We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Genio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Genio
Ranked #423 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned with a group of 17 people having stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Genio. It is perfectly situated within 15minutes walk of the Vatican, beside Piazza Navona and many and varied restaurants all around. There is a bus stop outside the door as is a taxi rank. The staff are friendly and efficient, rooms allocated quickly to the group. The corridors are narrow and the room doors are very close together but once inside the room I was surprised by the size of the Rome especially as I have stayed in other hotels in Rome and rooms much smaller! Everything you needed was in the room. The room was serviced everyday with clean linens and all that you could need for a stay in Rome. The lift was very small quicker to use the stairs but that not a negative. The breakfast room was very nice on the rooftop with a lovely view over to the dome of St Peter's Basilica. There was a varied selection for breakfast, everything you could need and want to start the day. The staff were friendly and efficient and offered us maps of Rome.

I would recommend this hotel and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street can be noisy if you a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a difficult review to write, because my wife and I have such mixed feelings about the Genio. We chose it for our visit to Rome because of the central location to the main tourist sites we wanted to see, and on that score it would be very hard to beat. The Genio is very close to the Piazza Navona, and from the hotel we wandered on foot to the Pantheon, the Spanish Steps, the Forum, Vatican City, and the Campo de Fiori. It was perfectly located and therefore it met our #1 need for a Roman hotel. The other big selling point is the rooftop terrace, where one can eat a very pleasant breakfast while enjoying panoramic views of Rome, including St. Peter's Basilica. That was hard to beat, and the breakfast buffet was quite good, in my view. Similar to what you get as the included breakfast buffet in many mid-market business hotels in the U.S. We also found the staff to be friendly and very helpful. (I want to be clear that the comments below are not directed at the staff - they were wonderful).

But the rooms, or, to be specific, our room, was a real disappointment. The "double" rooms were not available when we booked, so we had to book a room with two single beds. That's not ideal to begin with, but we were prepared for that. The beds were pushed next to each other to mimic a double bed, but each was made up with it's own linens. Unfortunately, the room flooring was very slick, so the beds constantly slid around if you did anything but lay quietly on top of them. The one "headboard" that spanned both beds was not attached to either the wall or to the beds, so it was impossible to sit up in bed to read, work on the laptop computer, watch the undersized TV, or just talk. If you tried, the bed slid away from the wall and the headboard fell over. Hilarious! (Or it would be, if it wasn't a 4-star hotel).

The windows, with a view out onto the busy streets below, were a frustration because if you wanted to have them either fully or partially open to enjoy the night air, they slammed shut in the slightest breeze. And then slammed open again, depending upon the wind. The mechanisms by which one would adjust the windows was broken, so that if they weren't latched closed, there was no controlling what they would do. The air conditioner (once one figured out how to operate it) was loud enough that we had to think hard about whether we were really hot enough to put up with the noise while trying to sleep. I finally solved the problem when I remembered that I had thrown some foam earplugs into my shaving kit before leaving home. Our nights at the Genio were the only nights in three weeks of traveling throughout France & Italy that I wore earplugs. They almost masked the incredibly loud hammering sounds made by the plumbing approximately one minute after flushing the toilet (every single time).

We had a wonderful visit to Rome, and the location of the Genio was superb. But as a 4-star property, priced as a 4-star property, the quality of our room was a disappointment. If (when) we get back to Rome, we will definitely explore other lodging options.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Earl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Breakfast on the roof terrace with St Peters in the background is a marvellous way to start the day. the staff are excellent and very helpful with lost luggage. The hotel has an excellent location. The rooms are comfortable, they have everything you need. Some noise is inevitable in any city but earplugs deal with this. It's worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JanW52_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Hotel Genio is in a great location - only a 2 minute walk to the beautiful Piazza Navona. It is approximately a 15 minute walk to both the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. The Pantheon is even closer - less than 10 minutes away. Although the room was small, it was more than adequate. The hotel breakfast, on the top floor, was wonderful. In nice weather you can eat your breakfast on the roof deck and enjoy the fantastic view of Rome and Vatican City.The staff was helpful and accommodating. We would definitely return to the Genio on another trip to Rome

Room Tip: Location and value can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoxieRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lots of pesky details amiss in the room on our arrival in Sept. most of which were addressed by friendly staff but took almost 2h of our precious time. Lack of hot or even warm water (malfunctioning fixer faucets) in both shower and sink irremediable and unacceptable in any hotel, let alone a supposed 4-star.

Room Tip: Other guests also commented on hot water issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Location, location, location! A clean and comfortable place to stay. Not for hotel snobs. Friendly helpful staff. And not bad to look at with names like Fabio and Lucca. Anyway...Rome is expensive but what makes this reasonably priced hotel with its typical continental buffet breakfast(more than adequate with steamed milk and coffee) so special is the fact that you can eat breakfast outside on the 6th floor terrace in the morning, and then at night take your own wine and glasses from the room and sit outside and watch the sunset and lights of Rome come on. I almost hate to write this review because of the 3 nights we stayed there, we were almost the only ones up there each night before heading out to dinner in the chaos below. There is even a higher level with one table for 4 on the top deck if you are brave enough to walk up the small spiral iron staircase. We know not to wear heals in Italy so of course we were up there all 3 nights. Rome is a noisy crazy city so it is important to be able to get away from the crowds once a day and enjoy the peace and quiet that you experience up at that level. Rome feels more like Paris up there with all of the domed churches including St. Peters and towers and monuments surrounding you at that level. We did see a group of women having their dinner up there with their wine if you want to save money one night. There is a coffee shop next door that sells some light fare to go or "take away" as they like to say in Italy, and we found cheese and meat shops not too far away. The trick in Rome is to walk down the most narrow streets you can find so that a car cannot drive down. Amazingly cars are allowed to drive down streets that have outdoor restaurant seating. It is amazing more people don't get run over while eating!

Room Tip: Just remember to shut the shutters and lock the windows at night so you won't hear the traffic b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4DonnePazzeinItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We saw this hotel on a website and booked it through an agent because we had previously read that if you book hotels direct in Italy they get double booked etc so for peace of mind we went through the agent.
We arrived at the hotel to a very warm welcome from the receptionist who explained all about the hotel and offered us any help at all. We got to our room which was on the second floor, I was shocked because I had read mixed reviews on here and when I walked into the room it was just lovely, everything you required, tea n coffee tray, a safe, loads of wardrobe space and a spacious bathroom. The room was cleaned daily we had fresh sheets and towels each day too.
The gorgeous breakfast room over looked Rome and you could eat outside if you wished. Breakfast was fresh and there was plenty of choice, sadly it is only continental. The waitresses speak limited English but are super friendly and really try hard to converse with you.
The reception staff are fab, so friendly, helpful and happy. They always have a smile and always answer questions on any topic.
The area is within twenty to thirty minutes walk of the Spanish steps, pantheon, Vatican and trevi fountain. There is a lovely street leading to the Spanish steps which has some very elite shops in with guards on the doors but they are worth a look. Piazza navona is less than two minutes walk.
I loved this city the downside is its soooo expensive to eat and drink and beware in restaurants as you get charged 7 euros for bread and bread sticks.
The reception guys will be happy to tell you where to eat in a lovely rustic Italian restaurants.
All in all a fab hotel and stay in Rome!,

Room Tip: Tips regarding eating in Rome is included above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#390 of 1,272 in Rome
690 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#112 of 1,272 in Rome
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#244 of 1,272 in Rome
481 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#703 of 1,272 in Rome
546 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Tiziano Hotel
Tiziano Hotel
#440 of 1,272 in Rome
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genio

Address: Via Giuseppe Zanardelli 28 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Genio 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Rome's most historic and Baroque district, Hotel Genio has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the city and is just 100 meters from Piazza Navona. Rooms come with air conditioning, carpeted or parquet floors, a TV and a minibar. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and the continental breakfast is served buffet style. Hotel Genio is set in a building dating back to the neo-Renaissance period and is surrounded by sinuous streets that host some of the most popular wine bars, cafes and restaurants in Rome. The property is a 10-minute walk from the shops of Via del Corso. Also, you will reach Castel Sant'Angelo and the Vatican City by simply crossing the Tiber. Piazza Navona is a great choice for travelers interested in food, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Genio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing