We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Ranked #239 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My partner and I booked this hotel for a rugby trip we were on and whilst the location near to the main train station, Termini, was brilliant, little else was impressive!

The minimum standard most travellers expect is a tea making tray and we had to ask reception on three different occasions between the evening of our arrival and the next morning to then be told that there were none left. When we did eventually get one, the kettle had no lid which was extremely
unprofessional plus it took a long time for the water to heat up.

Breakfast on all three mornings was awful, no one greeted us when we walked in, on the first morning it was quite quiet yet most tables were dirty. For a four star hotel who does not offer a cooked breakfast, the continental choice was very small and the quality of the food was below average.

The hotel is advertised as an international hotel yet when we asked for tea, I saw some guests had milk, we didn't get asked and only fruit tea was bought out. It is not uncommon for other European guests to enjoy English tea but if only fruit tea was bought out, why weren't we asked what we wanted and it showed little interest in giving a good service?

I also noticed that half an hour before breakfast service finished, most
food was not topped up and I saw some disappointed guests who really had no choice of what to eat and staff too busy tidying up to say hello and check everything was ok.

With regards to the bathroom, we were disgusted that when we switched on the jacuzzi bath, lots of old soap and hair from the last guests to use it came out into the bath.

Overall not an enjoyable stay plus the response we received to my complaint was not particularly sincere or reassuring.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank x1x1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dario d, Direttore vendite at Best Western Hotel Artdeco, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Sir,
following to your review we are extremely sorry to hear that the apologies written in reply to your first mail has not been satisfactory. We understand we have failed in part but we need to point out that the breakfast is not continental but a buffet breakfast with also scrambled eggs and bacon freshly cooked every morning .
Regarding the other points you have risen the management has hold a staff meeting and proper action was taken.
Best regards

Emanuele Faini
Sales & Management
Hotel Artdeco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Artdeco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you liked the Grand Budapest hotel film you will love this hotel !
Nice hotel in Art Deco style, close to the train station, 10 minute walk, in a nice quiet area with some interesting restaurants.
The best way to see Rome is on foot and you can walk to all the main tourist sites from here.
The Vatican is a bit of a walk but through the old part of town so time to stop for a wine or beer on the way.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

arrived and the room expected was not available. staff gave upgraded room without surcharge. would advise to ask for room with a/c ahead of booking if traveling in warm months as we were told only a few selected rooms have a/c. stayed room 502. great room-cross breezes,windows, nice decor and jacuzzi. breakfast was very high level for a hotel at this price range. super small elevators, but workable.

Room Tip: 502 was a fine room. be sure to ask for a room not facing the xxx parlor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smatjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I are native of Rome and decided to go to Rome for my 75th birthday. The hotel is small but lovely. Staff is friendly and helpful. The Hotel is super clean and the breakfast is fabulous and available until 1030. Neighborhood is ok (lots of consulate and embassies). From the hotel is reasonably easy to reach most important sites on foot, public transportation or taxies. Would strongly recommend
Piero Melchiorri, Stamford CT

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PieroM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked a last minute long weekend, and although the hotel wasn't as central as we might have hoped, we were very happy. When we booked we paid extra for a king size bed, the room we were given had twin beds. But we loved it so much we didn't complain, it was so big and airy, with French doors and had a shabby chic feel to it. The bathroom was big too, and had a bath with a shower over it. The breakfast was fab, not a lot of cooked choice, but what there was, was very tasty. The staff were very friendly and approachable. The only down side, was the hot water was never very hot, for a bath, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 428, it seemed to be right at the top, it was very big
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppw16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 4 nights here celebrating our wedding anniversary. We had a three bed room which was quite a decent size with good sized bathroom. Overall this is a great, well located hotel. You can walk to most parts of the city yet the area is quiet at night. The staff were all friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was very good too - they had soya milk which is a plus (although it wasn't always out so would need to ask for it) and the eggs were the most amazing deep orange colour. Would certainly stay here again. Only complaint would be the water pressure in the bathroom was quite weak and the water was never really 'hot' which should be fundamental for any hotel. Other than that all good.

1  Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nice rooms, clean and well appointed. All the small things matter, good location that's very close to Termini station decent restaurants and not too far to shopping and sightseeing. The Termini Metro station is pretty close. The breakfast was nice, service was spot on and the food was good quality. Good value in a central location and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Artdeco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Artdeco

Address: Via Palestro 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#134 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#226 Business Hotel in Rome
#260 Family Hotel in Rome
#308 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £65 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Artdeco 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hotel Artdeco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Artdeco
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing