We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Galileo ... what a star”
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #314 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Qrendi, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel Galileo ... what a star”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked this hotel for a family vacation after reading a number of reviews on Tripadvisor and other websites.

The hotel was well priced and a stone throw away from from Termini Station, which made it appealing. The rooms were laid out properly and clean, including the toilets. The continental breakfast was more than enough to boost us through our morning walks around Rome.

Staff spoke good English and were very helpful when needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with innstant.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Duncanborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    219
    89
    19
    16
See reviews for
111
251
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Rooms were nice and clean. In a very safe and vibrant location close to termini station and walking distance to some major city attractions. The service was good and in general I was satisfied with my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights in September and loved this hotel very much! Great location in a quiet spot nears the center and only 10 minutes walking from Termini train station, metro and bus stations. Another metro station Castro Pretorio (line B) is 5 minutes away on foot. I had a very clean and cozy room, equipped with TV and lockbox. Comfortable bed, fresh bed linen and towels. Also the bathroom was nice and comfortable, with hair dryer. The spacious breakfast room adjoining a beautiful roof terrace! The breakfast was excellent in my opinion: fruit juice and mineral water, coffee and tea, a variety of canned fruit, fresh bread and pastry, yogurt, cereal , cheese, cold meats, milk. Espresso made fresh was delicious!! WiFi worked well, but only in the breakfast room. I’d be happy to stay there again and I can recommend this lovely hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tatiana123452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Was actually booked in to an alternative hotel but when we arrived they had no record of our booking - we were actually glad as the Galileo was a great little find. Reception staff friendly and pleasant room very clean. Appreciated the extra touches, Sammy the driver and drinks with Fabio - happy memories of Rome. Although the English translation in the restaurant was hilarious and made no sense at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melboune
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

In a great position. Tucked behind another building kept street noise to a minimum. Seemed to rate more highly than 3 star. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great breakfast with plenty of selections. Close to train and bus terminal. Quiet area with good restaurants just literary down the street.

Room Tip: Large clean room nd ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mckenzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hershey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our Ist stop after our flight from the USA , we were happy to find our Hotel. It was conveniently located with a cheerful check in. There were many little places to eat on the same street to choose from as we waited for our room. The staff kept our luggage safely as we explored the city on a hop on hop off bus tour the following day. Our room was clean, safe and quiet. Breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor for the view of Roma's rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I can recommend this hotel to anybody, although only a 3 star but excellent service and very friendly staff. Well situated and great value for money. Thanks to all the staff for an unbelievable stay.
Breakfast the best we had in Italy, dining room huge and a good selection of food.

Room Tip: Any room there is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eishhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#259 of 1,256 in Rome
915 reviews
Esquilino
Montecarlo Hotel
Montecarlo Hotel
#203 of 1,256 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo
Hotel Massimo
#713 of 1,256 in Rome
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#213 of 1,256 in Rome
826 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#351 of 1,256 in Rome
603 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#392 of 1,256 in Rome
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Property: Hotel Galileo
Address: Via Palestro 33, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galileo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galileo has been completely refurbished in modern style. Amongst the hotels in Rome, Hotel Galileo stands out for its strategic position in the immediate vicinity of Stazione Termini train station, bus-stops (piazza Indipendenza) and subway stations A (Termini) and B (Castro Pretorio National Library). The hotel is only fifteen minutes away by foot from piazza della Repubblica and via Nazionale. - we look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing