We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable stay in an old world hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #73 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“a comfortable stay in an old world hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a most comfortable stay at this hotel. The metro station is just around the corner and the hotel is only a few minutes walk from Termini station. Importantly for us, the Autostradale airport bus we used from Ciampino airport runs to and from a square a mere 10 minutes walk away. You can book that through the Ryanair website.
There were three of us in our room (234) and it was spacious and the double bed was excellent. The air conditioning did break down on the second night but this was repaired the following day.
Breakfast was very good. There were a range of breads, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, meats, cheese, hot sausages and egg, as well as juices and hot drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    647
    97
    16
    10
See reviews for
532
993
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel - it was actually nicer in person, I think, than in the photos. The room was large, clean and nicely decorated. The neighbourhood was actually a quiet respite from some of the more touristed areas of Rome. The hotel is situated right around the corner from the Metro station, and a short walk from Termini. The breakfast was good too. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janmacdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great hotel in a convenient area with a metro on the doorstep and only a sort walk to Termini. Hotel staff were very friendly and the room was pleasant and well equipped. There was no tea making kit in the room but was supplied on request. Good restaurants in the area we enjoyed Mamma Angelas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharryCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, Moray, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I celebrated our ruby wedding anniversary in Rome staying at the Hotel Canada. We were allocated Room 526 which was a decent size, with plenty of drawers and cupboard space.The bathroom was spacious and airy. There was some residual traffic noise from the road below, but that did not bother us.
Although the area surrounding the hotel is a bit scruffy, we did not feel threatened either during the day or when returning from an evening out.
Train/metro/bus are all allocated at Termini, a 10 minute walk away from the hotel. You can purchase a one day or three day metro/bus/tram ticket which is great if you have walked to the city (this is the best way to discover the city) and you are now tired, taking transport back is a doddle.
Eateries abound in Rome. Nearby the hotel, minutes away, were Mamma Angelas and Dell'Omo - both excellent. It is also worth going over to the Trastevere area of Rome, we tried La Scala, another lovely eating place.
Finally, we hotel staff were warm and friendly, from the breakfast crew, front of house, and the housemaids. The hotel was spotless throughout.
All in all a very enjoyable break, and we thoroughly recommend the Hotel Canada.
Grazie mille!

Room Tip: If you don't mind being 5 floors up (there is a lift) our room 526 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete-the-Heat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

amazing hotel,
Staff is very helpful and courteous both the front desk and breakfast service.
I want to recommend a guy at front desk ( forgot his name) but has big moustache, very helpful.
Dining hall for the breakfast service looks great and breakfast service is good.
very conveniently located near the train station.
rooms are little small but same as all other hotels in Italy.
will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prannaysingla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is very conveniently located by the Central Train station and walk-able (less than 10 mins). It is also close to the Castro Pretorio Metro Station (5 min walk). This made our arrival and departure by train extremely convenient. The rooms are well furnished and the beds were comfortable, but we were disappointed they did not have any in-room fridge. Included breakfast was decent and adequate, although not as gourmet as some of the other hotels where we had stayed while in Italy (e.g. store bought versus fresh baked goods?). The small old-fashioned elevator, while quaint, proved to be a little annoying when we were in a hurry to get in or out of our room. All in all, it was a reasonably priced room in an expensive city like Rome -- we would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a lower level floor if waiting for an elevator bothers you. Higher level if you want to try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonO-in-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had stayed at the Hotel Canada four years ago and gave it a excellent rating. It's still very good. The breakfast is good, but not the outstanding breakfast we experienced four years earlier. The bell staff is very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff is OK, but not the MOST friendly. Hotel Canada is quite convenient to the train station. You wouldn't want to be any closer, but Hotel Canada is just beyond the area of influence of the station. It is right around the corner from a Metro Station. The mattresses are the best we 've experienced in a couple week trip through Italy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,621 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#79 of 1,258 in Rome
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#95 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Relais 6
#29 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing