We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE - DISGRACEFUL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Ranked #252 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE - DISGRACEFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

After having read some previous reviews of this hotel we should have known better. We had chosen to stay here for 1 night as it was close to the train terminal and my partner and I were to leave early the next morning to continue our holiday.

We had emailed the hotel earlier in the day that we were checking in to confirm the booking, and also to have them book a local restaurant for us which they did. Upon arrival to the hotel we were informed that our room was no longer available as the air-conditioning was not working in 10 rooms of the hotel and that we were to be moved to one of their sister hotels about 15 minutes walk away (it was more like 35minutes walk). When we questioned the front desk clerk about this and told her it did not worry us about the air-conditioning her story changed to 'the water is not running in these rooms'. A blatant lie.

Feeling that we had no other choice and given that our travel agent was asleep due to the time difference we reluctantly accepted, only for the party of 2 who were behind us and staying for over a week to be given their key and taken up to their room.

I have read this in reviews if this hotel previously. The hotel waits for guests to arrive, lies about the room availability and ships them off to rooms in their sister hotels that are run down / of lesser value and in worse locations so that they may accept walk-ins and take other bookings, in essence, making money of travellers who are given on other choice. This is a despicable act and something that we will be taking further with a call to consumer affairs.

To make matters worse, we were then charged a hotel duty tax at the sister hotel that we were forced to stay in even though we stayed their against our will! We accept hotel taxes are payed all throughout Europe, but not for a second rate hotel that was not our choice to stay in. The hotels are outdated and the carpets and bathrooms are filthy (human hair on floors and in beds, stained sheets etc). I wouldn't let me pets stay in this hole.

Do yourself a favour and do not stay in ANY of the Best Western hotels ANYWHERE. From research this act is a common practice among most if not all of their hotels. Disgusting and unacceptable.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KMLM_SYDNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear KMLM_SYDN,
Thank you for your comment.
I am sorry and please accept mine and all the staff's apology for the discomfort you have suffered upon moving to one of our sisters hotel due to a sudden problem we could not solve in due time, unfortunately.
However, to my advice, it is very important to underline that our sisters hotel are not less rated.
Our hotel chain is composed by 5 hotels all rated 4 star.
Four are located in the centre of Rome and one in Casalpalocco which, in cases like these, we, of course, never propose.
All the hotels are equipped with the same comforts and amenities.
This can be easily checked out by visiting our Roscioli Hotels Group website where all the information about rating and locations are indicated.
For what concerns the tax you have been asked to pay upon departure, it necessary to clear our that you are referring to the City tax.
The City tax is a fee imposed by the Town Hall which has to be paid by all tourists that visit the city and must be charged by every hotel to each customer upon departure.
Also important is to know that the City tax is totally due to the City Council (Comune di Roma) and does not reprensent a payment for any of the hotels services.
The information about the above fee are available on every website where our guests reserve their accommodations, hence informing them beforehand.
I'd like to apologize once more, hoping in your understanding that we did not absolutely wished to cause you any distress.
I hope you'll be willing to revaluate your opinion about us and give us the chance to show you our best effort in serving our customers.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    755
    252
    79
    55
See reviews for
292
575
81
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Universo is a 5 minute walk from the bus/metro terminal, and is thus very convenient to stay at. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, although we did not get the 2 king size beds we were promised. They offered to let us switch rooms but in the end it was alright. The room was very modern, with an absolutely MASSIVE bathroom and numerous outlets for the whole family to charge electronics. The beds were comfortable. We were near the courtyard, so there were no noise concerns either. The wifi was spotty, and the smell of smoke was in the building as not all rooms are non smoking. The moment you exit the hotel you find yourself eing offered water bottles and scarves by street peddlers, which I think isn't even the hotel's fault. Those are my only complaints. Breakfast was awesome. It included a huge selection of food, from regional specialties to the normal fare. The hotel is within walking distance of numerous tasty Italian eateries. I would certainly recommend Hotel Universo to anybody staying in Rome!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Andrew F,
Thanks for having spent some of your time to write a comment about your recent stay at our hotel.
Thank you also for recommending our hotel.
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope you'll come to visit us soon.
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't really fault this place. Stayed for two nights and on numerous times I had to ask the reception for help on booking tours and transfers and their English was very good and they were very helpful and polite. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkpurser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tkpurser,
Thank you for the lovely comment.
Looking forward to welcome you once more.
Kindest regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I should start by saying that the train station is not my preferred neighborhood to stay in- I would recommend that any first-time tourists stay near the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, and any return visitors stay in Trastevere. That said, the Universo is a good solid option near the station. Don't let the odd, slightly dated giant marble lobby suggest otherwise- the rooms are comfortable and ultramodern, with the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. I visited in summer, and in these rooms it's possible to crank up the air conditioning, draw the curtains and completely block out the outside world. My room faced the street but I never experienced any noise. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MegaraMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear MegaraMcT,
Many thanks for your lovely comment.
I enjoyed the suggestions you've given to the readers of this blog: very useful indeed!
Besides I'd like to thank you for the compliments paid to our hotel and staff.
I am very pleased we've able to offer you the experience you expected.
We look forward to see you again soon,
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel Universo looks somewhat worn from the outside however this seems to be a trend throughout Rome; once inside you're greeted with a strikingly elegant reception complimented by polite, helpful staff who ensured checking in and out was simple and completed promptly.

The bedrooms were modernly decorated, and was consistently cleaned to a high standard. The quality of sleep was perfect, perhaps the bed was too comfortable considering early mornings are required to see Rome entirely! The same quality is achieved in the bathroom, with a good quality shower and daily replenished towels, shampoos etc. I was also fortunate enough to be on the top floor, which had a balcony which was great for seeing Rome by night. The only niggle about the room was a kettle was not provided as standard, but this was available by request, though the tea/coffee was not restocked as well as the bathroom was.

Location was perfect as we found the best way to travel were the 'Hop on. Hop off' buses, which picked up only minutes away. Termini station was equally as close, which is where many people would be transferred to from the airport. (The 4 euro coaches are cheap and quick!)

Breakfast was what you'd expect generally; pastries, coffee, juice, cereal, and a small selection of heated foods, such as eggs. Again, very difficult to complain about.

Overall, a great choice of hotel for visiting an incredible city.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 7th floor, the balcony was a great addition to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Andrew_Co,
Thank you very very much for your beautiful and detail review and for the compliments paid to our rooms and staff.
Great to hear you had a nice time and enjoyed our beautiful city also thanks to the central location of our hotel.
Confident to meet you again soon,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a family of 4.5 and needed some space. We ended up having to get 2 rooms due to fire codes, but rooms were a bit bigger and offered us the space we needed. One was a loft style, with sleeping quarters upstairs and a modest living space/bathroom downstairs. The other was just a standard room with a queen and twin. We also wanted something close to public transportation, sites and restaurants. This was pretty affordable, near the train station, and walking distance to the Metro stops. It offered a wonderful Euro-style breakfast that more than tied us over for lunch. The staff was very nice and professional, and very accommodating with a kid. There are convenience stores and some touristy type souvenir shops (some sell postage stamps and more importantly, wine) on the same road if you need to find trinkets and treats, and a gelato shop on the corner. It's walking distance (~15 mins) from the Piazza di Trevi and other sites. The furthest out we ventured was to the Vatican, which was about a 35 minute Metro ride. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Terence C,
Thank you very very much for your nice comment.
I am content the accommodations offered to you and family were comfortable and had all the space needed.
Thanks also for the compliments paid to our staff.
They work hard every day to make our customers' vacations serene and enjoyable
I am confident we are going to have the pleasure to meet you all very soon.
Arrivederci!
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for a 4 night break, special birthday treat, upgraded but the room was not what I thought, it was on 2 floors but the website said siting area with sofa, no sofa just desk and chair and tv in upstairs bedroom, facing the street. The staff were not helpful and said this was what the upgrade was for an extra 80 euros, and as the hotel was full they could not move us to another room till the next day. We moved to a normal twin room but it looked on to other rooms with views of other windows and walls. The room was very small with no storage and very little wardrobe and drawer space. The breakfast in the morning was average with not much choice. The location was very good with the bus station a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: Front rooms are noisy to the street, corner rooms look into each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank referee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear referee17,
Thank you for the comment concerning your recent stay at our hotel.
Please accept our excuses for not having met your expectations.
I believe that on the first night you were accommodate in one of our Junior suites.
I am really surprised you disliked the room being a superior accommodation at our hotel.
I am also sorry you were unsatisfied about the room you took the second day.
I hope you will be willing to give us another chance to welcome you, we'd really like to prove you our best efforts in taking care of our customers requests and needs.
Best Regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel Universo
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#161 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Artdeco
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#103 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#334 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 5B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#200 Business Hotel in Rome
#265 Family Hotel in Rome
#311 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo is a 4 star hotel just a few steps from Termini Railway Station In a very convenient location offers the possibility of a walk in the heart of ancient Rome: The Colosseum and Imperial Forums, Piazza Venezia e Trevi Fountain. Nearby there are landmarks such as the Teatro dell'Opera, National Roman Museum - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme, Baths of Diocletian and one of the 4th Basilicas of Rome: The Patriarchal Basilica of St. Mary Major. Also just a few minutes walk you can walk along the main shopping streets: Via Nazionale, Via del Corso and Spanish steps. Locarted near Termini Railway Station, easily accessible from Fiumicino and Ciampino airports, and well-located also for those who arrive by car thanks to the Hotel agreements with the nearby car parks. Its strategic position is ideal for organizing both national and international meetings in Rome. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo has 198 rooms in the center of Rome, characterized by a high level of quality and comfort: satellite tv, mini-bar and free Wi-Fi connection and air-conditioning system. Universo Hotel offers you a well equipped Fitness Centre, with sauna, Turkish bath and a space entirely dedicated to relax. Also available a conference centre with 9 rooms capable to host a total of 600 people, all provided with every equipment necessary to organize your perfect meeting in Rome. The restaurant has many personalized menus, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Wi-Fi internet connection is available and totally free of charge in all the areas of the hotel. Rooms and services for disabled guests are available. Close to the Hotel there are also several paying car parks. BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo: four Star welcome in the center of Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Universo
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western
Hotel Universo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing