight.

The free WiFi works fine in your room, just sign in with your email address.
BBC world news and CNN are the 2 English language channels available on your TV.

Breakfast starts lovely and early if you want to make the most of a full day (6am - 10.30am) There's plenty of choice, though watching some peoples table habits is enough to put you off your food!! Wandering around eating while walking and piling up food like there's going to be rationing!

The lifts are a wee bit small and quite slow, but considering it's an old building they've added modern facilities to they do the job. If you're young and fit don't be lazy, use the stairs, leave the lifts for the elderly, the infirm and people with luggage.

Remember as this is a 4 star hotel you're liable for City Tax at the end of your stay. €3 per person per night, payable in cash. One American lady was going crazy about this when we checked out! Surely it's something any seasoned traveller knows about? Do your homework.

We checked out at 11am but were able to leave our cases securely at the hotel until we needed them later in the afternoon.

This is a lovely hotel and the staff have to deal with some shocking behaviour from some very rude and self serving guests, whose holiday doesn't seem complete without grumbling about something. Try being patient, polite and smiling. Attempt a few words in Italian and enjoy your stay. After all they're taking the strain for you for a few days while you kick back and holiday.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter. Empty the drinks they provide out of the fridge and cool your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Constante,
Thank you for the beautiful comment!
I really appreciated your concern about our work and I enjoyed reading the descriptions you make on some of our customers' attitude.
We like to put all our care and attention to attend our guests needs and requests.
Clients like you make our work even more worthwhile!
Please think about us while planning your next visit to Rome, we'd love to see you again.
Arrivederci!
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in July 2014 and were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were small but the bed was comfortable, the air conditioner worked great, the bathroom was modern, clean, free wifi and the breakfast was good with lots of choices and the staff was friendly and helpful. I could hear the elevator and people talking nearby so I would recommend getting a room away from the elevator. The hotel was in walking distance to many attractions such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. There were several good restaurants within walking distance and great gelato next door!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0509Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear 0509Karen,
Thank you for the nice comment.
I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay.
Next time you come over to visit us please advise for a quiet room and it will be our care to assign you an accommodation away from the elevator.
Kindest regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stay two nights with my family. Greeted by a very polite staff, Anna. Though it's rather busy at the check in counter, she politely explain the situation and assist us on our request in getting two rooms next to each other. It's a true four star hotel here. Short walk to the train station. Restaurants just outside along the avenue. Will stay here again on our next trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralChengHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear AdmiralCh,
Many thanks for your lovely comment.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that our employee Anna assisted you with kindness and professionality.
We love pampering our customers!
We all hope there will be soon another occasion to have the pleasure to see you.
Arrivederci!
Kindest regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Best Western Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights with a large group as a part of a family reunion.

Frankly, with the Best Western flag, I was expecting this hotel to be pretty bad. However, it was exponentially better than any Best Western I've stayed in the US.

The rooms are modern, the bathrooms are also modern and very clean, and there is, what I would call after staying in many hotels in Italy, an excellent breakfast offering where the eggs are not styrofoam and the pastries are not stale.

The location is especially convenient if you're arriving by train. Just 2 blocks from Termini on easy sidewalks to roll your luggage. It's also pretty centrally located to the rest of the main attractions. We walked to Borghese Gallery, Piazza Navonna, and the ancient part of the city without any issue. And the Metro stop to get you to the Vatican and Spanish steps is nearby.

Is this a 5-star hotel? Nope. But it's a nice place to lay your head after a long day of touring.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehomburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Ehomburge,
Many thanks for your lovely comment.
Your opinion is very important to us!

We are looking forward to another occasion to welcome you.

Best regards.

Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group – Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#168 of 1,261 in Rome
2,195 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Universo

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 5/B, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#136 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#200 Business Hotel in Rome
#265 Family Hotel in Rome
#311 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Universo 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo is a 4 star hotel just a few steps from Termini Railway Station In a very convenient location offers the possibility of a walk in the heart of ancient Rome: The Colosseum and Imperial Forums, Piazza Venezia e Trevi Fountain. Nearby there are landmarks such as the Teatro dell'Opera, National Roman Museum - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme, Baths of Diocletian and one of the 4th Basilicas of Rome: The Patriarchal Basilica of St. Mary Major. Also just a few minutes walk you can walk along the main shopping streets: Via Nazionale, Via del Corso and Spanish steps. Locarted near Termini Railway Station, easily accessible from Fiumicino and Ciampino airports, and well-located also for those who arrive by car thanks to the Hotel agreements with the nearby car parks. Its strategic position is ideal for organizing both national and international meetings in Rome. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo has 198 rooms in the center of Rome, characterized by a high level of quality and comfort: satellite tv, mini-bar and free Wi-Fi connection and air-conditioning system. Universo Hotel offers you a well equipped Fitness Centre, with sauna, Turkish bath and a space entirely dedicated to relax. Also available a conference centre with 9 rooms capable to host a total of 600 people, all provided with every equipment necessary to organize your perfect meeting in Rome. The restaurant has many personalized menus, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Wi-Fi internet connection is available and totally free of charge in all the areas of the hotel. Rooms and services for disabled guests are available. Close to the Hotel there are also several paying car parks. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo: four Star welcome in the center of Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Universo
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western
Hotel Universo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing