We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel”
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #328 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here based on reviews from Tripadivsor. The hotel was nice and it was quiet, not like being right in the center of everything with all the noise. It was very close to all transportation which was an easy and convenient way to get around. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms nice with one exception. Our bathroom had a lot of mold on the ceiling and walls. YUCK! My daughters' room was fine though. They had a very nice free breakfast and the hotel staff was very nice. One other thing is that the elevator is very small. With the exception of the mold, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homeschoolinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    222
    89
    19
    16
See reviews for
113
254
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I have just got back our visit to Rome, although out the way from the historic centre it's quiet and a stone throw away from the termini station! The rooms were clean and fresh! The walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbour using the toilets but that wasn't a huge issue. The breakfast was well presented and i enjoyed the selection of cereals, fruits, crossiants and bread. Only downside was the restaurant that the hitel provided a shuttle service for; service appalling and the food was dire. Wouldn't recommend!! I would recommend the open top buses for getting around Rome! Let's you see Rome in all it's glory! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 433Amy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Two friends and I have just had a 4 night stay at this lovely hotel, |The decor was excellent, the breakfast adequate and the staff friendly. It was in a quiet spot and was only a few minutes walk to the train, bus and metro termini. Only complaint would be that the bedroom safe didn't work. We would certainly recommend it. If you turn right and walk along the street a little way you will come across a lovely little restaurant, ROSSI. Good food, reasonably priced and friendly staff. We would recommend the purchase of a 3 day travel pass which gives you unlimited access to metro and buses., cost - 16.5 euros.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas Center, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We found the Galileo to be a great quiet hotel, in a good location, close to the RR station. The breakfasts were very good. As, we find many European hotel, the beds were very hard for our taste. They charges 5 Euros per 24 hours for WiFi and the signal was somewhat weak. the overall experience was very good and we would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The room was very good, nice decor, clean, not very big but good enough, top cover had some snags (superier room) If you expect to get a hot or cold drink at any other time then breakfast, forget it. There is no bar as advertised in their broucher were you can get a cocktail and have a drink on their roof terrace if the doors were open. The only bar is, breakfast bar, no tea or coffee making facilities in room. so you have to go out, this hotel is not in the centre of Rome so there is not loads of places you can get to quick in the pouring rain. On a dry day it a lovely walk to the centre and surrounds, near metro. I am a diabetic, had an early flight back to England I needed something to eat at 7am, was refused entry to breakfast room, though everything was laid out ready, Explained the situation, still refused me any food untill 7.30 which was to late. Three male employees refused me entry I was near to tears. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabigen, Proprietario at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Mrs Janet,
I am really sorry the attitude of my co-worker and I apologize for the incident.
I hope to see you soon at our hotel and I am sure we will change her mind.
Best regards
Mr. Fabio Gentile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is a really clean and confortable hotel. Away from the noisy city center and nearby to the metro. In 5 minutes you can be in the heart of Rome.

The breakfast was terrible, not enough for a 3 stars hotel in a big city as Rome.
Wifi is not free, you must pay a 5 € fee for a 24h use, the connection is slower than slow.
The rooms are really clean and big. We had a private balcony where we could sit and enjoy of the weather.

If you are looking for an quiet and well located hotel don't doubt it this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The stay at the hotel was very good for us as the location was quite convenient. If you want to avoid hussle-bustle of roma termini area, this is the best choice. Walking from the roma termini & many other eateries too. Clean rooms, bathrooms, etc. Breakfast was really great. Wide spread - toast, cereal, juices, tea, coffee, etc. Worth every penny you pay.
The receptionist gave a map too & was helpful.
The stay was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pr_ri_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#272 of 1,261 in Rome
940 reviews
Esquilino
Montecarlo Hotel
Montecarlo Hotel
#200 of 1,261 in Rome
1,092 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#337 of 1,261 in Rome
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#413 of 1,261 in Rome
759 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#201 of 1,261 in Rome
847 reviews
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#367 of 1,261 in Rome
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Property: Hotel Galileo
Address: Via Palestro 33, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galileo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galileo has been completely refurbished in modern style. Amongst the hotels in Rome, Hotel Galileo stands out for its strategic position in the immediate vicinity of Stazione Termini train station, bus-stops (piazza Indipendenza) and subway stations A (Termini) and B (Castro Pretorio National Library). The hotel is only fifteen minutes away by foot from piazza della Repubblica and via Nazionale. - we look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing