We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Spot To Explore Rome From”
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #373 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Hotel Galileo, Rome for three nights. The shuttle bus from the airport dropped us very close to the hotel at 9.30pm but it was very hard to find the hotel as it is up a small alleyway and isn't very well sign posted from the road. On arrival we were offered a courtesy lift to and from a restaurant associated with the hotel, being tired and hungry we accepted the offer. The driver was v pleasant and friendly but the food was v expensive and disappointing - it was the worst meal we had while in Rome, so we don't advise anyone to accept the same offer - there are much nicer restaurants v close to the hotel.

We were given Room 102 and it was v clean and comfortable. The only fault it has was its position - it is at the top off the stairs, where the lift opens and the breakfast room is accessed - so noise levels can be a problem. Other than that the room was fine with a very nice bathroom and strong shower. The room was serviced every morning and the women in the dining room were very friendly. The breakfast was nice, variety of tinned fruits, cheese and hams, yogurts, cereals, bread, juices and plenty of tea and coffee.

There was a very friendly girl on reception the first two mornings we were there and nothing was too much trouble. Her friendliness was very much appreciated.

The Hotel Galileo is very close to the Termini Station but we walked every where and didn't use public transport apart from a hop on hop off bus for the first day to get our bearings.

So in summary the Hotel Galileo was a great base to explore Rome from. We were v comfortable and well looked after. Pity there was no bar and Room 102, while very nice, can be noisy.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

A couple of us stayed for 3 nights in February during the Scotland v Italy rugby, the hotel is located 5 mins from the main railway and bus station with a good 30min walk to the majority of the sights that you will want to see.
Service was great but the rooms left a lot to be desired (space mainly) I was informed by my booking agent that we had been given room upgrades and when you're told this you have some expectations as what you're getting. On this occasion I could only think if this is a superior room I am very relieved that I got the upgrade.
Both rooms were clean and tidy and you could have swung a cat in mine but you would have been arrested for animal cruelty as it would have hit every wall in the room(even if was a very small cat). The second room however was a different matter, if you wanted to swing a cat and the cat was in the room prior to you getting there you would have had to wait until it came out before you could get in.
I will be going back to Rome but I doubt that I would stay here again due too it's location and room sizes.
There is a huge choice of accommodation in Rome especially out with the main holiday season.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Hotel 3 star was very clean & rooms seem to have been refurbished recently. Shower rooms were of a high standard, very powerful jets on shower!
Booked a twin room, ended up in a triple, would have preferred a twin room with a small sitting area, as no easy chairs for relaxing after a hard day sightseeing!
Main downside and reason for not giving a 5 was that there was nowhere in the hotel to get a coffee or drink & relax! Would of appreciated tea/coffee making facilities in room as no bar area!
Hotel not far from Termini station, with all the hop-on hop-off buses.
Staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was not expecting much for the price we paid but it was a surprise that a room was very clean, including the bathroom, also excellent breakfast. The hotel stuff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The only problem was a noise from the hall, room doors are not great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvaDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked this hotel for a family vacation after reading a number of reviews on Tripadvisor and other websites.

The hotel was well priced and a stone throw away from from Termini Station, which made it appealing. The rooms were laid out properly and clean, including the toilets. The continental breakfast was more than enough to boost us through our morning walks around Rome.

Staff spoke good English and were very helpful when needed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with innstant.com
4  Thank Duncanborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Rooms were nice and clean. In a very safe and vibrant location close to termini station and walking distance to some major city attractions. The service was good and in general I was satisfied with my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights in September and loved this hotel very much! Great location in a quiet spot nears the center and only 10 minutes walking from Termini train station, metro and bus stations. Another metro station Castro Pretorio (line B) is 5 minutes away on foot. I had a very clean and cozy room, equipped with TV and lockbox. Comfortable bed, fresh bed linen and towels. Also the bathroom was nice and comfortable, with hair dryer. The spacious breakfast room adjoining a beautiful roof terrace! The breakfast was excellent in my opinion: fruit juice and mineral water, coffee and tea, a variety of canned fruit, fresh bread and pastry, yogurt, cereal , cheese, cold meats, milk. Espresso made fresh was delicious!! WiFi worked well, but only in the breakfast room. I’d be happy to stay there again and I can recommend this lovely hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tatiana123452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#262 of 1,271 in Rome
966 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo
Hotel Massimo
#725 of 1,271 in Rome
111 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#346 of 1,271 in Rome
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#429 of 1,271 in Rome
817 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#321 of 1,271 in Rome
640 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#268 of 1,271 in Rome
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Address: Via Palestro 33, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galileo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galileo has been completely refurbished in modern style. Amongst the hotels in Rome, Hotel Galileo stands out for its strategic position in the immediate vicinity of Stazione Termini train station, bus-stops (piazza Indipendenza) and subway stations A (Termini) and B (Castro Pretorio National Library). The hotel is only fifteen minutes away by foot from piazza della Repubblica and via Nazionale. - we look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing