We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel for city break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
Ranked #236 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel for city break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We enjoyed a lot our staying at this hotel for our 3 nights Rome city break.
Very good breakfast buffet with a very large choice of food and beverages.
The hotel position is very convenient, having in mind the goal of Rome visit, being located at two metro stops away of Termini hub.
Very nice and well equipped rooms.
One small minus - the heating system doesn't work as we expect. Basically even though we set the temperature at a higher level (say 24 - 25 degree C), it doesn't meet our setting, I don't know for what reason.
All in one - a good option for Rome accommodation.

Room Tip: rooms located within elevator area should be avoided because of people traffic and noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emil_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Emil_ro,
Many thanks for your comment.
It's been a pleasure having you here and we do hope there will be soon another occasion to welcome you.
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    676
    231
    52
    40
See reviews for
330
558
64
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed here February 17th to 21st - basically a building site - work in and around reception and bar was disruptive and disappointing and no attempt at apologies or explanation - just a shrug from the staff !
Breakfast was a cattle market if you wanted an early start - with multiple school trips from America and Japan ( apparently a norm for this Hotel) a quiet start to the day was out of the question. References in previous reports about a good fried breakfast amaze me - fatty streaky bacon, tinned party cocktail hotdog sausages and scrambled egg was the only cooked food available. Otherwise a bog standard continental breakfast
No tea or coffee making facilities in room until we asked for them - be aware of this.
One of the two lifts was out of service and in a hotel this size with a lift that won't hold more than 5 persons that is a problem.
Room had no air conditioning and centrally controlled heating system that meant that as we had wonderful February temperatures it was impossible to sleep without the window open and it was very noisy so close to a traffic junction, police whistles and sirens - at Night 1 it was a nice ambiance and on Night 4 we were close to homicidal and hadn't had a good sleep.
Be very careful at this hotel - dinner and bar meals mediocre at the very best - there are hotels nearer to the main sights that would be better I assure you
This hotel could be better with focused organisation, less school kids, and more customer care. Best Western should be embarrassed to have their name attributed to this Hotel - Fawlty Towers would be a better investment!
Oh the rooms were clean and the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJB269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear PJB269,
Thank you for the comment about your recent stay at our hotel.
I am pleased to read you have appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms and the coziness of our beds.
I'd like to take this opportunity to apologize to you and to all our customers about the works in progress going on in our lobby area that I understand can be fastidious.
Renovation was necessary and, also in this occasion, we have asked our clients suggestions and opinions about what could be done to offer a new and more comfortable area.
For what concerns our type of clientele, I would like to remind you that we are a family hotel, infact we have joined Best Western kids programme, and we are proud to be able to accommodate also young people.
Referring to your comment about breakfast items I would like to underline that we offer more than 60 fresh items to satisfy all tastes.
Also, if desidered, our staff is available to prepare customized eggs, toasts, coffee, tea, cappuccino and much more.
Either on our website and on our brochures it is specified that coffee and tea making facilities are available on request, as a matter of fact I am pleased to read that, upon asking, you've been provided with it.
I apologize for the temporary problem with one of our elevators which has been promptly fixed; unfortunately these are situations than can occur and cannot be charged upon our responsibility.
I do hope you will give us another chance coming to see us when the renovation will be complete, we'd love to show you the care and attention we reserve to each one of our guests.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel in February 2014.situated slightly in the suburbs ,but Rome being fairly compact it is easy to get anywhere on foot or by metro ,bus or taxi.
The rooms are on the small size but clean with superbly comfortable beds .clean modern bathrooms and adequate T.V and internet .
The reception area was undergoing refurbishment so no bar to speak of but I am sure when the builders are finished it will be a good meeting place .
Breakfast was good but dinner not terribly memorable .overall the hotel was very satisfactory

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darkconstellation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear darkconst,
Thanks for your comment.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.
However it is very important that you allow me to underline that our hotel is in the heart of Rome and not in the suburbs, not even slightly!
We are located between the Colosseum (10 minutes by feet) and the Basilica di San Giovanni.
Thanking you again for your feedback, we look forward to another occasion to welcome you at the Best Western Hotel President!
Best Regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

In a short visit to Rome for New Years Eve, this hotel is really a relief when it comes to short vacation. Clean, cozy, with great service, great food, full breakfast and a peaceful atmosphere.
The employees treated me with care and always my room was so clean when we arrived tired after walking the beautiful streets of Rome, always with a great selection of teas just when I needed and it's walking distance from the train station. If you go in winter in these countries don't have air conditioning, but will have no problem with the cool breeze of winter. This is one of the best hotels I've visited when I've traveled.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SanJuanIcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear SanJuanIcs,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
It is flattering to read we have been able to offer you one of the best service you ever had while travelling!
We do hope there will be soon another occasion to have the pleasure to see you.
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Hotel President
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We found this hotel looking for a place to park my car, around the Coliseum is impossible park a car, this is one of the hotels offering a parking ( pay extra 50 euros for two days.).
General is ok rooms are clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank papuToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Situated in a residential area of the city the Hotel President is in a good location for exploring Rome with Metro and tram stops close to the hotel.

We booked with Jet 2 Holidays and used Rome Cabs for the airport transfers.

The check in at the hotel was friendly, efficient and very professional, check out was equally professional.

Arriving early we fully expected to be kept waiting for our room, the receptionist (apologies I do not have his name) had us in our rooms in no time at all.

We had e-mailed the hotel before our arrival with a couple if specific requests, each of these were in place, always very impressed with that kind of service.

Well appointed rooms, clean and everything worked.

Breakfast was buffet style with a wide range of cold and hot items.

Each and every member of staff we met was courteous and helpful with advice on what to see during our short stay.

If you are looking for a light meal of pizza try Aisha Pizzeria or Il Veliero at the side of the President.

We would recommend this hotel and we would go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Noel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulacan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The room had comfortable beds and free wifi. The bathroom was clean and had a bidet. The breakfast is okay although choices were not as plenty as that of Asian hotels that I'm used to. You only get cold cuts, bacon, eggs, breads and cereals. It's not 5 star level but neither is its price. It's deserving to be rated as a 4 star hotel.

It's walking distance from the train station, san giovanni church and a department store. It's also a short car/bus ride to the colosseum, roman forum (basically that valley where the old city centre of rome was). Overall, I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wasabi416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel President

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel President
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 173, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#176 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#194 Business Hotel in Rome
#241 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President: a 4-star hotel in the historic center of Rome A synonymous of class, luxury and functionality, the 4 star BEST WESTERN Hotel President with 198 rooms is the ideal choice for your stay in Rome, located next to Manzoni subway station and it represents a perfect base to explore mythical archaeological sites such as the Coliseum, the spectacular Domus Aurea, and the Basilica of St. John Lateran. The area also offers excellent shopping opportunities and good public transport links. A few metres from the hotel, here is the Metro A subway line and several public transportations Recently renovated rooms offer every kind of comfort to our guests: telephone with direct line, TV LCD 32", electronic safe deposit box, fire prevention system, minibar and free Wi-Fi connection BEST WESTERN President Hotel's services included family rooms and is free from any architectural barrier. The restaurant and lounge bar serve classic ltalian cuisine and Roman specialties, with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Free Wi-Fi internet connection available in all the hotel The hotel has an adjacent convenient paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing