We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic charm and convenience ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #66 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Taipei
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historic charm and convenience ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Really a beautiful hotel from the classic lobby and lounge to the elevators and the well kept rooms. Inside rooms have less of a view but a balcony and more space. Location is also only 4 blocks
To the Termini. Service was friendly but just very slightly aloof? Overall I would stay again for he charm.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lohbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,271
    615
    90
    15
    9
See reviews for
504
946
69
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We chose this hotel based on reviews and combination of price, location, cost. The hotel was very clean. Rooms were well appointed, clean, good water pressure, sound system in rooms, comfortable beds. We needed a place for me, my wife and our two teenage sons. Most European rooms only accommodate 2 so the same applied here...we needed two rooms. We paid 139 Euros per room per day. I emailed my boarding passes to the front desk and they had them printed for us and waiting for us when we checked out. Taxi to airport was there within 3 minutes. The hotel was about a 25 minute walk to the Colosseum which was fine for us. Hotel is also just a couple blocks from the main train terminal where you can also pick up the metro and on/off tour busses.

Room Tip: Sleep quality did not get 5 stars since the beds were singles (2 per room). They were comfortable n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I am just leaving Rome and Hotel Canada this morning. This place is clean and fresh. The rooms are well furnished and have everything you need. Front desk staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. There is a bar in the lobby with very inexpensive beverages and free snacks. The breakfast is a large buffet from eggs to desserts! Michela in the breakfast room is very friendly and efficient. This place has it all working right. Located near two different metro lines.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel Canada is a fabulous place to stay when in Rome. Rooms are large and have great charm, elegant drapery and decorations, antique furniture. I have never stayed at a hotel where staff has been so accommodating, especially Riccardo from Peru, the bartender.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of our holiday to Italy to visit the attractions of Rome. We were not disappointed. The location from the Termini, Metro and bus was ideal. Loved the quirky lift to our lovely room which was spotlessly clean with a comfortable four poster bed. Hotel amenities met all our requirements. Lounge/bar area provided a comfortable retreat after a days sightseeing where Richard, the person in charge of this area, was the perfect host in supplying drinks and nibbles to meet our requirements. Overall after searching the internet we feel we made the right choice for our stay in respect of facilities and location. Would definitely stay again and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had booked into the Hotel Canada off the back of fellow Trip advisor reviews.

We had 4 nights here arriving quite late, but check in was fine. Very small (if quaint)lift and we had to manage up to floor 5 ourselves with two heavy cases.

We had a very nice room. Deluxe double. Plenty of space and with a window/balcony which opened out onto the central courtyard. Nice size bathroom. Shower was a bit iffy. Especially if there was a change in water pressure!

Staff were pretty good overall. That was a particular plus.

Wi Fi was great - password from reception.

Breakfast was also pretty good. It could get pretty congested however. You took your chance regarding getting a table. Pastry, cold cuts, rolls etc were plentiful. Hot food was a bit iffy and we ended up swerving.

We ended up having tea/drinks some nights in the bar and that was also good.

We had been concerned re reviews concerning 'noisy' area etc. Have to say we found the opposite. Very quiet. There were a few bars cafes close by but nothing like we imagined. Narrow streets and can feel a little unnerving late at night. Especially if you come from Termini. Closest subway though is Castro Pretoria. 5 mins walk from hotel.

We purchased the Roma pass and felt this was value for money. 72 Euro and we used it on the bus, subway and got into the Forum/Palatine Hill and Castle San Angelo. We also took a day trip out to Tivoli and the Villa D'este. Stunning gardens, waterfalls and interiors. Caught the subway to Ponte mammolo, then Cotral bus to Tivoli. Hadrian's villa also close by but next time.

Hotel Canada fully deserves the plaudits. slight downside for us was location. We tended to be in the historical/Trastevere (good for restaurants/bars) areas and we then had a bit of a journey back to Hotel. You could of couse get taxis but we felt next time we would prefer to find something a bit more 'in the action' .

After leaving Rome, we were on our way to cruise out of citciveccia. Wheeled our cases to station. Not easy with pavements but 10/15 mins. You have to watch in Termini. Fortunately we were ok, but you do get asked a lot if you need a hand. Train to citciveccia (1st and only £26 for two) was good. At station, we didn't see any lifts - must be there. Ended up bouncing cases down flight of stairs. Left and up more stairs then right along promenade to coach pickup at port gates. 20 mins tops and as long as reasonable fit, its fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qualityscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for four nights during our visit to Rome and were very glad we did. The rooms are beautifully set up; ours (room 520) had a lovely four poster bed and a big vintage mirror and dresser, among other things. The windows were pretty to look at with their opening shutters, very soundproofed (couldn't hear traffic on the street below) and offered a nice view, and the entire room had a good amount of space. This Canadian would have been even happier with more intense air-conditioning, though it was entirely acceptable and kept the both of us cool enough. The light bedding was perfect and comfortable. In addition, the location is fantastic for Termini train station (about an easy 8 minute walk) with a metro stop just around the corner, while also being pleasant in its own right. If you're looking for a place to eat nearby, I would highly recommend "Mamma Angela's" where the staff were warm and the food delicious.

Our stay was very enjoyable, and the staff only enhanced the experience. I'd like to salute Arber in particular, as he was extremely friendly and amusing while also being very helpful. He certainly made our visit more memorable, and my husband and I felt the staff went above and beyond. For example, they kindly held our baggage for us during the day prior to our late night flight departing Rome on our final evening, when we'd returned to the city from a smaller nearby town having not even stayed with them for the previous few nights, at no charge. Very kind indeed, and saved us a lot of hassle!

I also have to note the amazingly comfortable mattress. It was literally the nicest mattress I've ever slept on, and I'm a pretty picky sleeper. I'm actually tempted to call and ask what brand it is so I can try to order one for myself, now that I think about it again. Maybe it depends on your size/preferences, but as a petite (5'2") woman with a set of hips, it was divine. And the elevator, despite some other reviewers seeming to have reservations about it, was an awesome looking contraption that felt quaint, safe and provided a pretty fun experience getting to and from our room on the 5th floor.

If I had any complaints, it would be that the room door was not greatly soundproofed to noise in the hall, and the cleaning staff seemed to roll a cart and use a telephone in the hall outside from around 7:30am, so if you're not an early riser, bring a set of earplugs and you'll be golden. I'm a very light sleeper, so others may not have this problem. At any rate the comfort of the mattress and otherwise experience of the room completely outweighed the early morning noise, not to mention the other good points listed above.

All in all, a very lovely little hotel in a convenient location with great people. I recommend and would return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheCoyoteLives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#77 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: Via Vicenza 58, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant period palazzo in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the fruit of the experience of generations of hoteliers and a tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building housing the hotel - constructed in 1870 to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from the main central station "Termini" (circa 400 m) and well connected with both airports of Rome, Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in a very comfortable position. Being close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) allows every guest to reach the famous and touristic Rome downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing