We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful hotel at a great rate .. what more could you ask for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #71 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Stayed here for our last 3 nights in Italy and we were extremely happy with our choice. Got a free upgrade to a very large corner room. The breakfasts were above average and the front counter staff couldn't be any more accommodating. The metro is right around the corner and the train station a 5 minute walk away. Everything was clean and comfortable and the bar prices in the evening were most reasonable. Lots of good places to eat nearby as well. Try this hotel you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duke1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

Quiet, gracious and quaint hotel with all the perks. Spacious bar with snacks in the evening, fabulous breakfast buffet, wonderful beds, close to many restaurants and very accomodating staff. Blocks to train station and tour bus pickups.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy0549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed there for two days - we liked almost everything, except a very narrow bathtub (no possible to sit down comfortely, taking into account that we have 38 size in clothes:). Rooms were remarkable!! Veru high ceilings, all decorated subtly, spacious rooms. Delicious B/F, although we did miss tea-making facilities in the room... Staff worth a separate mentioning... Especially JeanFranco!!! He is the best!! Unlike his colleague (dont recall his name, he was servicing us on the evening of check-out - 21 May)... once we asked him to get to know the working hours of FCO airport tax-refund facility, - he couldnt find out - he tried caling the airport (we found out ourselves later on - when got on Internet and FCO webisite). Next time we asked him the exact address of the FCO to put in our GPS navigator - he said "What a strange question?! Airport is aiport!! How would I call in and ask such trifle thing?!" No comment.
Apart from this lazy-thinking person we can only praise this Hotel and its staff!! (Porter-boy was especially lovely person!!).
Hotel is quite high in demand, so better to book in advance!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I travel 75-100 nights per year...Hilton Diamond member for 15 years. In May 2011, we had the opportunity to make a 14 day run through Europe - Rome, Santa Margherita di Pula (on the island of Sardinia), London and Paris. Only drawback was having to quickly make all the hotel reservations with < 2 weeks notice.

This hotel was the first stop and it was a delight to find a spacious, clean and comfortable room which appeared to be recently remodeled. The staff and lobby personnel all spoke good English and were friendly and professional. The location was close to the metro (3 stops to the Colosseum) as well as walking distance to many nice restaurants. We had an inside room which allowed us to sleep with the windows open and at 168 euros per night for a room of this size with a queen bed, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Everything about this hotel was wonderful but they say a picture is worth a thousand words so I took several. This has to be the best breakfast in the city (see pictures) and our room had the only walk out balcony (facing inside) with plants. We spent many a night sitting on that balcony and dreaming about the breakfast. All the staff were very pleasant indeed. Just a little hint. If you want the only nice balcony room maybe see if room 104 is available, it is non-smoking and has a lovely sofa. We may have snuck into some other rooms after they were cleaned and waiting for the next guest so we could get a picture to prove how nice the roooms really are. I got back yesterday and miss the hotels breakfasts. The chocolate croissants were very popular with my spouse. We found the breakfast so good that we could manage just a gelato for lunch. Easy walk with luggage from Termini Station.

Room Tip: Ask for room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baxterthetravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

A very good estabishment with a noticeable focus on quality. The rooms are comfortable. Ours was a reasonable size but our friends had one large enough for a sofa. Both rooms faced the main road so we could not sleep with our windows open. The bathrooms were large with nice amenities. The breakfast was well thoughtout and prepared. The staff very helpful.
Their are a number of restaurants in the immediate area. Our favorite was Mama Angelinas. Excellent!
I would stay here again if I were a frequent traveler to Rome. It is within walking distance to the train station and the metro is less than 100 meters.

Room Tip: Try to get one not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thunderaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Not much more to add to all the positive reviews about this hotel. A real gem. Very professional from the reservation department (Nicole) to the front desk, the concierge service, the bar man, and the staff at breakfast.
Our trip to Rome was a total success, thanks to this hotel !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uphnguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,269 in Rome
1,377 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,269 in Rome
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#108 of 1,269 in Rome
1,218 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#81 of 1,269 in Rome
2,682 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#50 of 1,269 in Rome
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £78 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing