We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Stylish Hotel in a Quiet Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #67 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Stylish Hotel in a Quiet Area”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I picked the Hotel Canada based on Trip Advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. Stayed here 5 nights after a 2 week wine tour to Sicily with friends. I had a single room and my two female travel companions shared a double (room 112).

The hotel staff were all efficient and accommodating. By day two of our stay the front desk staff knew us and simply handed over our keys and messages when we entered the hotel. I really appreciated this personal touch since the hotel is obviously a cruise line passenger stop-over favorite and can be quite busy.

I also need to commend the front desk staff for their restaurant recommendations. One of my companions has Celiac Disease (no gluten allowed). We showed the night manager a list of restaurants in Rome that specialized in catering to people with this allergy and he asked why we didn't just walk to his favorite seafood restaurant a few blocks away? We agreed and he called the restaurant owner to ensure we'd be well taken care of --which we were. That was great service.

I mentioned the hotel is busy, but it's also relatively small, so we never felt lost in a crowd. The comfortable lobby is set up for small groups to rest, share happy hour drinks and snacks, or use the hotel's guest computer. My friends and I used the lobby to lounge about after breakfast and in the over cocktails after our long walks and guided tours of Rome.

My room (512; highly recommended) was large and very nicely appointed --with a high, painted ceiling. This corner, top floor room doesn't have spectacular views, but with 3 windows opening over quiet streets I could sleep comfortably without air conditioning and rise with the sun each morning. Of course for travellers who prefer to live in the dark, the windows have heavy drapes and iron shutters to block out the light too.

Like several others I enjoyed the breakfast the hotel provides. It is a bit repetitive each day, but hard to complain about the large selection of cereals, meats, eggs, breads/cakes, yogurt, and fruit, they lay out. Really good quality foods, and their coffee and cappuccinos are excellent. I also liked the wait staff. Low key, but very efficient even when the restaurant was crowded –which was every morning starting at 8 a.m.

The only negative some people may find with the hotel is its location. Being close to Rome's main train / bus terminal (~5 blocks away) means the area is both touristy and a tad seedy. I saw it as a positive, since there are many reasonably priced, better-than-average restaurants and pizza places, Internet cafes, and interesting characters 1-2 blocks away. Being in the center of the city was also great since it was only a 10 minute walk to a mass transit/tour bus hub, small shops, and (15-20 minutes) to some of Rome's best historical sites.

I feel confident recommending this hotel to anyone who wants to be away from the action (e.g., the noise and bustle of Campo di Fiori or P. Navonna), and still feel like they're in the heart of Rome. I'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: For solo travellers and couples, room 512 is a great choice. Relatively private, spacious, well appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobbyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    625
    93
    16
    9
See reviews for
516
967
69
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We really liked this hotel, with their helpful friendly staff an great location. Edwin was in charge of the bar area and was always friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and clean, the beds very comfortable and maid service was good. I do think they need more space in the rooms for "your stuff" as in the bathroom had a very small shelf above the sink to put your care needs and there was no drawers to unpack to. I had to lay my clothes flat in the stand up wardrobe. Small negatives for what is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillbilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

On our second trip to Rome, we decided to stay in a different hotel in the area of Castro Pretorio. We had full breakfast and the lovely room, and the whole experience compared to all the other hotels on our vacation was by far the best we encountered. The staff was so accommodating, from laundry to room service. Their recommondations of local restaurant was some of the best meals we enjoyed during our stay. The evening in their lounge was the highlight of everyday. Their waiter went out of his way to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnego6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This hotel was recommended by a friend and it exceeded our expectations. Tastefully decorated throughout with lots of personal touches. Staff were very helpful and pleasant especially the dining room staff. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of cold meats, cheeses, tomatoes, omelettes etc etc, served in a bright well appointed room. The old fashioned lift took me back a few years... We walked to all of the major sites from the hotel and discovered loads of undocumented ones as well - on foot is definitely the best way to see Rome. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just-me-myself-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Canada, Sept 12-15, 2011. The rooms were great, the breakfast magnificent, free internet, easy metro access and several good restaurant within walking distance. A tip for travelers...we found that taking a taxi in Rome was the best way to get around. We were two couples and Taxi fares never exceeded 10euro from key attractions. Not as cheap as metro but way more convenient

Room Tip: We upgraded our room to a Deluxe and was very pleased with the size and accommodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce45069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. Lots of character, great staff, close to the train station and on and on. This was the first hotel we stayed at during our three week five hotel tour. What a great start. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby area was tastefully decorated with some family touches. This area also included the hotel bar which was a great place to relax at the end of a busy tour day and chat with other guests. Edwin at the bar was very efficient and a pleasure to get to know. Our room was very attractive with a canopy bed and many conveniences including Wifi. The bathroom was large and clean. The breakfasts were the best we had during our stay. There was a wide variety of delicious food leaving us wishing that they also prepared dinners. They didn't but the front desk staff recommended some good nearby restaurants. The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the Piazza Repubblica and less than that to the train station--so we were close to the metro station to get to sites. The sites were a walkable distance but you have to like walking. We had arranged a couple of tours in Rome and the hotel staff helpfully confirmed our tour reservations before we arrived. The tour buses picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel. Would we stay here again when in Rome?--absolutely we would.

Room Tip: Room 106 was beautiful but can be a bit noisy when neighbouring hotel guests arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We spent 8 days here before heading to other cities in Italy and then one more night before heading back to the states. Would definitely saty here when I go back to Rome and would recommend it to others. We stayed based on a recommendation from a friend.

Took taxi from the airport (expect it to be about 45 Euros, don't get scammed at the airport!). But when we made day trips it was an EASY walk to the train station. Also convenient to the metro.

Room was very clean and large. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bar was great. The bar area/lobby had lots of chairs, comfortable couches and tables. A nice place to relax after a long day of sightseeing and the bar snacks were delicious and varied from day to day.

Breakast in a pretty, sunny room with a nice spread. WiFi was free (and worked) - just remember to get the access code from the front desk when you check in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havepointswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#89 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing