We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should not be 5 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Roma
Ranked #110 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This should not be 5 star!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly I only stay in 5 star hotels across the world so I believe I am in authority to state these facts:
First impressions and the staff very friendly however this is soon spoiled with adverse charges for example I cup of English tea was charged at €7 to my room! And a very very very small breakfast was charged at €30!...I don't mind paying good money for good quality but this hotel does not justify paying these prices!! No pool! No spa! Rooms very average! Should the staff have noted our issue we would of rated the hotel a little higher! We did state we would voice our issues on trip adviser it did not concern them!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Babycakes_5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirettoreGenerale, Direttore at Hotel Majestic Roma, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear babycakes,

first of all thank you for choosing the Majestic-Roma in occasion of your recent visit in our ‘Eternal’ city and thank you as well for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I regret to learn that we did not meet in full your expectations.

The Majestic Roma is a veritable jewel of neoclassic elegance, small boutique hotel (98 rooms) part of the Leading Hotels of the World, an historical building ( 1889 – first hotel built on the Via Veneto), well reputed and known for the facilities and the service we daily strive.

After investigating with the relevant departments it turned out that you had a two night stay with us in one of our deluxe room and you checked out on 12th August.

As point of note I would like to inform you that our room service and breakfast prices are in line with other 5 stars hotels in town. We do offer our valued guest the possibility to choose between our buffet breakfast and our a’ la carte menu. Our buffet breakfast is known for its quality and richness and we are one of the few 5 stars hotel in Rome that serves breakfast on our lovely terrace overlooking Via Veneto.

I am also glad to inform you that a Spa with a pool will be available in the next future, since you did not secure your reservation in advance, but simply you walked into the hotel on your arrival day asking availability, if Spa and Pool was your main issue you could have asked our front desk staff.

On a closing note, I hope you will reconsider your judgment to date and stay once more at the
Majestic-Roma. Until then, should you require anything, it would be our pleasure to assist you.


Yours sincerely,

Antonio Buono
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    311
    78
    20
    15
See reviews for
239
529
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

From the moment we arrived this property was above and beyond. The concierge team was especially wonderful. Faisal, Giuseppe, Lanfranco....five star team. Front desk crew was also lovely. Yet every employee of the hotel went out of their way to make us feel welcome and important; housekeeping, front doorman, restaurant staff. Can't rave enough. The location was fantastic, room immaculate, ambience fabulous. Restaurants recommended were excellent and did not disappoint. Such an ideal location, minutes from Spanish Steps. Captures all the intrigue of "La Doce Vita". Cant wait to return. Love love love.

Room Tip: The Junior suites are incredibly large especially for a European hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraLee_A2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Chose the Majestic for the Rome part of our family vacation on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews. We stayed for three nights, and then came back for another night at the end of our Italian holiday.
Location is fantastic. On Via Veneto, walking distance from most of the city center attractions (and we did walk to all of them). In fact, the only attractions which are not walking distance are the west bank sites (castel San Angelo and the Vatican) and the Colosseum and Forum areas. Not only is the location great, but it felt ultra safe (and some parts of Rome are more seedy than others).
Rooms were generally excellent. As a family of five, we booked two connecting rooms. For our first stay, we were given two connecting rooms (one Juniour Suite and one deluxe room) on the first (Mezanine) level, overlooking the little cafe's and restaurants next to the hotel. The rooms were truly luxurious and comfortable. However, due to their location (first floor and next to the restuarants) the rooms were a bit dark and (during the evenings) the music from the next door restaurant was clearly audible, even with the windows and shutters closed. On our second stay - we were kindly given the two room Suite on the 5th floor. A truly magnificent suite, with great views over the city and definitely one of the better hotel rooms I've stayed in throughout the world. Interestingly, the hotel apparently has two different kinds of mattresses. The king size beds we tried all had very firm mattresses (which I liked, although my wife found them a bit too firm) while the doubles and singles were much softer (which the kids liked).
Service was overall first-rate. I would especially want to point out that the front desk staff were all consistently of the highest caliber, both in the friendly smiles and welcomes, and their willingness to truly assist with any request. I have stayed in many leading hotels worldwide, and the Majestic can be proud of the quality and proffesionalism of their staff. That is not to say that everything was perfect (there are always some little points). Upon arrival, one of our rooms still had (in the bathroom) a few belongings of previous guests. A restaurant which was highly recommended by the hotel (Pierluigi) was actually our least favourite throughout our almost two week Italian holiday (plus terribly overpriced). And a one day tour of Rome which the hotel organized was very professional and well-run, but the actual tour guide, while obviously a subject matter expert, could have improved English and personal chemistry (obviously - the latter could be totally subjective, although in my experience, the best guides are also expert at creating a feeling of personal freindship with the guests). In spite of these (very minor) comments, I wish to reiterate that the service at the hotel was of the highest caliber.
Bottom line - great location; extremely comfortable and luxurious rooms; and first class service, especially from the front desk. We will definitely come back and warmly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a first class address for a Rome vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our first trip to Rome and we had been really looking forward to it. We were not disappointed by anything. The hotel was absolutely perfect for us, just on the edges of the city centre but close enough to walk to many of the attractions. Friendly and courteous staff who could not do enough to help you but in no way was their attention invasive. The Hotel itself is a lovely building with reasonably sized, spotless rooms, lovely bathrooms and a décor in glorious old style grandeur, right down to the old fashioned looking lift. We kept expecting Hercule Poirot to appear as its doors opened.
Breakfast is served on a lovely terrace and this is open in the evening for cocktails which is both a great start and end to the day. This is old world charm at its very best.

Room Tip: If you want atmosphere choose one at the front and throw open the windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilmangate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited Rome for the first time last June and stayed at the Majestic. We have just returned again (July) in a group of 9 and on our recommendation, all our party checked into the Majestic for seven nights. The feed back we received from everyone was extremely positive... we were confident this would be the case and the staff and hotel did not disappoint.

The location is great and the rooms are comfortable. We again found all staff to be friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. The terrace was fantastic for breakfast and again, very enjoyable for evening aperitivo.

The only negative comment to be made is that the hot water was very slow in our room (no one else in our group commented on this).

Room Tip: Rooms on the Via Veneto side have a better outlook and have no discernible noise when the windows ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DalenRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this Hotel on the 8th and 9th July 2014 and we were in Room 212. We arrived early here and found that although check in was scheduled for 2pm, our room was in fact ready some 2 hours prior. A nice suprise. The Hotel Reception area and in fact the whole of this rather historic lovely building was beautifully kept and maintianed and the staff were just fantastic. The whole Hotel ouzes charm and sophistication. It is ideally situated for a visit to Rome with many of the places to see not far from your doorstep. If you do not wish to eat always in the Hotel, the restuarant is fantasic I have to add, then walking out of the front door and turning right you are met with an array of places to eat and watch the world go by.
We ate out and then returned to the Hotel and its terrace and bar overlooking the street. It is a beautiful setting and popular with the locals as well as guests. The service and attention is excellent and there was a great buzz and atmosphere here.
The breakfast was exceptional matching the whole Hotel experience here. The Hotel also provides Wi Fi for its guests and this we found to work very well and will meet all your needs if you stay here. Our bedroom was spacious and the bathroom quite magnificent.
If you were to stay here on a visit to Rome, you will not be dissapointed by its location, standards of service and will sleep very well in this well appointed Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Quite with good building where you don't hear noise so you can sleep well , clean rooms big bathrooms , friendly staff always smiling and very helpful . Very good breakfast amazing atmosphere . Walking distance from most of sight seen. I totally recommended for fancy peoples.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KhalidAlhajri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,258 in Rome
851 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#262 of 1,258 in Rome
407 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#82 of 1,258 in Rome
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#65 of 1,258 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#286 of 1,258 in Rome
885 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Roma

Property: Hotel Majestic Roma
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto, 50, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Rome
#47 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#68 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majestic Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Roma embraces its neoclassical heritage by reinventing it for the 21st century and offering guests the chance to step into a one of the city's most glamorous residences. The hotel is an original combination of styles, a study in careful contradictions that juxtaposes white lacquered pieces of furniture, rich textures and the extraordinary use of color to evoke an emotional response from all who visit. Rooms and suites show a gentle use of simple lines and almost imperceptible curves, creating a perfect blend of innovative setup style combined with classic elegance. The hotel Majestic Roma is located directly on Via Veneto, few steps from Villa Borghese, the second largest landscape garden in the naturalistic English manner in Rome. Walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and city's finest boutiques. Convenient to enjoy museums, theatre, nightlife, restaurants and to reach the financial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Majestic Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roma Hotel
Hotel Majestic Rome
Majestic Roma Rome
Majestic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing