We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel in Europe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #71 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This is a really lovely hotel with heaps of character. We spent four nights here and just loved it. It was comfortable, clean, spacious, friendly, quiet, breakfast was great and ran for 3 hours, wifi was free and fast, the guys on the desk were really nice, friendly and helpful. We had a room with a tiny balcony with doors and bathroom window that opened onto it so you could get fresh air and not have air conditioning on all the time. It was a close walk to the termini. We walked to the Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, Coloseum, Pantheon from here. Caught the metro to the Vatican but walked back from there. After being out in the busyness of Rome it was a lovely place to come back to rest. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stricketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

The best western Canada in Rome was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our 5 weeks stay in Italy. Only a few minutes away from the Train station good restaurants and the staff all were friendly helpful and fun. Breakfast was very good and the rooms wear just beautiful I cannot speak more higly of this hotel it was just great.
Would Definitely stay at this hotel again and would not hesitate to recommended this to anyone waiting to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in this hotel on two Separate occasions and found both rooms wear great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingGing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed in Rome for 3 days, in a room with 2 friends. We had booked into another hotel just 2 minutes walk from here, (on Via San Martino) but to our horror, it was so poor we decided to find somewhere better.

After trying a handful of places around the block, we stumbled into Canada House, whereby we were stunned by the classical themed architecture, paintings and furniture in a modern and stylish hotel. The receptionist (who spoke decent English) was most helpful and offered to show us the room prior to booking. We accepted and couldn't let the opportunity slip.

Room - Lovely old style theme, 4 poster bed etc. Was a little noisy when window is open, and although there wasn't much of a view from it, it didn't matter as you'll spend no time in the room when you're in Rome, and when the window is closed the room is silent, so sleeping is easy. Beds very comfortable, and I have a bad back so this is a good recommendation. Decent sized safe to fit a handful of things in, multiple tv stations, and very spacious bathroom. Air conditioning quite good also.

Hotel itself - Corridors were nicely styled, lift had that classic theme about it with the transparent mesh shaft, and the 2 doors that opened inwards like something from a Bogart movie.

Bar - Comfortable and very reasonably priced. Free internet usage for guests although the lone computer was unavailable at times.

Breakfast - Buffet style, scrambled eggs, sausages, yoghurt, breads, pastries, fruits, cereals, coffee, tea, juice etc all available. I personally didn't like the bacon, sausages and some of the bread but this was par for the course of my stay in Italy, so the hotel can't be blamed for poor food.

Staff - All had decent English, enough to get you by anyway. Quite friendly and helpful. A porter insisted on carrying our bags to the room for us.

Bad points? - Bathroom had no window and could get steamy and very hot for a long time after a shower. No key was available to lock bathroom from inside. I prefer a shower with a proper door so was disappointed to see a curtain in this bathroom. If you're not mad into continental breakfasts then you won't be thrilled by the breakfast, however, it is ok.

Value - €189 per night between 3 people. For the room, location, friendliness of staff, close proximity to 2 excellent restaurants on the same street, and the fact that Termini is 5 mins walk away, I felt that this represented excellent value.

I would freely recommend Best Western Canada House to everyone. It is such a convenient and comfortable hotel and I think it highly doubtful that anyone could be disappointed after staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Have just returned from a 5-night stay, what a fantastic hotel. It is literally a few minutes away from a Metro station and lovely little restaurants. The interior is beautiful, including a quaint little lift, very befitting to Italian style. The rooms are gorgeous with beds you could quite happily stay in forever! Morning breakfast has a wide selection of delicious food and pastries-I highly recommend the croissants with a cappuccino :-) There is a lovely little bar in the lounge where drinks are surprisingly cheap and you are provided with more yummy snacks. Finally, the staff are absolutely wonderful (in particular Vincenzo, Massimo and Edwin). They are warm, friendly and bend over backwards to make you feel right at home. Though it is part of the Best Western chain, I was told it is run by a family and I think this really added to the quality of how the hotel was run. You get far more of the personal touch than you would in some of the larger chain hotels, and it is excellent value for money. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome and truly look forward to being able to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: If you are like me and prefer peace and quiet at night, book a room on a high floor away from the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saz241986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This hotel was a great find in a good location in Rome. Located minutes away from Termini, it was very convenient to walk or metro to all attractions. Room was very comfortable and quiet. The staff were friendly and provided excellent service and information. Breakfast was a plentiful spread of great food. Would come back and stay here again. Price per night was a little steep but it was worth it for the quiet and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Recently stayed at BW Canada in Rome.Staff were excellent,attentive and polite Room as pictured, lovely clean & bathroom quiet large for European standards. Great location, 5 minute walk from Terminii (main railway station). Heaps of reasonably priced restaurants within a 5-10 walk. Buffet breakffast was more than adequate to start the day with. great capiccino. Was a great hotel and a reasonable price. I agree, no fridge in room but they have a bar in the hotel which charges the same rate as street shops for beer,softdrink & wine. Free nibbles to go with that drink at the end of the day. Great atmosphere. A pleasant change from feeling like you are always paying high prices for the pleasure of using the hotels facilities. Highly recommended. Will definetly go back when in Rome. Also free internet a definite bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Negative aspects
Some Front Desk Men note helpful
No frigobar in room
The lift is a great trouble
Air conditioned doens t work well to hot days
My double bad really was to single bed to put together

Positive aspects
Breakfast is excellent
Wait and waitress are so nice people
Good location

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajantte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,270 in Rome
2,544 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,270 in Rome
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,270 in Rome
2,710 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#77 of 1,270 in Rome
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#21 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £77 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing