We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position for exploring Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Roma
Ranked #110 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2010

A long weekend in Rome was my wife's birthday present. I booked the Majestic through Thomas Cook and the only downside was that I ordered a shuttle from the Airport to the Majestic as part of the booking. The firm operating the shuttle was awful and it took ages to get a shuttle to the hotel - I will book a car next time.
The Majestic is an imposing historical building on the Via Vittorio Veneto. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Trevi fountain and the Spansih Steps. Hop on hop off open deck tour buses stop very close to the hotel.
There are many restaurants nearby. Turn left out of the hotel and you will find the Hard Rock Cafe Rome with Harry's Bar slightly further along. Turn right and there are quite a few restaurants with pavement seating (do not go to the restaurant with a yellow sign at the end of the road as the food is terrible, unless you like getting your meal in installements and cold, and highly priced with the most dreadful service - it was called something like Labiata).
Interior of the hotel was very 19th Century (in a good way). Service was very efficient although the restaurant staff could do with smiling a bit!
The bedroom we were given was small and was a disappointment coupled with the fact that when you opened the window there was no view as we were underground despite being on the first floor (I think the building must be on a hill!).
Breakfast is served on a terrace with enjoyable views. If you want any eggs apart from scrambled then you have to pay extra - boiled was 8 euros, fried 10 euros, and omlettes up to 16 euros extra.
Minibar in room is not too expensive - for soft drinks anyway.
The Majestic is a good base if you are going to Rome to see the sights - try to get a room on the second floor or above if you want a view!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjkreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights with teenage sons - one twin room and one double. It is a superb city hotel in all respects. For me the little touches mean the most - good quality toiletries, linen, towels etc, high levels of cleanliness and supremely comfortable beds. Good turn down service in the evenings, excellent service throughout the hotel ... most of all take time for a few drinks in the bar - the staff are genuinly interested in you as guests! Book with confidence - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Majestic for our honeymoon, this was a wonderful hotel which helped make Rome a brilliant place to stay. The other hotel was the Palazzo Sasso in Ravello.

LOCATION: This is one of the hotels strong points, seriously, it is hard to beat it. Located on Via Vittorio Veneto, the hotel is close to some major points of interest. Trevi Fountain is 10 min walk, The Spanish Steps are also a 10 min walk. The Pantheon, Piazza Navona are both 20 min walks. There are many places to eat nearby also. The real perk is the nearby Metro station – Barberini (1 minute walk). This makes getting to the Colloseum, Roman Forum, Palatine and the Vatican VERY easy, just buy a 3-day ticket for 11 euros and you are sorted). Villa Borghese park is at the top of Via Veneto (10 minute walk) and you have many nice restaurants (Hard Rock cafe etc) on the way.

DESIGN: The hotel is a very grand, old-school building, with decor to match. Its very white inside but it looks nice. It is very clean at all times and often feels like you are in a museum with all the old pictures on the walls. I had read previous stories of people having problems with the elevator but we had no problems at all. The only problem is there is only 1 lift so sometimes you are better just to take the stairs rather than wait. The area where you have breakfast is a lovely terrace overlooking Via Veneto, just make sure you come early and get a seat next to the balcony.

ROOMS: Our room had a very comfortable Queen-sized bed. Decor is in keeping with the rest of the hotel, very white and clean with classic curtains and lamps etc. I felt this room was of medium size with a medium-sized bathroom. All the usual room facilities are present, but NO IRON! In fact, all hotels in Italy have no irons or boards, you have to pay the hotel to iron your clothes, which is very annoying. The room was always clean, with enough space to eat meals also. I read previous reports of faulty showers and air-conditioning, both were completely fine for us. The minibar is expensive, so just buy drinks from outside and keep them in the minibar.

BREAKFAST: Out on the terrace you have a buffet breakfast but you can order hot drinks and toast etc. I felt there was not a great range of food in the buffet, merely fruit, pastries, yoghurt, sausages and scrambled egg. Omlettes cost extra. They take a very long time to bring toast when the area is busy, so come early when its quiet to avoid disappointment. Also, be careful as the birds may come to nibble at the crumbs you leave!

SERVICE: Staff were always courteous and helpful, Faisal in particular is very funny and reassures you he wants the very best for your stay. Room service is quick also. However, one major annoyance for us came when we booked a tour of the Roman forum and colloseum. The guy at the front desk (tall old guy with bad breath) booked this tour for us and marked on the map where the meeting point was. This was the wrong place and afterwards they offered some free drinks and room service to compensate but this never happened. This was the only blemish of our stay here, the rest of the service was as you would expect of a 5-star premier hotel.

OVERALL: This hotel was perfect for the 4 day tourist stay of Rome, it is close to major points of interest with nearby Metro station making farther attractions very easy to reach. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The service is generally very good but be careful if you book a tour with the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tasty_kebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Every moment you spend inside the walls of this stunning hotel you could almost fool yourself into believing that its the Rome of the 1950's and the glitterati of Europe are all enjoying an espresso outside your door. The Majestic is more than just a five star hotel- it is the very definition of Italian style and class. The Hotel itself is breathtaking and the service from all the staff is absolutely flawless. A very special thankyou to the ultimate gentlemen, Faisal, Claudio and of course Lanfranco. You can expect me again next year (for more shopping)-I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDGItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We have just returned from our first trip to Rome, Italy. My husband and good friends traveled there for 4 days prior to a cruise. This hotel fit our needs entirely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. To be greeted with a smile and good morning made us all feel welcomed. We received with our room a breakfast every morning that satisfied all in the group. The wait staff were very attentive. Our room was clean and comfortable. The space was adequate. We were only in our rooms to sleep and shower after all one can hang out while at home for free. The location was close enough to the metro station, decent restaraunts and shopping. We managed to walk away our calories to most attractions. Overall this hotel was quaint and of the highest quality truely a classic hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ges757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Have stayed in Majestic for a 5 day visit with my wife and daughter. The hotel was exceptionally clean, all members of staff were very helpful, especially the reception.
The hotel has kept it's class of the 19th century. Our room was overlooking via veneto, which was great.
Rooms were cleaned twice a day, the hotel corridors, the breakfast area were spotless.
I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nearchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My wife and I travelled with her sister and husband and we had three nights at the Majestic, the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great breakfast both in food quality and where it is situated> We had two rooms both are finished fine but our bathroom was a joke as it was so small and it was even hard to get into it let alone shower or use the toilet.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fattyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#106 of 1,270 in Rome
886 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#55 of 1,270 in Rome
1,430 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#135 of 1,270 in Rome
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#198 of 1,270 in Rome
473 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Roma

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto, 50, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Rome
#47 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#71 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £169 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majestic Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Roma embraces its neoclassical heritage by reinventing it for the 21st century and offering guests the chance to step into a one of the city's most glamorous residences. The hotel is an original combination of styles, a study in careful contradictions that juxtaposes white lacquered pieces of furniture, rich textures and the extraordinary use of color to evoke an emotional response from all who visit. Rooms and suites show a gentle use of simple lines and almost imperceptible curves, creating a perfect blend of innovative setup style combined with classic elegance. The hotel Majestic Roma is located directly on Via Veneto, few steps from Villa Borghese, the second largest landscape garden in the naturalistic English manner in Rome. Walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and city's finest boutiques. Convenient to enjoy museums, theatre, nightlife, restaurants and to reach the financial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majestic Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roma Hotel
Hotel Majestic Rome
Majestic Roma Rome
Majestic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing