We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in Rome!”
Review of Kennedy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kennedy Hotel
Ranked #960 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Cannot believe how poor the service was at The Kennedy Hotel in Rome during our recent stay. We had booked through the recommendation of a travel agent and asked for a roll out for one night as we were catching with a friend during our stay for a few days. Had it all confirmed in emails from the manager of the hotel directly then when we got there the manager said it would be another full night's rate even though we had his previous advice in writing! He even screamed at us and demanded that our friend book her own room or leave and would not leave our room until she left. In over 20 years of travel have never ever experienced a hotel manager being so disrespectful, rude and just plain nasty! Couldn't believe he was standing there screaming at us! Know the Italians are passionate but he was over the top, unbelieveably rude and nasty and it was completely uncalled for. Whatever you do do not stay in this hotel - avoid it like the plague particularly Aussies who are just not used to being screamed at!

Room Tip: Do not book into this hotel! Rooms are poor; no lifts for your luggage and you have to drag your l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked our stay at the Kennedy on the advice of a travel agent friend. There were 6 of us traveling together so we booked 3 rooms. The Kennedy is an older building and as such isn't as spacious and modern as some of the newer hotels, but for the price it was an excellent value! The rooms were comfortable; two of the rooms were larger then the one my wife and I were in (one had a desk and one had a couch), but ours was adequate. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had fast, reliable wifi connections which was important to us (we wanted to be able to stay in touch with friends and family back home and we wanted to be able to purchase tickets to local attrations via websites). But what really made our stay memorable was the staff.....they were friendly, helpful, and courteous! When we arrived two staff members came out on the sidewalk to meet our van, greet us, and carry our suitcases up to the lobby. They were always willing and able to recommend good places to eat, places to see, and fast easy ways to get to our destinations. They gave us maps and outlined travel routes to any of the places we were going; and the maps were detailed and inclusive of all the Rome area. Someone was always at the reception desk to greet us and ask if they could help us....in fact, at one point when we were on the sidewalk out front waiting for a taxi, one of the staff interceded on our behalf when one of the street vendors kept pestering us!

Room Tip: The rooms aren't all the same so ask to see your room. If it seems small....ask if they have som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here 1 night as part of a business trip. The hotel was quite cheap for Central Rome so I had low expectations.
My room was in JFK House which is across the road from the main hotel. I was in room 1 which looked brand new and the bathroom was gorgeous.
The man on reception was very helpful, recommending places to eat and lending us an umbrella as it was raining.
The hotel is about a 15 min walk to the colosseum and there are plenty of amenities nearby.
Breakfast was ok too for the price.
Overall a good stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank aliglobetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Me and My wife had this place booked for us by our travel agent and I have since told the travel agent never to send anyone here again. Firstly the location was great but that is where the good stuff ends. When we first walked in the door there are 2 flights of stairs you have to walk up my wife is a samll woman with a 30 kilogram bag the staff saw her struggling and even though they were not bust no one offered any assistance. We asked for a map of the city and we were handed a map with no marking were our hotel was. When we got to our room it was very humid we asked about the air conditioning and they said they had lost the controls. The bed was hard as a rock and the pillows might as well been non exsistent for how flat they were we had to get the spare blanket to prop our heads up. The whole stay the staff were completely unhelpful and acted like they did not want to be there. If the hotel was not pre paid we would have gone somewhere else.

IA 3 star hotel this was nothing more thatn a a big backpackers plese no one go here it was just awful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had just come from a wonderful cruise with an old friend and was booked by a travel agent for 2 nights in Rome. We were too tired to leave the place and for two nights it wasn't worth the trouble. Our room was small with a tiny bathroom we hardly could turn around in. It had mold on the walls, a wobbly old sliding door on the shower stall that was difficult to move. Light bulbs were burned out in the bathroom and next to one of the twin beds. There were bars on our third floor window. We were doubly sure to find the stairs in case of fire. We experienced three rather unconcerned men at the desk who always said they couldn't deal with problems because there was no one to cover the desk. Someone finally replaced the florescent bulb in the bathroom, but my friend was handed 2 different bulbs for nex to her bed neither of which was the right fit. The street outside was littered with paper etc. There were lots of young men on motor scooters loitering outside and junky shops in the neighborhood. I took pictures and sent them with a letter to the travel agent, but don't know how to send photos over internet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroleNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was very disappointed with the Kennedy Hotel.
I booked 4 nights there to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our room was clean but the décor was tired and there were no tea/coffee making facilities. It was a room at the rear of the hotel and was quite noisy at night. I don't know whether it was air conditioning units or the hot water boiler going on and off but it disturbed our sleep.
The selection available at breakfast was very poor. There was no bar despite the fact the website says there is and the safety deposit boxes are not free as advertised on the website.
The only thing this hotel has going for it is it's proximity to Termini station.
I've travelled quite extensively and there's no way this is a 3 star hotel. I wouldn't stay there again and wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing onto the street as they may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gerilittlechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Convenient location, but that's where it ends, the area was quite horrible, the hotel crusty and tired, it smelled, it had two air conditioners neither worked, only one power point worked,the other one had been punched in. The bathroom had black mould and the bed was hard and horrible. It was noisy both in and out and with window opened, it only exacerbated the issue and the smell.
The man (I am guessing the owner or manager) was rude, while the me on the day and night reception were more amenable.
The breakfast was lousy, bread rolls, awful croissants or cereal. Coffee was undrinkable.
My travel agent booked this, and for 3 of us, three nights cost around $1100 which was a joke, it is almost as ad as the worst hotel I ever had the misfortune to experience in Adelaide.
If you are tricked in to this, you will be bitterly disappointed. If you don't need to be near Roma Termini, stay elsewhere, the shops near buy were rubbish as we're the restaurants. P,us there are lots of the annoying men hassling you on the foot path selling bus tickets or scarves or splat balls.
We were away for 6 weeks, and this was our last 3 days and it ruined the end of the trip.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank graemeandpatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#683 of 1,271 in Rome
152 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#346 of 1,271 in Rome
427 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#617 of 1,271 in Rome
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#287 of 1,271 in Rome
892 reviews
Esquilino
Igea Hotel
Igea Hotel
#882 of 1,271 in Rome
237 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#203 of 1,271 in Rome
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedy Hotel

Address: Via Filippo Turati 62-64, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #960 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £45 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennedy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the center of Rome, Kennedy hotel is among Termini Station and St. Maria Maggiore Basilica. The hotel overlooks the Roman Aquarium, now House of Architecture, and it offers a panoramic view on the neighboring garden with archeological parts of Roman Walls of the King Servio Tullio, 578 to 539 b.C. In a historical building of 18th century, Kennedy Hotel has 51 rooms and 2 Junior suites perfect for families. Wifi internet connection in available in the entire establishment. All the bedrooms are individually furnished according the original architecture harmonizing comforts and hospitality. Rooms are refurbished and soundproof, and they are well equipped with air conditioned, tv satellite and telephone. Tasty buffet breakfast is served from 7,15 till 9,45 and there are two lobby rooms and a small international library. At disposal of all clients a baggage store room. WI-FI internet connection FREE OF CHARGE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kennedy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Hotel Rome
Hotel Kennedy Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing