We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Rome”
Review of Kennedy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kennedy Hotel
Ranked #1,012 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Rome”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We were married in April 2014, 3 days before we went to Rome, we booked the Kennedy hotel as it was so reasonably priced and it was so close to all the sights that we wanted to see in Rome. It was also very close to the termini station, we took a trip on the fast train down to Florence for a day.
It was also very close to some lovely restaurants. The breakfast was a very nice continental which set us up for the day.
The hotel room was ideal for what we needed as we were there to see the sights in Rome. It served well as a base and the room was comfortable enough.
The receptionists were very helpful with whatever we needed.

Many thanks for your service

Room Tip: The rooms are small but enough if you're just travelling around the city throughout the day. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Am05gan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    254
    219
    100
    69
See reviews for
132
330
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights but water kept of going off ever twenty minute and toilet wouldn't flush... no fridge facilities... and no bath facilties as requested... only thing that didn't break was hair dryer and tv which had no other programmes that British news and found that this hotel was falling apart with cracking in all hallways I would not recommend this to my mother

Helpful?
Thank dad0675
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our travel agent booked this property for us in Rome as part of our Italy itinerary. The property is well located - and the good parts end there. The building is seedy and the area in which it is located is shabby and very touristy. The bedrooms are very average, the air conditioners semi-functional, the baths cramped and the linen torn. We did not have any expectations from the breakfast and the hotel met that expectation - its better to grab something from the train station rather than have anything here.

I will recommend this property only if you absolutely MUST stay near the station - even then we could see several properties which seemed much better kept in its vicinity. Please note that the hotel does not provide an iron and you might want to carry one yourself.

Room Tip: Do not trust the pictures of the hotel on the official website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VK_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated close to the Rome train station which is handy if you're catching the train but it also means you are staying in the ghetto part of Roma. The filthy streets are littered with unsavoury types so watch for pick pockets. You will need to take a taxi to find a meal that won't result in an emergency trip to the toilet a few hours later. The rooms were furnished in the early 80's and the smell of potent cleaning products reminds me of a public hospital. We copped a view of a backyard and an alley. The rooms only have 220v outlets (no 240v) There is no mini fridge, the bath tub is covered in grime and the hard plastic bed gave me horrible back pain to deal with while I toured the Vatican and Pompeii. The staff are rude and always want to you to leave the room key at reception when you go out. The free wifi only works if you're sitting in reception next to the computer. Positives... Heating and powerful air con. The continental breakfast was good and the grannies making proper coffees are polite. My advise is to keep well away from Roma train station. We have no where nice to go within walking distance and the hotel is depressing and dingy so we couldn't wait to leave Rome. Staying even just 10 minutes towards the inner city will make a massive difference. Spend the extra coin or skip Rome.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vapoureyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this hotel purely for it's location and not knowing the city wanted to be as close to the station as possible.
The holel staff were very nice, could not be more helpful. We asked for a change of room due to bath being stained and the views to the yard. We were re-located to a luxury room, which was just what we wanted. The Bathroom, although recently re-fitted had a broken shower tray, but it was functioning.
Breakfast was plenty, really family friendly service and a help yourself. Staffs knowledge was invaluable, they were extremely helpful and gave recommendations for the local restaurants.

Room Tip: I would go for the luxury rooms, you get what you pay for! Which is fair........
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Quite nice hotel close to Termini Station. Clean, comfortable, air-conditioned. Helpful staff with maps and extra information. The shower fitting was only hand-held. It would be much better if hotels could just add another hook higher up the wall to enable a hands-free shower. Free wifi. Close to some very nice restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

OK, this hotel gets its share of bad wraps but for us it is what we expected I.e. a three star hotel handy to all the sights in Rome. Given that, the only issue had was with the size and configuration of the bathroom which required a fair degree of dexterity to use the toilet and shower. That aside the hotel was clean, the proprietors friendly, and the breakfast acceptable.

Re the various complaints on trip advisor, if you want five star treatment you will have to pay more for it. But if you just want a base to explore Rome from this is fine and handy to all the city has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road ours was at the back and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#941 of 1,258 in Rome
896 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#597 of 1,258 in Rome
485 reviews
Esquilino
Mariano Hotel
Mariano Hotel
#561 of 1,258 in Rome
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Igea Hotel
Igea Hotel
#830 of 1,258 in Rome
227 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#607 of 1,258 in Rome
133 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#372 of 1,258 in Rome
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedy Hotel

Property: Kennedy Hotel
Address: Via Filippo Turati 62-64, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,012 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennedy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the center of Rome, Kennedy hotel is among Termini Station and St. Maria Maggiore Basilica. The hotel overlooks the Roman Aquarium, now House of Architecture, and it offers a panoramic view on the neighboring garden with archeological parts of Roman Walls of the King Servio Tullio, 578 to 539 b.C. In a historical building of 18th century, Kennedy Hotel has 51 rooms and 2 Junior suites perfect for families. Wifi internet connection in available in the entire establishment. All the bedrooms are individually furnished according the original architecture harmonizing comforts and hospitality. Rooms are refurbished and soundproof, and they are well equipped with air conditioned, tv satellite and telephone. Tasty buffet breakfast is served from 7,15 till 9,45 and there are two lobby rooms and a small international library. At disposal of all clients a baggage store room. WI-FI internet connection FREE OF CHARGE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kennedy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Hotel Rome
Hotel Kennedy Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing