We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location chaotic breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Genio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Genio
Ranked #481 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location chaotic breakfast!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Myself & my husband stayed here in early March for a 3 day break. We found the hotel to be centrally located for all the attractions. It is just around the corner from Piazza Navona close the the Pantheon etc and has some lovely boutiques and restaurants in the neighbourhood. It is also within 30 minutes walking distance of the Vatican. We found our room to to be comfortable, of a good standard and of a decent size and we had a minibar stocked with alcoholic drinks which were of a reasonable price. There was a bar in the main lounge however we never saw it manned Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road which, as we like to sleep with the window open for fresh air at night, could be very noisy, especially when delivery lorries arrive and unload their goods. The hotel is a good base for exploring the city.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room. On several occasions we arrived to breakfast, which was continental and included pastries, yoghurt, fruit, bread, jam, scrambled eggs, cold meats, to find many of the tables stacked high with uncleared plates and very liitle food available.
We went to the kitchen to explain the situation and was told it would be sorted in a few minutes. we waited half an hour for the food to be replenished which considering it was mainly cold meats etc seemed a long time. As the happened at the weekend I suspect the usual waiting/kitchen staff were off leaving them short staffed, however judging by previous reviews this seems to be an on going problem. There was a rooftop terrace where you could sit for breakfast, weather permitting, which unfortunately we did not get to use but it did have some nice views of the city, including the rooftop of St Pauls Cathedral. If visiting the Vatican I would recommend buying a fast pass as the queues can literally stretch for miles, not good in the heat. We got straight in without any queuing at all saving a few hours in the hot sun. I woukd recommend going early in the morning too before it gets too busy. There are a lot of guided tours, many Chinese/Japanese and if you get caught up in these groups it can be very difficult to get out and quite claustrophobic. There are hop on/hop off buses around Rome, however you don't get to see everything else this way we found it better to walk around with the map. we stumbled across many lovely places to eat etc this way. I would recommend wearing very comfortable flat shoes as we must have walked 10-15 miles in a day! If visiting the colloseum on a combined ticket, buy it from the Forum as the queues are much shorter and you can then bypass the queues at the colloseum or get a fastpass.
All in all, we loved the city and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonNeal2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    291
    146
    75
    64
See reviews for
162
295
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms several months in advance. Due to the warnings we confirmed The rooms many times with The manager, Owner, etc including the day before Our arrival and were guaranteed Our rooms were ready for us. We arrive and aré told They Dont have Our rooms and want to switch us to their other hotel, which TA warns about. They blamed their "central booking agency". We ask to speak to The Manager and & aré told he cant be reached for another 3 hours. Horrible. The outcome remáins to be seen.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank mizcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very well located -- close to the Tiber and (although on the opposite side) practically withing walking distance of Vatican City. We stayed for only two nights at the end of May 2014. Small room on third floor at the back so very quiet, but no view. Worked for us at that pricepoint (less than $100/night), as there is a delightful roof deck (charming views) for an evening drink (BYOB) (and where an excellent breakfast buffet is also made available). Room and bathroom were perfectly serviceable. Staff accommodating. Depending on what you're looking for (and to do)/need, definitely recommended as worth considering.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is on a busy street leading to the luongomare and the bridge across the Tiber to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weebachle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and upgraded to a bigger room for our 2nd and 3rd nights, on account of the occasion of our stay. The first room was a little on the small side, but nothing to complain about at all, it still fit our stuff fine. The bathrooms were beautifully done, with glass showers, marble floors, etc. The second room we were upgraded to was much bigger. The decor and furniture was perhaps what some people may call "dated", but we thought it was charming and authentic. There was an odd smell in the room, perhaps something coming from outside, or the fact that the carpets were older, but it wasn't bad enough that we thought to complain about it. The rooftop terrace was spectacular! The views were amazing, and it was a great place to unwind. The front desk staff even recommended we pick up some wine to enjoy up there if we liked, so we did, and it was a lovely way to end the evening. The breakfast is served upstairs as well (with indoor and outdoor options), and it was delicious. Lots of variety, great service, and stunning views. The front desk staff were immensely friendly and helpful! This hotel is in the best location to walk to many of Rome's sites, which is why we'd pick it, but we'd return for the service!

Room Tip: Some rooms have better wifi service than others. If you're travelling for business and this is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v_island_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

So we finished our two week vacation in Rome and stayed at the Genio Hotel.

The location is perfect to see Rome. Walking distance to the Vatican and plenty of restaurants and shops near by.

This a small boutique hotel and not a full service Westin or Marriott. You really have to understand that going into this hotel.

The rooms are nice and the front desk staff courteous and helpful. We stayed with a group of several couples. All concerns were addressed by the front desk in a reasonable time period.

Yes the elevator is slow and the rooms are smaller. The air conditioning works ok.. but your in Rome not Orlando Florida. But the location again...can not be beat.

The roof top terrace has a stunning view of St Peters and is the perfect place to have cocktails. We picked up a few bottles of wine and some cheese from a local market. We enjoyed the evening on the roof as the sun set.

The breakfast is nice with fruits, cheese, breads and scrambled eggs. Very simple but nice. There are a dozen small restaurants in walking distance if you want something different.

Room Tip: No two rooms are the same. Be specific on what you want and you will be fine. The elevator is slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If this hotel is a 4 star hotel then the Westin that we had to move to is a 10 star !!! The room was as big as my walkin closet with no space to even put the luggage. Bedspread was dirty and window looked into a wall 2 feet away! tiny bathroom with no room to even sit on the toilet. Internet connection spotty and no plugs for your phone.... Reception guy was polite but he said cannot do anything as there is a management company if we want to call. We did call and there was nobody that answered. for 220 Euros you can find many better hotels like Albergo De Senatore that is 3 stars!!! AVOID!

Room Tip: "Avoid This Hotel!!!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This small hotel is authentically Italian with an old elevator & room furnishings as evidence. Our air conditioned room had a small balcony & complimentary wi-fi which was an unexpected treat. There's a bright breakfast room with offerings of the usual fruits, cheeses, cereals, & pastries. A roof garden is right outside with tables for those wishing to have a view of Roman rooftops. There are several restaurants on the street & a bus line, as well. The hotel is located right around the corner from the Piazza Navona, a favorite of tourists. We were there on Palm Sunday & I don't recommend going on a holiday. It was too crowded to enjoy the space & the famous Bernini sculpture, Fountain of the Four Rivers in the center which is topped by an obelisk. As the hotel had no restaurant, we had dinner in a small trattoria across the street every evening &, although it wasn't gourmet food, it was quite adequate & the service was charming. My husband was especially fond of the antipasto.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixmoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#422 of 1,258 in Rome
625 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#611 of 1,258 in Rome
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Tiziano Hotel
Tiziano Hotel
#496 of 1,258 in Rome
421 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Rinascimento
Hotel Rinascimento
#590 of 1,258 in Rome
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genio

Property: Hotel Genio
Address: Via Giuseppe Zanardelli 28 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Genio 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Rome's most historic and Baroque district, Hotel Genio has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the city and is just 100 meters from Piazza Navona. Rooms come with air conditioning, carpeted or parquet floors, a TV and a minibar. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and the continental breakfast is served buffet style. Hotel Genio is set in a building dating back to the neo-Renaissance period and is surrounded by sinuous streets that host some of the most popular wine bars, cafes and restaurants in Rome. The property is a 10-minute walk from the shops of Via del Corso. Also, you will reach Castel Sant'Angelo and the Vatican City by simply crossing the Tiber. Piazza Navona is a great choice for travelers interested in food, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Genio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing