We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, functional”
Review of Hotel Villafranca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villafranca
Ranked #499 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine, functional”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

An easy 5-7 minute walk from the main train station. Its fine as a place to just come home to at night and sleep, I wouldn't spend any extra time here. Bed was not great quality, I didn't sleep that well. Rooms are very basic - I can't imagine where the 4 star rating came from. Wireless worked well. The receptionist at evenings/night is rude and unhelpful. The guy in the morning was pleasant. Breakfast had a lot of good choices. The cappuccinos from the bar area are much better than what you get out of the machine in the breakfast room. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes in the area. Its about a 30-40 minute easy walk to shopping at Via del Corso, otherwise there is a metro station just around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redskins70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    372
    257
    98
    45
See reviews for
150
381
35
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The location is not the best if you are a tourist but you do save a decent amount of money as you are able to get to most of the main attractions via the tube/metro. The service was alright but everything in our room was falling apart- the bedside drawer was broken in the back so everything kept rolling all the way back, the knobs fell off the closet as well as the other bedside drawer. The bathroom was a bit cramped and the plumbing was not the best as the toilet emanated a really bad smell if the bathroom is not used for a while- we would come back from sightseeing to a very unpleasant smell as we would be out all day! The breakfast was very average and the coffee machine was out of order one of the days. The lobby is pretty spiffy but the furniture in the bedrooms is a bit worn and outdated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for 5 days at this hotel. There is no main elevator, but 2 very small and slow elevators. On arrival the front desk man was very curt and made for a very bad impression especially since we were exhausted from the long plane ride. Fortunately, the daytime reception staff was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The room was clean but small. The free in-room safe was not securely fastened to the wardrobe shelf so we did not use it. The breakfast was free, but boring after a few days. They could add more variety with more fresh salads other than just tomatoes and maybe pancakes sometimes. The drink machine on our floor was not cold and does not give change. The in-room refrigerator had no setting to adjust the temperature; it just kept items somewhat cool. There was a great take-out pizzeria called Pizzeria Del Secolo around the corner that was delicious and cheap and it was also a good place to buy your cold bottle water and drinks. We also ate pizza at the Taverna Pretoriana which I don't recommend unless you like very thin crust.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aizumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my extended family of 7 (husband, 4 children and my mom). The proximity to the train station allowed for a 15 minute walk, with luggage, to the hotel. The rooms were clean and large enough, especially by European standards, to accomodate 4 and 3 of us, respectively. Toiletries were provided and were appreciated. The breakfast selection, included in the price of the room (which we paid for using Best Western Gift Cards via Airmiles!), was extensive and decadent for a hotel, and included a great selection of coffees (espresso, latte, etc.), fresh fruit and pastries. There were many quaint and local restaurants within a minute's walk, and the local shop serving cold beer about 3 doors down was much appreciated during the 44C days! We found the staff to be helpful and efficient and quickly came to the rescue when the main elevator stalled with us inside of it between floors! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here if in Rome again and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopRasFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great location in the centre of Rome. About 4 blocks to the railway station, and within half hour walk to many of the attractions.
Plenty of restaurants and cafes within a short walk which made the hotel well placed for everything we wanted to do.
Breakfast was basic, but was included in the price of hotel, and was more than adequate. The room was small, but essentially clean.
The only negative was the attitude of staff on the front desk. There indifference was a little annoying, but if you ignore this the experience was positive.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here for one night after flying into Rome. The location was convienient - about four blocks from the train station, so I was able to walk with my luggage. I booked a single room and it was tiny - just enough room to walk around the bed, although the bathroom was bigger than other places I've stayed. The room was clean, but in need of some work (burns in the carpet, peeling paint, etc.).The included breakfast buffet had lots of options. Overall, it was fine for one night, but defintely in need of some updates to the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed there for 10 days this Aug. Room small but typical of Rome. Very clean with good, somewhat standoffish staff. No shelf in shower ? Can't figure that one but apparently all rooms same. Breakfast buffet good with decent selection.
Bar and restaurant across road ( 100' ) with indoor/outdoor tables. Good staff from Egypt.
Very good mini-mart in terminii about 1km walk and reasonable prices.
Ruins all over the place but don't leave without a visit to Pompeii

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#344 of 1,258 in Rome
810 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#983 of 1,258 in Rome
246 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castro Pretorio
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#451 of 1,258 in Rome
760 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,066 of 1,258 in Rome
883 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Best Roma
Hotel Best Roma
#806 of 1,258 in Rome
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villafranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villafranca

Property: Hotel Villafranca
Address: Via Villafranca 9, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Villafranca)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#251 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villafranca 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villafranca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Villafranca
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing