We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #67 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. It is just a few blocks from the main train station (Termini). The breakfast was good compared to the Best Westerns we stayed at in Venice and Florence. The hotel has a bar which we also enjoyed very much. We ended each day with a cocktail or cappuccino. It was a quiet atmosphere and good place to unwind. All the staff we came in contact with were very friendly and nice.

  • Liked — Centrally located
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TimandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    625
    93
    16
    9
See reviews for
516
967
69
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

As with many others, we chose this hotel after researching Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We can only reiterate what others have said: friendly staff: good sized, clean rooms: excellent breakfast with a huge choice; nice, quiet bar area with very reasonable prices (and cappucinos that were heavenly after a day of walking) and a good location near to Termini and metro.

We visited in the 'quiet' season and stayed in room 412. A lovely room with period furniture, but being close to the lift, it may be a bit noisy when the hotel is busy.

On rainy days (yes, it does rain in Rome!) reception offered us the loan of umberellas (a nice touch). A good range of restaurants are within easy walking distance. We love walking around the places we visit to soak up the atmosphere and see all those quirky little places that you miss out on on 'official' tours but, if you need good transport, then the metro is almost on your doorstep and can get you reasonably close to all the main sites (Vatican, Colloseum, Forum, Cathedral -- San Giavanni in Laterano). Apart from the area of the Domus Aurea, we felt safe when walking around.... (Our guide book did say that Domus Aurea was a place best avoided after dark!)

Anyway, all in all, we had a great time and our special thanks to Vincenzo and Massimo. I'm sure we will be back.

  • Liked — location and room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TezR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Believe everything that has been written by other reviewers about the Best Western Hotel Canada. We have just come back from an 8 night stay based on the reviews here. A very charming elegant hotel, spotlessly clean in a very convenient area. Front desk staff were always extremely helpful and friendly as were the bar staff. Their recommendation for dinner at the nearby Trattoria Leoni d' Abruzzo was spot on. The sheets and pillowcases were changed regularly during our stay and all towels were changed daily. The only tiny quibble we have is with the head waitress in the breakfast room. We noticed that she would immediately offer coffees and effusive compliments to her fellow Italians (we understand Italian perfectly), even the ones entering the dining room when we were already seated, but she would ignore us completely, and in the 8 breakfasts we had there, she never ever managed to remember exactly what it was we liked to drink with our breakfast. Just a small glitch in an otherwise perfect stay.

  • Liked — An excellently run hotel in a good location close to metro and buses.
  • Disliked — The breakfast waitress.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfeetMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Booked a week at this hotel after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor. Pictures don't do it justice and what a great deal. Close to Termini station so we walked to hotel from station. Rooms were very very nice and quiet. Very nicely decorated and I truly believe this is a 4-star European hotel. Great breakfast in AM, huge bathroom, and windows that opened up to see city. We booked deluxe quality room. I love Trip Advisor and thanks for recommending this hotel. One of the best European experiences we had.

  • Liked — Room itself
  • Disliked — area (not the best location in rome, but certainly not the worst either)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tampa33629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2009

I would agree with the other reviews here - the hotel is reasonably priced and very nice. It was one of the few hotels which had rooms for 4 people which we needed. The staff were great in helping us get around, in particular with local restaurant recommendations. The location was great with a metro stop within 50 meters of the front door.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — hard beds
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasChemE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

I've never written a review for TripAdvisor before but the quality of this hotel inspired us to do so. The staff were brilliant - all extremely pleasant & obliging. Our family quad room on the 5th floor was lovely - good size, beautiful big bed and drapes and no problems with noise. The snacks at the bar (and toasted sandwiches) were very welcomed by the kids and the small pizza restaurant down the road was ideal for evening meals. The hotel really enhanced our stay and its closeness to the Metro was a real bonus. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maldrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is in a good location -- easy to walk to station, but far enough away to give the feel of a better quality location. The hotel was very quiet, so I slept well. My room was compact, with a mixture of "old" furniture with modern fittings (eg new flat screen TV). It had a bath tub which I appreciated. The room had an excellent safe (although it took me a while to find it behind a painting!)

The hotel is very near many restaurants. One night when I popped out for dinner it was raining and the hotel loaned nice umbrellas to guests. The staff at reception were always professional and helpful. The staff in the bar were particularly friendly and free snacks were offered to patrons. The price of drinks in the bar were reasonable. The hotel has free Wireless internet connection (you get your password from reception).

Officially the hotel is three stars, but it was superior to many of the four star hotels I stayed in while travelling around Italy. It was not cheap (A$278 a night) in high season, but I can certainly recommend it.

  • Liked — Comfortable and friendly
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#89 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing