We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #69 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice friendly hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel was recommended to us because of its' locaton to Termini and as we were just in Rome for overnight it was perfect. The staff were just so friendly and obliging. The foyer and lounge areas of the hotel are quaint and have a comfortable feel. Our room and bathroom were so big and clean. Was such a pleasant surprise. There are many restuarants around offering good food and not as expensive as the tourtist areas. The lift is amazing. Free WiFi. Would certainly recommend this small friendly hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmakoSmako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    635
    95
    16
    9
See reviews for
521
975
71
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My group of 3 adults stayed for one night this week. The triple room was very nice, with great bathroom and very clean. We needed internet access for our flight check-in and other tasks, but for over 24 hours, neither the wifi (which required text message confirmation) nor the in-house PC could connect to the internet. Other guests were complaining, but there was no move made by the staff (as far as I could see) to fix the problem. Other than that issue, the location was very close to a subway stop on the blue line, and convenient to Termini. The elevator is quite unique.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tubbyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our group of 6 had an enjoyable stay in the Best Western Canada. Great location, clean rooms, delicious breakfast, good service. We would definitely stay again. Next time, I will bring my American hair dryer :). The one here worked fine, but I missed mine!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElissaJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here last year as I needed somewhere close to the termini station. When I returned to Rome for 3 nights I couldn't think of anywhere else to stay. It was jut as good as last year. All the staff were friendly and helpful; especially Richard behind the bar, Massimo and Michela during breakfast. The front desk staff were also very helpful.
The rooms are not big, but a good size for a city hotel. Rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished. You can't fault the toiletries in the bathroom. Much more than you would usually get in a 3 star hotel.
There is plenty of choice of food for breakfast. I've recommended this hotel to friends who agree it's a great stay. Thank you to the wonderful staff at Hotel Canada for great service.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Only just getting to write this review. 2nd time actually staying in the city and everything I would expect from a hotel in Rome. Amazing, friendly, helpful staff. Great food. Beautiful spacious rooms.

Very classic Italian style, frescos etc., what needed to be was updated but the character of the hotel was kept intact.

The only issue I had was the area. It was very convenient for sightseeing, it's away from the main sights but the Stazione Termini was literally a 3 minute walk and buses to other parts of the city just around the corner. However, being so close to the Termini meant there was a rougher edge to the neighbourhood. We were 5 women travelling together and there were mixed reactions to the day/night feel. I felt it was surprisingly ok at night as there were a LOT of neigbourhood restaurants that were jumping loads of people sitting outside, but I always feel comfortable in Rome so even when it was quiet I never felt uncomfortable.

Wi-fi was a bit spotty and really had to work hard to make/maintain a connection, however, air conditioning was good, especially during the August heatwave that was on at the time.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel, I had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ysabeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Staying here for almost a full week with my kids, we were impressed by the size of the room (#322), the size of the bathroom, the tasteful decor, and the quietest air conditioning ever! Kids were sequestered to smaller area with twin beds but A/C took a while to circulate to their area. Quiet b/c of the distance from the elevator, not many visitors booked on my floor and double-glazed windows. Awesome showers. BIG breakfasts with lots of selection if you arrive before 9:30 am in July. I honestly didn't have to have a lunch as I stuffed myself with croissants, cakes, scrambled eggs, artichokes, etc. [Fresh fruit wasn't so fresh though.] Massimo, who took your tea/coffee order always had a kind smile on his face and staff worked quickly in the small breakfast room. The lovely housekeeper always greeted me and my children with a genuine smile. Vittorio (?) at the front desk was awesome as he told us to take the #85 which starts/stops nearby at Piazza Independenza and goes on a scenic route by Via Corso, the Colloseum and S. Giovanni in Laterno/S and discussed other bus routes as well. (Children under 10 yrs can ride public transit for free!) As I have young children, the hotel location is quite far to walk to all the sites (if you are 5 yrs old walking in 30 C temperatures) and a bit seedy near Termini Station but riding the subway (Station Castro Pretoria very close by) was no better as it was highly crowded and not air-conditioned sometimes. We had some trouble with the WiFi initially and one large fellow at reception wasn't super-helpful and gave us a phone number to contact for service support but luckily the WiFi worked itself out the next day. I have to admit that booking 2 months in advance gave us a price of 155E per night for a family of 4 but when I booked 3 weeks later to add days, the price jumped to 255E per night SO this hotel is fantastic if you can get yourself a good quote. We would definitely come back if we could get a lower quote per night.

Room Tip: Room 322 was relatively quiet and away from the elevator but outside noise pervades if windows are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canucksontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have visited the Best Western Canada twice in the last three years and surprisingly the staff remembered us. The hotel is a good value with many local restaurants around the corner. It is not close to many attractions, but you will find that is true in Rome. This hotel is close to a bus and metro stop which we utilized all the time. The rooms were clean and modern. We had two adults and two teens (16 and 17) in the room and had plenty of space. The room was large for a European hotel. It was a good value and the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#82 of 1,256 in Rome
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#94 of 1,256 in Rome
1,469 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,256 in Rome
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing