We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Roma
Ranked #103 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2008

This was the second stop on our honeymoon, we wanted luxury and that's what we got. The staff were really friendly and helpful (although the same can be said for everyone we encountered in Italy) and stepping into the air conditioned, quiet, ornate hotel was just what we had hoped for.
Everything you'd expect from a 5 star hotel, lovely big room, huge bathroom, select mini bar etc. The only complaint with the room was that the shower took an age to run any hot water and the drainage wasn't very good. So by the time the shower was hot you were standing in water up to your ankles, this fault was a surpise as everything else at the hotel was perfect.
The breakfasts on the terrace were lovely, warm pastries and tea/coffee served to the table as well as a very plentiful buffet and special items menu.
The location is great on Via Veneto, not too far from anything but quiet enough to make a change from the bustling streets not so far away.
All in all I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gleavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2008

Arrived here on a hot July day and were initially disappointed as the hotel is relatively unassuming, albeit on a decent street (Via veneto) and at the best end of that street ie closest to all the major sights (except for the Borghese gardens). Booked this hotel through leading hotels of the world and thought was one but discovered it is a Small Luxury Hotel instead. Have to say that we were also stressed by the transfer we had prebooked from the hotel being a complete fiasco as we had specified a vehicle big enough for 4 with 6 suitcases and had asked for a mercedes van. A car arrived which meant we had to split and take a cab as well. However the hotel did apologise profusely and these things do happen..

We are a family of 4 and were pleased to get 2 rooms which genuinely interconnected with one door to the corridor and then a small entrance hall leading into the 2 rooms. Decor was slightly odd, sort of modern look but not stark. Our room had a small Juliet balcony overlooking a cafe below ie no view to speak of. We were on first floor and there is traffic noise. A higher floor would be desirable.

Breakfast is served at a very attractive roof terrace and the continental breakfast which was included was very decent (pastries, good capuccino etc).

Concierge was very user friendly and gave 2 good restaurant recommendations.

The hotel has no pool and, with kids, we would have chosen a hotel with a pool for a summer visit ie to cool down after sight seeing.

Overall, a mixed visit. I felt that the hotel is in need of investment and may not warrant inclusion in SLH grouping.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank byrneJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

my wife and i have just returned from 4 nights at the majestic and we cant stop singing its praises. on arrival we were met by a porter in top hat and tails and our bags taken to reception where we were told we were being upgraded as it was our 25 wedding anniversary. the room was beutifully appointed and even had a bottle of complimentary champagne. the hotel is situated within walking distance of all the major attractions. having read on this website from some people about small rooms and traffic noise we were slightly concerned but we were very satisfied with our lot. small touches like the bed being turned down and linen mats and slippers beig placed beside your bed ,cards telling you what the weather forecast for the next day all made for the special feeling you get from being in a 5 star hotel. if anyone going to rome reads this do yourself a favour and book this hotel. 5 star comfort all the way

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfc4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Rome was the culmination of a two week visit that started in Venice and included Rimini and Orvieto. We expected The Majestic to be the lodging highlight of the trip (four nights) so you can imagine our disappointment when we were given a room on the ground floor just feet from the busy sidewalk outside. What really disappointed was the broken window cover in the bathroom that couldn't be closed entirely (until i creatively used a pair of scissors as a latch), the belching refrigerator and non-functional drain plugs. A recurrent complaint of mine throughout Italy was the combined beds and obvious seam. I realize some of this seems nitpicky but this was a highly ranked hotel! We politely requested an alternative room and noted that an engineer should be dispatched to the room - this suggestion was received with a "yes yes" and yet no one visited the room to provide some easy fixes. The only thing I can fathom is that they didn't understand what we were suggesting.
They assured us that they would be very happy to move us but the hotel was fully booked - which it was. I pouted for about an hour but I certainly wasn't going to let this ruin our visit!
On day three, the front desk contacted us with a list of four rooms to review (I thought this was a professional and caring gesture) and I asked my girlfriend to do the review. She had previously described our room to the desk as "the dungeon" which I thought was hilariously accurate - they appreciated her description :))). Room three was on a top floor with a beautiful balcony. The room was flawless and we had a view of the whole street instead of the street's view of us - it was a no-brainer. As silly as it seems, we were elated and it changed our perception of the hotel entirely.
The hotel's location was excellent. The terrace and breakfast was exceptional and service was professional. Claudio (front desk) tried to address our concerns (with little initial success) but had few options with a booked hotel. Dinner at La Ninfa was beautiful (another great terrace overlooking Via Veneto) and no other disappointments and some great memories of this historic property and its staff.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. It is on Via Veneto, a quieter street, yet a 5-minute walk to the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, shopping, etc. Half a block away, you can get the Hop-On, Hop-off bus.
Service was excellent. The concierge had prebooked some arrangements for us, and he checked with us to make sure everything went well (it did).
We had a Junior Suite, and it was surprisingly big, with a large marble bathroom, king-size bed, and sitting area. It was extremely clean.
Continental breakfast was included. On the first floor was a outside patio (next to the dining room) - very attentive service and excellent coffee. A full breakfast was offered at E20 if you wanted it. There are many restaurants with outdoor patios nearby, so lots of selection for meals.
It is a fascinating hotel to browse at: the old elevator works well, and the furnishings in the meeting rooms are unique.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rascalblackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

Most of the staff were excellent and very responsive. There was an error with the bill upon check out and they sorted it out with fuss. Unfortunately we did not find the concierge very helpful...since we were tourists that was a loss. However if you are a business traveller or you know Rome well....this will not be an issue.

Breakfast: This was the highlight of the hotel. Ensure you have this covered in your room rate as this would normally cost you 40-50 euro per head. However it is definitely worth 30 euro. Great outdoor location. Great service, although the main waiter was sometimes moody. Great coffee and very extensive buffet including eggs and bacon.

Our stay included one meal at their signature restaurant. It would have been very pricey if we were paying. Oustanding meal and service.

Yes the rooms are definitely glossy white modern, so be sure that you are ok with this.

Bathrooms were marble rich and had all the charm of a luxury hotel from the 60/70's.

We stayed in a mini-suite which I would not normally recommend spending extra money on, as it really only provided storage space for our bags.

Location: Yes it is within walking distance of most of the sights. You could walk to ancient rome in about 20 mins. The drawback is that it is clearly in very touristy (wealthy tourist) part of the city. You are subject to the usual tourist trap restaurants and crowds. However if you get a deal you can overcome this and find the less touristy spots.

Noise: Be advised that the hotel in right on a busy stretch of Via Veneto. Trafic noise becomes an issue after 9am...so if you want to sleep late, ensure you are on the top floor or in back.

We had no ac issues but it was early May and no ac was required.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank richardireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Brilliant location and amazingly professional and friendly staff. Our room was beautifully decorated and had a balcony with a good view. It was also very clean. We had a lovely lunch in the Ninfa restaurant on our first day too and the buffet breakfast included a comprehensive selection of food and drink.

Only one tiny bit of advice. Ask them to turn up the air conditioning. I couldn't make it work and it got slightly stuffy in the night but because of traffice noise opening the balcony doors was not really an option. We would definitely return, however. Many thanks, Majestic, for contributing to a great holiday. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#112 of 1,269 in Rome
875 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#225 of 1,269 in Rome
446 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#57 of 1,269 in Rome
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#309 of 1,269 in Rome
913 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#88 of 1,269 in Rome
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Roma

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto, 50, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Rome
#47 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#66 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £198 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majestic Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Roma embraces its neoclassical heritage by reinventing it for the 21st century and offering guests the chance to step into a one of the city's most glamorous residences. The hotel is an original combination of styles, a study in careful contradictions that juxtaposes white lacquered pieces of furniture, rich textures and the extraordinary use of color to evoke an emotional response from all who visit. Rooms and suites show a gentle use of simple lines and almost imperceptible curves, creating a perfect blend of innovative setup style combined with classic elegance. The hotel Majestic Roma is located directly on Via Veneto, few steps from Villa Borghese, the second largest landscape garden in the naturalistic English manner in Rome. Walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and city's finest boutiques. Convenient to enjoy museums, theatre, nightlife, restaurants and to reach the financial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majestic Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roma Hotel
Hotel Majestic Rome
Majestic Roma Rome
Majestic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing