We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect place to stay in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #72 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the perfect place to stay in Rome”
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My son and I stayed for 4 nights in the Best Western Canada. It was our first visit to Rome and we wanted to see as much as possible during our stay. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and stylish. The breakfast was delicious with all kinds of Italian treats. The staff in the breakfast room were warm and friendly and seemed to enjoy being cheerful and hospitable to all the guests. The lobby was small, but intimate, and Edwin was a personable barkeeper who made wonderful coffees and drinks. The Best Western Canada was conveniently located near a subway stop (Pretorio), the main train station (Termini) and several bus stops. The rooms were well insulated and thus very quiet.

What I liked the most about the hotel was the friendly and personal advice given by Vincenzo and Gianfranco at the front desk. It was a joy to begin and end each day with a chat with these two gentlemen!

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient location where service and good hospitality are important. I was very sorry to leave the place on our day of departure.

Nancy Novick
The Netherlands

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    649
    97
    16
    10
See reviews for
533
994
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Chose this hotel based on the reviews of others on this site. As outlined previously, it seems very high quality for its star rating. The rooms are stylish and very clean. The bar area is nice, with drinks well priced and free snacks put out early evening. The staff were friendly and the breakfast is excellent. The area is a bit run down, but it is well placed for tube / bus or taxi. There are a number of good trattoria within a minute's walk of the hotel. We stayed for 4 days and would stay again without hesitation. Thanks to those who gave detailed reviews as it helped us choose this great little hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gab577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

BW Canada is an excellent choice if you plan to visit Rome. Firstly, it has a very good location close by to the main train station (Termini has direct links to all Italian cities and the airport), but distant enough to stay in a quiet neighborhood. There is also a metro station just around the corner. Secondly, it is a 19th century building totally renewed with large rooms, while the staff is kind and helpful. Furthermore, breakfast is really good with a large diversity (eggs, sausages, bacon, fruit, bread, croissants, cookies and so on). Finally, the hotel is surrounded by many traditional Italian restaurants, namely Tratorias and Pizzarias, but we strongly recommend having dinner in “Di Vicenzo”, approximately 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PT_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
586 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Dates of Stay: 18 January - 19 January (1 night) Room 424
Lots of antiques-terra cotta tiled floor-spacious room
2 nice beds-ample outlets
TV with many channels in several languages
2 windows (corner room I think) 1 great view 1 ok
nice bathroom-with tub/shower lots of amenities-just perfect
armoire with plenty of space to hang clothes and large safe
We had to leave very early so they gave us a "special breakfast" which included 2 oranges, 2 apples, chocalate croissants, coffee/tea-all included in price...we blew the circuit breaker when we plugged the kettle in the bedroom-had to go downstairs at 5:30 to get desk guy to reset electric box-he came with me and had it all ok in less than 5 minutes-kettle worked in bathroom without blowing fuse!--would love to try their regular breakfast and will next time since it will be a stay for more than one night.
They gave me a superior room for 102 euros prepaid rate on the Best Western site. Fantastic service-everyone very friendly and professional. 2 great restaurants nearby- a pizzeria where you walk down stairs to access and a large restaurant with a very large menu on the corner.
Hotel 1 block from subway stop which will get you most anywhere in Rome-change at Termini for Vatican. We boubht a 24 hour pass, but it's really a day pass as it did not work the next morning even though we bought it the prior afternoon!!
Nice, quiet safe area of Rome away from the tourists-about a 500 m walk to the train station. Great direct non stop train from there to main Rome airport. We only stayed in Rome because we had an early flight out in the morning but will return for a longer stay. The first time I went to Rome, I stayed just across the river on the Vatican side at the Hotel Diplomatic. This one was much nicer and had more restaurants (and the subway) in close vicinity. With the fantastic service at the great price, why stay anywhere else in Rome?

  • Liked — the great service
  • Disliked — the fuse box
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Enjoyed BW Hotel Canada for 3 nights. Stayed in their larger room with two adults and two teenagers. We spent very little time in the room as we were constantly out sightseeing, dining, walking, etc. When we were all back at the hotel, the lobby and adjoining "living rooms" were very enjoyable places to relax with a large TV, good book and magazine selection and a friendly bar.

Staff was always very helpful whether it was a key locked in the room, directions, or efficient check-in and out.

Lastly, breakfast was excellent. The four us us always left well fed and rarely ate more than a snack for lunch because of the great BW breakfast.

Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CMfreqtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. It is just a few blocks from the main train station (Termini). The breakfast was good compared to the Best Westerns we stayed at in Venice and Florence. The hotel has a bar which we also enjoyed very much. We ended each day with a cocktail or cappuccino. It was a quiet atmosphere and good place to unwind. All the staff we came in contact with were very friendly and nice.

  • Liked — Centrally located
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TimandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

As with many others, we chose this hotel after researching Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We can only reiterate what others have said: friendly staff: good sized, clean rooms: excellent breakfast with a huge choice; nice, quiet bar area with very reasonable prices (and cappucinos that were heavenly after a day of walking) and a good location near to Termini and metro.

We visited in the 'quiet' season and stayed in room 412. A lovely room with period furniture, but being close to the lift, it may be a bit noisy when the hotel is busy.

On rainy days (yes, it does rain in Rome!) reception offered us the loan of umberellas (a nice touch). A good range of restaurants are within easy walking distance. We love walking around the places we visit to soak up the atmosphere and see all those quirky little places that you miss out on on 'official' tours but, if you need good transport, then the metro is almost on your doorstep and can get you reasonably close to all the main sites (Vatican, Colloseum, Forum, Cathedral -- San Giavanni in Laterano). Apart from the area of the Domus Aurea, we felt safe when walking around.... (Our guide book did say that Domus Aurea was a place best avoided after dark!)

Anyway, all in all, we had a great time and our special thanks to Vincenzo and Massimo. I'm sure we will be back.

  • Liked — location and room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TezR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,622 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#78 of 1,258 in Rome
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#94 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing