We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we expected”
Review of Kennedy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kennedy Hotel
Ranked #850 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We chose the Kennedy based on its proximity to the railway station. In that respect it was an excellent location, but I did not really feel safe in the area. The hotel itself is quite old and a bit run-down, with creaking floorboards and a confusing layout. Our room, a double on the third floor, was reached by a lift which was quite modern. The room itself was of a reasonable size, and furnished with wardrobe, desk, chair, bedside tables and rack for suitcase. The door did not seem to close snugly, although it was locked. The bathroom had everything you would need and was quite clean, although the shower was tiny. The bed was quite hard and not all that comfortable, and the curtains fell down during an attempt to close them, so the room was a bit too light. We did not find the street noise too much, despite what others have said, but the noise of other residents returning was disturbing. The breakfast was better than we had expected, with a plentiful continental breakfast and good service.

Desk staff member was not rude, but certainly a bit offhand, and there did not seem to be much security regarding keys.

If proximity to the railway is your concern, this will do nicely, but for a longer stay I'd probably recommend somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottie2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had booked to stay at the Hotel San Remo but on arrival we were told that we would have to stay at this hotel, we were taken a 5 minute walk away to this hotel by a member of staff who was very helpful, on arrival the staff were very helpful giving us maps and explaining breakfast times, he gave us the key to our room which was on the first floor room No 30, the room was very nice with a king size bed and also a single bed, we were overlooking the street but the windows kept all the noise out, the room had air condition, nice bathroom all you need for a short stay, there was no hairdryer but when I asked for one they supplied it. There is no safe in the room but for 5 euros you can use the safe at reception. Breakfast was ok breads, cereal, cakes, cheese and big pots of tea or coffee. Great location just 5 minutes from the Termini Station and the bus station so getting around is very easy. This hotel is a bit old but if you are in Rome how much time do you stay in your room.

Room Tip: Our room was over the street but it was never very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiverpoolDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in an annex down the road but still part of the Kennedy Hotel. Good sized room and bathroom with hair drier, safe, air conditioning, comfortable bed and plenty of extra blankets and pillows. The down side is it overlooked the Termini train statation and it was noisy in the evening but the upside of the location was we were walking distance to many great restaurants and sites to see, or if foot sore a short walk to the metro. We stayed for 5 nights and ate the included breakfast once. It was a basic continental - but with Rome out there and waiting we preferred to explore and eat breakfast with a view and atmosphere. We never felt intimidated about the location, walking with bags as we would in any city- just taking care. There was a lot of graffiti around the streets, but as we have discovered that's not uncommon in Italy.

Room Tip: Good location, reasonable price but noisy location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed one night out of the four nights we had booked. You could not move in the room with your Luggage.

That area we where told was not a safe area to stay, I was mugged just around the corner on our first night, was worth the extra $1.000 bucks just to feel safe,

We would not recommend this so called hotel

Room Tip: Choose the Best Western near the Vatican Excellent Value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Kennedy Hotel is located close to the train terminal. That is where any value in this hotel ends and is only of any value if you travel to/from Rome by train.

We booked two rooms through a travel agent - one for our two adult daughters and one for my wife and myself. The booking was for four nights., paid in advance. When we arrived we were told the fourth night was not available.

The bed spread in our room had holes in it. The sheets on both of our daughters' beds had holes in them.

The beds were rock hard in both rooms. When asked whether they had softer beds, I was told 'No, that is all we've got'.

We ended up putting some very tired blankets under the sheets to try to soften the impact of the bed. This met with marginal success.

My wife and one of our daughters ended up itching from their beds. Our daughter had welts on her chest - when she showed these to management she was asked 'are you sure they were from the bed?'

In addition to the very uncomfortable sleeping arrangements, the walls of the rooms are paper thin. We heard the movements and conversations from the rooms on either side of us. To add insult to injury the ceiling was also not soundproof - the footsteps of the guests above us were clearly audible.

The tiled hallways ensure you hear loud and clear anyone wheeling their luggage. This is not the sound you want to hear @ 1.50AM when guests are arriving.

The bottom line is that after our first sleepless and irritable first night we left. Management offered us another room but the Kennedy is the hotel equivalent of theTitanic, so another room still meant we were on the Titanic.

In addition to the echo chamber bedrooms with rock hard beds, the security is appalling. The management demands you hand over your keys when you leave the hotel. When you return you mention your room number and reception hands over the keys WITHOUT asking for any proof of identification. Anyone could walk off the street and say a room number and they have access to your room. Unbelievable.

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and after travelling internationally for over thirty years, that is saying something.

This is also the first time I have taken the time to write a review for Trip Advisor - people need to be forewarned about this poor excuse for a hotel.

Simply awful. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I found this hotel to be average, neither bad nor good. On the negative side; there was no bar, restaurant or hair drier. There was a continental breakfast of cereals, pastries, good coffee, fruit, cheeses, yogurts, jams, honey etc. On the positive side, it has a very central and convenient location for the Termini station, bus station and various historic sights and the staff were friendly and spoke good English.

My real complaint was their offer of a pick up service from the airport which we accepted and cost an extra 50 Euros one way. We were promised that a driver would be at the arrivals with a card with our names on it. One hour and two phone calls later, the driver arrived. We were not given an explanation nor an apology. All we got was a Latin shrug of the shoulders. This gesture left me thinking that we were not just unlucky but this was the norm.

We decided not to use this service for our return to the airport but to use the shuttle bus, the stop for which was situated just 3 minutes walk from the hotel at a cost of 4 euros each.

Room Tip: We had a superior room that had a bath instead of a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xaxababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Italy and especially Rome is an expensive place for tourists. But the hotel itself was a paradise for those who look for an economic bed and breakfast. Sleep eat and than go out, that simple do not ask for more. Perfect location, and good staff that's all.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Aquarium
Hotel Aquarium
#1,034 of 1,272 in Rome
181 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#351 of 1,272 in Rome
434 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Contilia
Hotel Contilia
#698 of 1,272 in Rome
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#610 of 1,272 in Rome
513 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#1,006 of 1,272 in Rome
977 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Seiler
Hotel Seiler
#873 of 1,272 in Rome
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedy Hotel

Address: Via Filippo Turati 62-64, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #850 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennedy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the center of Rome, Kennedy hotel is among Termini Station and St. Maria Maggiore Basilica. The hotel overlooks the Roman Aquarium, now House of Architecture, and it offers a panoramic view on the neighboring garden with archeological parts of Roman Walls of the King Servio Tullio, 578 to 539 b.C. In a historical building of 18th century, Kennedy Hotel has 51 rooms and 2 Junior suites perfect for families. Wifi internet connection in available in the entire establishment. All the bedrooms are individually furnished according the original architecture harmonizing comforts and hospitality. Rooms are refurbished and soundproof, and they are well equipped with air conditioned, tv satellite and telephone. Tasty buffet breakfast is served from 7,15 till 9,45 and there are two lobby rooms and a small international library. At disposal of all clients a baggage store room. WI-FI internet connection FREE OF CHARGE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kennedy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Hotel Rome
Hotel Kennedy Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing