We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel at a corect price”
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #351 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Everything was very good: room, cleanliness, breakfast, position of the hotel beside the important touristic objectives. We liked a lot our room with a large balcony on the fourth level, near the solar.
I recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Galileo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

My daughter and I were booked in to this hotel for a 4 night stay with the travel company David Urquhart. We arrived to check in to our standard twin and were told that there was a problem with the water to our room and did we mind spending the first night at the hotel next door. This was no problem for us and we had a good stay at the alternative (The Hotel Massimo). We returned to The Galileo, as instructed, early next morning to have breakfast. We were then allocated a superior room, larger than the standard and with a balcony as recompence. The room was beautifully decorated and was indeed quite large. I was very suprised as I know of the Italian rating system and was not expecting this standard from a 3 star establishment.
The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and friendly waiting staff. The breakfast room opened out on to a pleasant patio with comfortable furniture.
There is also a solarium on the rooftop which we visited twice......each time we had the place to ourselves. This again was well furnished with whicker chairs and tables also cushioned sun loungers and parasols.
The hotel is well placed for the termini and public transport is easy to use.
I would use this hotel again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillB1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Excellent service, brilliant breakfasts and a great laid on trip to their family restaurant Rosso Liziano. It's a short walk from the Termini station where you can pick up jump on and off bus tours of the city. This was a must as it saved a lot of walking in the heat, especially to the Vatican, which would have been ok if the weather was cooler but it was around 35c most days.

Also a very good restaurant, Ristorante Pizzeria No. 39, just a few doors down for those days when you have walked far too much.

The atrium and the roof terrace were a lovely bonus for chilling at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here in late June.
The room is very small, barely enough room for the bed. We had two cases and needed to place one of the cases in the wardrobe. The positives were that the bed was comfortable, and the hotel is located within easy walking distance of Termini station. Breakfast was ok, but nothing to get too excited about. The coffee machine broke down one morning whilst we were there.
The staff were reasonably helpful and spoke English quite well.
There was no wi-fi for the time we were there. The staff attributed this problem to British telecom, however I was of the understanding that this had been ongoing for some time.
There is a lift, which is quite old, and which broke down whilst we were there.
There are many hotels in the area, and if travelling again, I would explore other options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights from 22/6/2013 to 26/6/2013. We had chosen this hotel after searching in the Internet. We reached on 22//6/2/2013 at about 3 p.m. The receptionist namely mr frank took about three hours for the check-in, not before I insisted for refund of the deposited amount. While making the booking we were asked to give the credit card details and were assured that the same would not be debited and we could make the payment on our arrival. However the credit was charged.
Then mr frank insisted that I would have to book a separate room for my four year old daughter because as per the Italian law she would not be allowed to stay with her parents. When I flatly refused he insisted that we should make additional payment. And then kept on working on his system on the pretext of talking to the owner and getting details of our booking though we had handed him the booking voucher as well as proof of payment. After waiting for three hours when we lost patience we decided to move to another hotel and asked him to refund the money , first mr frank tried to dissuade us by saying he would make some deduction . Even then we were insisting to return the money and cancel our booking, then mr frank allowed us to check in and very kindly neither did he insist on booking another room nor asked for more payment for the child.

This hotel has no facility like wifi or Internet though the web site claims so. The break fast is awful. The reception staffs except ms alessandra are all ill mannered. We wanted to do the city tour at night and to save time we contacted the reception to do the booking and were told the tariff would be 42 euro for each of us. When we insisted that for the child of four years there had to be some discount ,we were told she would be charged 38 euros and promptly the receptionist guy gave us the receipt and told us to make payment at the tour operator 's office. When we reached at the office we were asked if we were from hotel galileo. We denied and inquired about the tour and were surprised to know that for us the tariff was 42 euro, but the child is free. It is really shocking at such pathetic attitude of this hotel staffs. During the stay we realised the hotel was almost empty though it was peak tourist seaSon.

We had booked galileo hotel for our 2n stay in Florence and were very apprehensive after our miserable stay in rome, but to our surprise the staffs we were extremely helpful and courteous and the rooms were very nice.

Pragnya

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pragnya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabigen, Direttore at Hotel Galileo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

In regard to your considerations we would like to point the next things:
1) The check-in normally is very fast, it take less than 5 minutes, but when it's missing some documents for identification as it was your case, we have to take more time because according to the Italian law nobody can enter in a hotel without being registered.
2) The breakfast is a very rich one and it's continental, and not just italian like in the most 3 star hotels!
3) The internet wifi connection is free for everybody.
4) The hotel is always fully booked, so it's very strange for us your conclusion.

We are sorry for your negative experience, but you have also to consider that some things are more culturally than bad behaviour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a charming hotel set in a very quiet area of Rome. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we had the added bonus of a private terrace. Our breakfast was substantial and delicious and we found all the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel has an atrium terrace on the first floor, with comfortable seating. On the roof there is a sun terrace with comfortable seats and sun recliners. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from a metro station and five minutes walk from the main Termini railway station, which is also the central bus station, metro station and pick up point for all the tour buses. At present Rome only has two metro lines so the subway is very easy to follow. I would recommend anyone to buy a Roma Pass which entitles you to free public transport, as well as other free tours and discounts. All in all I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. It was everything we could have wished.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from the street so all the rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uterpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel was excellent, only reason I didn't give 5 stars was the wifi did not work for the 7 nights we stayed there. The staff were friendly, the rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. Breakfast was very good and plenty to eat at the buffet. Very close to Termini station and loads of nice restaurants nearby. Everything is within walking distance, with supermarkets and restaurants all close by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#275 of 1,267 in Rome
953 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#325 of 1,267 in Rome
624 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#225 of 1,267 in Rome
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#390 of 1,267 in Rome
802 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo
Hotel Massimo
#737 of 1,267 in Rome
109 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#206 of 1,267 in Rome
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Address: Via Palestro 33, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £56 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galileo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galileo has been completely refurbished in modern style. Amongst the hotels in Rome, Hotel Galileo stands out for its strategic position in the immediate vicinity of Stazione Termini train station, bus-stops (piazza Indipendenza) and subway stations A (Termini) and B (Castro Pretorio National Library). The hotel is only fifteen minutes away by foot from piazza della Repubblica and via Nazionale. - we look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing