We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Villafranca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villafranca
Ranked #500 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a 4 night break, location was great as we were able to walk from Rome termini station in about 5 minutes. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff. Our room was on the 1st floor and although small was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, with almost everything you needed, (a kettle / teamaking facilities would be nice though) the bed was the hardest bed I had ever "slept" in though. (room 107)
As smokers we requested a smoking room and were told that we could move onto the 6th floor the following day and to leave our luggage in the room and a porter would transfer it for us whilst we were out. The room on the 6th floor (602) was even nicer (the walls were fabric panelled rather than just painted and the bedding was matching, very plush and the very large bed was sooo comfortable, again it was spotleesly clean and we had maid service every day with fresh towels etc. and automatic lighting in the coridors / bathroom. We had a balcony but mainly rooftop views, but we werent there to admire the view from the hotel anyway.
Breakfast was self service with a great choice, either hot or cold, and the table was cleared of used crockery as soon as you'd finished, the staff worked extremely efficiently.
Overall we would definatly stay here again, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, clean rooms and good location for main station and underground Metro.

Room Tip: If smokers requesat a smoking room, this hotel does have them on the 6th floor also remember to add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sds15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the Villafranca for three nights in February and posisbly because we had requested a double room rather than a twin, found the room a little small even by Roman standards. However, all we really needed was a base and breakfast so it was not a problem and the bed was very comfortable - we slept better than at home! The shower, though, was really very cramped and had no shelf inside for toiletries which would have been a help.

The hotel is easy to find and only a short walk from the Termini station. There are a number of eateries nearby of varying standards and price (we would particularly recommend Il Leone d'Abruzzo) and it is not too long a walk to most of the major attractions of this wonderful city. Reception staff were helpful and the hotel itself is clean and modern, although the lifts often go up and down a few times while you wait to keep up with demand. Our room was at the front on the second floor (so we didn't use the lifts that much) - I imagine that in high season it could be quite noisy from street sounds but was not too bad at this time of year.

The spread for breakfast was wide and varied but not topped up that well - they serve between 7am and 10am but if you are any later than around 9am the food starts to run out and not be replaced. The breakfast area is also quite small and on Sunday morning, when everyone was getting ready to eat and check out, there were not enough tables at some points. Hot and cold foods - scrambled egg, sausage and bacon, cold meats and cheeses, toast and bread, rolls, cakes and biscuits, fresh and tinned fruit, yoghurt, cereals, coffees etc from machines, and fruit juices. Enough to keep you going without lunch!

The room was clean and fresh towels were provided every day if needed. The bedside drawers did contain items from the previous occupants and there are not really enough drawers if you are there for more than a few days. However it did seem that we had the smallest room on the floor so perhaps other rooms have more storage space.

We would not have chosen this hotel had it been our own decision (it was part of a package) but it was perfectly reasonable and if we wanted to stay in that area of the city again, we would consider the Villafranca - but maybe ask for a larger room!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Just got back from three nights staying here with friends. We were given rooms 701 and 703 which were on the very top floor. 701 was overlooking the side of building with a very small balcony, but the views were pretty of rooftops. One issue for the room is the shower which is only a mixer tap over the bath and was faulty so we basically had to stand holding the shower head for the entire time making washing my hair very difficult. Another issue with the hotel was I could not get wifi at all in my room despite reception telling me I should. Was a bit frustrating as I'd taken my iPad to keep in touch back home but wifi worked in and around reception and the bar so wasn't the end of the world.

We we checked in by Marco and Ameliano who pretty much manned reception thought our stay. They were great, very friendly, spoke excellent English and always happy to help us with our questions. We were unfortunately there for the snow and being a freezer I mentioned I was a little cold. Within ten minutes we were given extra blankets which was much appreciated. There is a barman there called Chokan who I have to tell you is fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble day or night for him and was always very accommodating. The friendliness of the staff are in my opinion what makes this hotel a great stay. Chokans friendliness was what made our stay so very warm and welcoming.

We used the bus from the airport which goes directly from the airport to the termini. It was then a good five minute walk to the hotel. The colleseum was about 30 minutes away walking and as all the tour busses travel via the termini it does make the hotel a fairly good spot. We also found even when we went walking and got lost, being right by the termini was a good landmark to head back to.

Breakfast is really good with cereals, toast meats and a few pastries. You can also have a fresh coffee made free of charge at breakfast if you ask. Breakfast was so good we only needed an evening meal as it kept us going on day.

We didn't get to see everything and we truly fell in love with Rome so fully intend on going back and in all probability we would use this hotel again. I would ask for a different room though as the lower rooms did have much bigger balconies and hopefully the wifi works better. The only other thing we would have liked was a few more English channels on the tv as BBC World news or CNN, which were the only choices got a little boring but that's just a niggle as we didn't really go on holiday to watch tv.

Room Tip: Top floor (701) had no wifi and balconies are much smaller than lower floors. Our room was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiamia111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great location for a sight seeing trip to Rome as close to Termini station and metro. Had no issues with the hotel, reception staff were great. Asked for kettle in the room, it arrived in 5 min, problem with aircon not heating again fixed in minutes.

In addition to the typical continental breakfast there were also scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages.

Considering the price we paid for the whole package trip from the UK the hotel was much better than we could have expected.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tollyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Booked via travel agency, and found it as a quite nice hotel to stay.
At first they gave me a single room near the elevator. It was dark and cramped. So I decided to ask for another room. Luckily, I got a twin bedroom which was more spacious. Did not get a view, but it was more comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We decided to use some racked up points during our stay in Rome, and got this hotel for free for a few days. The location is pretty good- short walk (very do-able with normal size luggage) to the train station. Felt safe at night. We had arrived with a rental car having driven from Amalfi.. and had a parking spot right out front.. p.s. NEVER rent a car in Rome!!!! The front staff seemed very cold but they did their job and got us our keys quickly. The room was very small, and the bed hard as anything... but clean and generally typical european standards. the best part was the breakfast. They have machines to make you own coffee and nice cheeses and meats, breads, fruits, yogurt... and it was nice to sit with all the various travelers in the brekfast room. If you get a good enough deal and are looking for a place near the termini then I do suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeanneOnAStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Best Western Villafranca is conveniently located near the Roma Termini station (about 5 minutes walk) and Metro Line B station. It is easy to get around and accessible to major attractions via the Metro. In addition, there are a lot of restaurants selection and supermarket in the vicinity so it is perfect for travelers in Rome.
The room is modern, clean, with good amenities thereby offering good value. I enjoyed the sumptuous spread of the buffet breakfast, overall good Best Western style hotel.
A tip to get to the hotel from Roma Termini, when you exit the station, turn left and walk along Via Marsala. When you see Via Vicenza, turn right and walk until you see Via Villafranca, you will see the hotel on your left.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anggingyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#257 of 1,270 in Rome
1,333 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#468 of 1,270 in Rome
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#231 of 1,270 in Rome
915 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#603 of 1,270 in Rome
314 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#341 of 1,270 in Rome
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villafranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villafranca

Address: Via Villafranca 9, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Villafranca)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#258 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £54 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villafranca 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villafranca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Villafranca
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing