We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Genio, Rome, Italy”
Review of Hotel Genio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Genio
Ranked #487 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Genio, Rome, Italy”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This small hotel is authentically Italian with an old elevator & room furnishings as evidence. Our air conditioned room had a small balcony & complimentary wi-fi which was an unexpected treat. There's a bright breakfast room with offerings of the usual fruits, cheeses, cereals, & pastries. A roof garden is right outside with tables for those wishing to have a view of Roman rooftops. There are several restaurants on the street & a bus line, as well. The hotel is located right around the corner from the Piazza Navona, a favorite of tourists. We were there on Palm Sunday & I don't recommend going on a holiday. It was too crowded to enjoy the space & the famous Bernini sculpture, Fountain of the Four Rivers in the center which is topped by an obelisk. As the hotel had no restaurant, we had dinner in a small trattoria across the street every evening &, although it wasn't gourmet food, it was quite adequate & the service was charming. My husband was especially fond of the antipasto.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixmoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    287
    144
    75
    64
See reviews for
159
292
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Best location and view from breakfast terrace, while rooms are a bit old, but fully functional with a/c and warm water. Recommended!

Bring a bottle of red wine, and a sandwich or a warm pizza from the restaurant below to the terrace in the evening and enjoy a perfect and private view of old Rome and Vatican city. Priceless!

Helpful?
Thank Niklas B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Medium hotel with friendly staff and excellent location ...
My main complaint is as it i was winter , the rooms were cold and and they would not turn the heater on , only at a certain time.Sth i found rather disturbing as i called the reception desk and they said they could no nothing about it .
same with hot water.
big minus.
also it was a bit expensive in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elizampeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were pleased to return to this centrally located hotel with spacious rooms, well appointed bathrooms, good service, and a nice breakfast on the rooftop. Within steps to the Piazza Navona, the Genio commands a stellar central location for travelers who wish to explore many of Rome's treasures on foot. Tevi Fountain, the Forum, the Pantheon, and St. Peter's are among the many attractions that are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just had a weeks stay and overall am very happy. The hotel is in a great location near to many of the main attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size as was the bathroom. Breakfast was fresh and generous with great views over Rome from the breakfast room.

We did find the bed a little hard but maybe that's just our preference. Our only gripe was that our room did not have a tea/coffee maker and we had to leave the hotel if we wanted a hot drink outside of breakfast time.

Overall, very good and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkBurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Ire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned with a group of 17 people having stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Genio. It is perfectly situated within 15minutes walk of the Vatican, beside Piazza Navona and many and varied restaurants all around. There is a bus stop outside the door as is a taxi rank. The staff are friendly and efficient, rooms allocated quickly to the group. The corridors are narrow and the room doors are very close together but once inside the room I was surprised by the size of the Rome especially as I have stayed in other hotels in Rome and rooms much smaller! Everything you needed was in the room. The room was serviced everyday with clean linens and all that you could need for a stay in Rome. The lift was very small quicker to use the stairs but that not a negative. The breakfast room was very nice on the rooftop with a lovely view over to the dome of St Peter's Basilica. There was a varied selection for breakfast, everything you could need and want to start the day. The staff were friendly and efficient and offered us maps of Rome.

I would recommend this hotel and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street can be noisy if you a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a difficult review to write, because my wife and I have such mixed feelings about the Genio. We chose it for our visit to Rome because of the central location to the main tourist sites we wanted to see, and on that score it would be very hard to beat. The Genio is very close to the Piazza Navona, and from the hotel we wandered on foot to the Pantheon, the Spanish Steps, the Forum, Vatican City, and the Campo de Fiori. It was perfectly located and therefore it met our #1 need for a Roman hotel. The other big selling point is the rooftop terrace, where one can eat a very pleasant breakfast while enjoying panoramic views of Rome, including St. Peter's Basilica. That was hard to beat, and the breakfast buffet was quite good, in my view. Similar to what you get as the included breakfast buffet in many mid-market business hotels in the U.S. We also found the staff to be friendly and very helpful. (I want to be clear that the comments below are not directed at the staff - they were wonderful).

But the rooms, or, to be specific, our room, was a real disappointment. The "double" rooms were not available when we booked, so we had to book a room with two single beds. That's not ideal to begin with, but we were prepared for that. The beds were pushed next to each other to mimic a double bed, but each was made up with it's own linens. Unfortunately, the room flooring was very slick, so the beds constantly slid around if you did anything but lay quietly on top of them. The one "headboard" that spanned both beds was not attached to either the wall or to the beds, so it was impossible to sit up in bed to read, work on the laptop computer, watch the undersized TV, or just talk. If you tried, the bed slid away from the wall and the headboard fell over. Hilarious! (Or it would be, if it wasn't a 4-star hotel).

The windows, with a view out onto the busy streets below, were a frustration because if you wanted to have them either fully or partially open to enjoy the night air, they slammed shut in the slightest breeze. And then slammed open again, depending upon the wind. The mechanisms by which one would adjust the windows was broken, so that if they weren't latched closed, there was no controlling what they would do. The air conditioner (once one figured out how to operate it) was loud enough that we had to think hard about whether we were really hot enough to put up with the noise while trying to sleep. I finally solved the problem when I remembered that I had thrown some foam earplugs into my shaving kit before leaving home. Our nights at the Genio were the only nights in three weeks of traveling throughout France & Italy that I wore earplugs. They almost masked the incredibly loud hammering sounds made by the plumbing approximately one minute after flushing the toilet (every single time).

We had a wonderful visit to Rome, and the location of the Genio was superb. But as a 4-star property, priced as a 4-star property, the quality of our room was a disappointment. If (when) we get back to Rome, we will definitely explore other lodging options.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Earl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#428 of 1,256 in Rome
621 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#599 of 1,256 in Rome
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Rinascimento
Hotel Rinascimento
#603 of 1,256 in Rome
240 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Tiziano Hotel
Tiziano Hotel
#486 of 1,256 in Rome
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genio

Property: Hotel Genio
Address: Via Giuseppe Zanardelli 28 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#247 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Genio 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Rome's most historic and Baroque district, Hotel Genio has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the city and is just 100 meters from Piazza Navona. Rooms come with air conditioning, carpeted or parquet floors, a TV and a minibar. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and the continental breakfast is served buffet style. Hotel Genio is set in a building dating back to the neo-Renaissance period and is surrounded by sinuous streets that host some of the most popular wine bars, cafes and restaurants in Rome. The property is a 10-minute walk from the shops of Via del Corso. Also, you will reach Castel Sant'Angelo and the Vatican City by simply crossing the Tiber. Piazza Navona is a great choice for travelers interested in food, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Genio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing