We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #72 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Convenient to Termini railway station but in a quiet location this delightful hotel combines elegance and contemporary styles without it being a mess. Largish, comfortable rooms tastefully furnished. A quirky lift for those who need one, and a sumptuous buffet breakfast, rounded off by very helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trikemaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    649
    97
    16
    10
See reviews for
533
994
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Hotel was very nice but had a couple of niggles. We were on level 4 (the smoking level) but I have to say you wouldn't have known. The niggles for us were the noise on level 5. There are no carpets on the floors, which is great for cleanliness, but it sounds like there is a party going on up above. It kept us awake and then woke us again at 6.30 in the morning. Also, it didn't help when the cleaner put on the radio of the room opposite that she was cleaning, which was so loud I had to ask her to turn it down. Breakfast was good but terribly busy and had to wait for a table on 2 of the 3 mornings.

The area was fine and much better than a really busy area. Didn't see any unsavoury types!! Hated the Terminii station, which wasn't helped when my husband had his wallet taken from the FRONT of his jeans pocket. They were very clever and clearly earmarked us when we walked down to the platform. They separated our son from us so we had to look out for him, shoved my daughter into me as we boarded the metro, I then fell into a suitcase and they took the wallet, removed all the money, threw the wallet on the floor and ran. Be careful there. Far better to use the metro entrance just around the corner. Far more civilised and a lot less travellers.

Two great restaurants nearby - Mama and Angels and Il Leoni d'Abruzzia.

The staff were great here - all amazingly friendly and helpful.

Yes, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the top of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheesepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I was initially disappointed with the hotel, primarily with my room. It was tiny, and the bed for the two of us was two smaller beds placed together. (They were supposed to be twin beds, but they seemed so narrow.) Not all that comfortable, either. To be fair, it was a standard room not a deluxe room. However, over time, I came to appreciate the charms of this hotel.

Pros:
Location right near a Metro stop. The hotel is also very walkable to the Termini station. If you are coming directly from Termini station with luggage, skip the subway and just walk the few extra blocks. There is a lot of up and down in the metro.
Breakfast: Lovely breakfast in a charming breakfast room n the first floor. There is no view of the city, but your surroundings are so pleasant, you will not miss it. The staff in the breakfast area are very pleasant.
Inexpensive drinks in the bar, served by a very nice bartender.
Room on the interior courtyard was very quiet.
Room and bathroom were very clean

Cons:
As noted above, the beds left something to be desired.
The hairdryer in the bathroom was from another era. It was a short hose attached to a fixed blower. It was somewhat like drying your hair with a vacuum cleaner. Ladies, bring that blowdryer. (Maybe it is better in the deluxe room.)
I wasn't crazy about the Termini area.

Would I stay here again? Yes, if the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteltraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed here for two nights in September 2012, pre-cruise. We all agreed that it was a great hotel. We took the train from the airport and walked from the Termini to the hotel. It took us about 20 minutes with our luggage, 10 without. The staff were friendly, the room and bathroom excellent with a very comfortable bed and decent towels.The hotel has no view but is spotlessly clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet was amazing and a great way to start the day. I would definitely stay here again, hopefully for longer next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xraygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed again at the Hotel Canada prior to boarding our cruise, and found the hotel just as wonderful as the first time. While our room wasn't quite as large as our previous stay, it was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning with delicious pastries and a wide selection of foods. We also enjoyed the evenings when everyone gathers for snacks and drinks in the comfortable rooms just off the lobby...not something you would do at the Hilton. There are lots of nice, inexpensive restaurants in the area, so no need to trek across Rome for dinner after a long day of sightseeing. The hotel is well within walking distance of the train station but far enough away to miss the Termini's "ambiance." All in all, a great experience. Hope to return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

What a fantastic hotel, extremely comfortable and friendly this is a must stay if you are going to this wonderful city. We were there in September 2012 and have nothing negative to say about the hotel, the travel or the city. Special mention must go to the barman who was a joy to talk to and kept me in disaronno and whom always seemed to be there whatever the time! There is a restaraunt just as you walk out the entrance which has great food and the happiest, cheekiest staff ensuring our custom for 3 nights. The Metro (really easy to use) is around the corner and the Termini (bus/rail/tram) a 5 minute walk. The room we had was beautiful, very clean and very well equipped. Breakfast was a feast with very friendly staff. As there is so much to see in Rome, we will be going back in a couple of years time, we will use this hotel again without doubt.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked out to a central courtyard, even with a seemingly busy road fairly close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phiilipkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Amazing hotel - do not hesitate to book!
Upgrade to superior room - beautiful.
If i am ever back in Rome, I will definately re-book at this hotel.
The staff are very friendly, and 3 min walk from Metro. Do not be put off by people saying do not stay near termini. It is central, and excellent for Metro. Yes, there is homeless people, but dont you get that in every city???!
Clean, actually spotless, and rooms very quiet.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a quiet room? and definately upgrade to superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynseysouthside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,622 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#78 of 1,258 in Rome
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#94 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing